Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McGrath does fiction.
This is Professor McGrath's first book for kids. McGrath is better known for his theological works which include historical theology (Christian Theology), natural theology (The Open Secret) and the correlation between science and faith (Science and Religion). Turning to the book itself:

The story plot line is fairly simple. The children, Peter and Julia go...
Published on 10 Jun 2010 by Mr. B. Shepherd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Narnian in style
Sometimes I thought I was reading something similar to Narnia but less beautifully written.
It wasn't that bad but it seemed an already told and retold story. Easy going and at times absorbing.
Very exquisitely rendered the pictures even on an ipod touch.
Published on 6 Dec 2010 by Acquafortis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McGrath does fiction., 10 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen Ones #1 (Aedyn Chronicles) (Hardcover)
This is Professor McGrath's first book for kids. McGrath is better known for his theological works which include historical theology (Christian Theology), natural theology (The Open Secret) and the correlation between science and faith (Science and Religion). Turning to the book itself:

The story plot line is fairly simple. The children, Peter and Julia go to live with their grandfather and mother after the death of their mother. Upon exploring their new home they find a garden which transports them to a new world, Aedyn. Aedyn is a world ruled by 3 cruel rulers, who has enslaved the population. The children are tasked with freeing the population and resorting peace to the world.

The writing prose is fairly basic. This is to be expected given that the book itself is aimed at kids.

Being a Christian novel the book includes theological themes which are close to McGrath's heart. These includes the `suggested' (I agree there isn't one) conflict between faith and reason. The book also includes the usual biblical ideas such as that of the exodus, redemption, Joshua (drums that brought down the walls of Jericho) - and a few other references. Perhaps the most obvious theological issue is that of the abuses of science, such as gunpowder and warfare.

Overall the book was an easy read. The font size is rather large and the book is just over 200 pages. My major criticism is that the book reads and feel very samey in that the story itself is hardly unique. Anyone familiar with `The Secret Garden', `Narnia' or any of McGrath's theological treaties will easily see where McGrath's inspiration was drawn from. Nevertheless, the book is still one you'll want to read to your kids - and I'm positive that your kids will still enjoy it.

I'd recommend this book to any Christian parent reading bed time stories to their kids aged between 8 and 12. Even if you're not religious and just after a clean easy read for your kids this book will still entertain and delight.

Overall a brilliant first attempt at fiction by McGrath. One hopes he keeps writing, he can only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The inevitable comparison to Narnia, 24 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen Ones #1 (Aedyn Chronicles) (Hardcover)
The writing of this book seems to leave little doubt that Alister McGrath is trying to fashion himself as a modern-day C.S. Lewis. The writing style and target audience of the book sits very much in Narnia territory. The only other modern comparable to it is Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials, though the Aedyn Chronicles does seem to be more simplistic and aimed at a slightly younger audience. More in keeping with the Narnia theme, the story is less an exploration of philosophical and theological thought, and more allegorical. Where it is original is in the subject matter it is allegorising; specifically the Enlightenment period (called, not particularly subtely, The Illumination).

It did come as a slight surprise to me, having read many of McGrath's apologetic works, that here he seems take something of an anti-science view. The heroine of the story, Julia, is clearly speaking McGrath's words and expressing his thoughts, while her older brother, Peter, seems to be a reflection of McGrath's younger self, when he was an atheist (as well as being highly reminiscent of Edmund in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe). One of the great things about this book is that it is full of little nods to other literature and saturated in slightly more subtle references, including Hamlet, Gulliver's Travels and the Exodus of the Israelites from Egypt. That said, the three main 'bad guys' didn't seem to be drawn directly from anything I could think of.

Unlike His Dark Materials, there isn't really enough here to keep the adults interested, but it is certainly a book that I will be handing down to my 7 year old niece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Chosen Ones #1 (Aedyn Chronicles) (Hardcover)
This book is great start to a hopfully a great chronicles. The story line is great and keeps you on the edge of your seat.I read it all in a day i just couldnt put it down.It remided me of Narnia in some parts but as i look back there are defanty some differences. Cant wait for the next book to come out in a few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teenager's fantasy by Christian writer, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alister McGrath is a top theologian, and turning his hand to writing for children - as his idol CS Lewis had done before him is a great idea. An enjoyable read for teenagers - and I liked it as an adult as well. I look forward to the other installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Narnian in style, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: Chosen Ones #1 (Aedyn Chronicles) (Hardcover)
Sometimes I thought I was reading something similar to Narnia but less beautifully written.
It wasn't that bad but it seemed an already told and retold story. Easy going and at times absorbing.
Very exquisitely rendered the pictures even on an ipod touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chosen Ones #1 (Aedyn Chronicles)
Chosen Ones #1 (Aedyn Chronicles) by McGrath Alister (Hardcover - 1 May 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews