Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously helpful if you are planning a commercial novel
As a literary agent I have given copies of the first edition to many of my clients: it has helped them all. I wish this second edition was available from a British publisher. It's practical and down-to-earth, concise, and always keeps one aim in mind: to help you write a novel that will be a) saleable and b)readable. You need the two to come together to achieve real...
Published on 19 Jan 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's identical to How to Write Damn Good Fiction.
Don't get caught out like I did. Waste of money - get one or the other. Otherwise has some good stuff in it.
Published 14 months ago by dragonara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously helpful if you are planning a commercial novel, 19 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
As a literary agent I have given copies of the first edition to many of my clients: it has helped them all. I wish this second edition was available from a British publisher. It's practical and down-to-earth, concise, and always keeps one aim in mind: to help you write a novel that will be a) saleable and b)readable. You need the two to come together to achieve real success in the marketplace. There are very many books about how to write, but I think this is one of the best in that all the advice is easily applied...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb continuation from the basics..., 24 Feb 2003
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
.
Accomplished writer and lecturer James N Frey returns to his successful 'How to Write' with this succinct guide. While the book only contains about 150 pages it includes very useful anecdotes and advice, references and examples all with Freys light splash of humour throughout.
Although published in 1994 in America it has now been published in the UK by Macmillan in 2002 under the same title with a grey keyboard on a blue background as the more 'professional' looking cover.
Written more for people who feel they have a grasp of the basics of writing creativity, structure, language, dialogue etc. and want know more, this book delivers very well. Dispensing with what Frey describes as the 'pseudo-rules' of a lot of other writing guide books he encourages and guides instead of trying to inhibit your creativity. All round an excellent book from a very good teacher.
The one thing none of these books can do of course is criticise any work you have produced and although they help you do this for yourself with a new perspective, better armed with a mind more aware of the common mistakes, try to get a few people from differing backgrounds to read your work if possible and listen to what they have to say about it. Nothing beats a second pair of eyes picking up the things you hadn't noticed before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but be careful..., 6 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
This is a great little gem of a book, but fans of Mr Frey watch out: This is republished as "How to write a damn good fiction", so don't buy it if you've already got that one - the text is identical and you only end up having to return one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for serious writers!, 11 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
A practical yet far from basic how-to guide, this book concentrates on advanced techniques for fiction writers. Frey has a deep appreciation and understanding of the power of fiction, telling us in the chapter titled "The Fictive Dream and How to Induce It": "When transported, the reader goes into a sort of bubble, utterly involved in the fictional world to the point that the real world evaporates. This is the aim of the fiction writer: to bring the reader to the point of complete absorption with the characters and their world."
Frey explains the finer points of writing powerful fiction, including how to make your reader identify, and not just sympathize with characters; how to go beyond the "hook" to develop engaging "story questions" that sustain curiosity and suspense; how to comprehend and use the notion of "premise" to drive your stories; and how to avoid the "Seven Deadly Mistakes" of the inexperienced writer.
The book balances concept with application beautifully, analyzing what makes good fiction work, and then showing us how to apply this understanding in our own writing; you won't find a better book out there for sharpening and expanding your skills as a fiction writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced Advice, 1 July 2003
By 
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
You know the basics, you have the grammar down, the characterization, the plot, the lot - then this is what you want! I read this after writing my first novel, and was sorry I hadn't read it before; my first novel would have been so much better.
This book is for those who knows the basics and want to move on, to really get the goodies on writing. I put the book down, fully charged, and my head burst with creativity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for fiction writers, 16 Feb 2008
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
A damn good book. I recommend it 100%. It is essential reading for writers and was recommended to me by published novelists.
BUT BEWARE. The book is called HOW TO WRITE A DAMN GOOD NOVEL 2. It is exactly the same book as Frey's differently titled, but cheaper HOW TO WRITE DAMN GOOD FICTION. So make sure you don't buy the same book twice like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical and easy to read, 16 Nov 2005
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
This is a gem.
The design and chapter layout is good and follows a logical progression. This helps the reader to build an excellent mind map of his advice.
It gives good, practical advice and uses excellent examples to portray his points.
As a manual it is impressive and it's a good read to boot. I highly reccommend it, now if only I could use his great advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for more advanced writers, 9 April 2003
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
Hard-hitting, no-nonsense advice that does the job. This gives excellent guidelines for writers who find writers' guides sometimes a little basic. Truly invaluable and eminently usable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better!, 3 Dec 1995
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
Who says sequels are necessarily inferior? James Frey
shows even more straightforward, hard-hitting techniques
that will leave even the experienced writer looking at
his or her work in a new and better way. Both parts I
and II will always remain within easy reach of my keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent innsight as to the truth of novel writing, 22 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write a Damn Good Novel II (Hardcover)
The only thing wrong with this book is its emphasis on premise. I dont think anyone needs to focus on premise as heavily as he does--a good novel will develope its own premise (if it doesn't it wasnt a good idea to begin with). But all the other chapters, especially the first few, have information that will revolutionize and galvanize your writing techniques. A must for any serious writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Write a Damn Good Novel II
How to Write a Damn Good Novel II by James Frey (Hardcover - 31 Dec 1998)
£13.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews