Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, must, must read
There are few books that have such a life changing impact as this beautifully written and crafted piece. Working right back from the idea that part of the fall was to do with mankind being tempted to see all they haven't got and that this brings ingratitude into the world. If we want to reverse this and life a full life, full of gifts, full of intimacy, we need to learn...
Published on 30 May 2011 by Ms. Z. J. Harries

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mix of Great and Odd!
Parts of this book I really love, and it is very thought provoking. However like a previous reviewer I do find the writing style a bit wearing, and often quite off-putting. I thought this would be a keeper, but sadly for me it is not.
Published 3 months ago by A. Rogers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing, 13 May 2013
By 
claireyfaerie (Clonmany, Co Donegal, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
Full of heart, soul and grace...an inspiring, uplifting beautiful beautiful book....very well written, had me laughing and crying as well as pondering..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable gift to anyone, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
Here is a practical book you can enjoy and also use the idea in so many ways. Here is a book we keep on talking about, so simple, so deep! A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One thousand gifts is an amazing, insightful book, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
1000 gifts is a fantastic book, I have recommended it & bought it for lots of friends, I can't recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Miraculous, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
Ann Voskamp's writing style is unique. If you are a writer it's humbling to read because she is so clearly very talented. In 'One Thousand Gifts' she writes in the first person using present tense. Her sheer range of vocabulary throughout this book is remarkable.

Her basic premise is that giving thanks to God precedes miracles. So she decides to make a list of a thousand everyday things to be thankful for and then writes about doing this in her life.

At heart it's simply a book about counting blessings. But people say that the simple ideas are the best and what makes this work stand out is that it's written in such an extraordinary way. A simple idea has been decorated into a work of beauty.

And ironically, for Ann Voskamp, giving thanks really has preceded a kind of miracle - through her success as an author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good point, but painfully written!, 30 April 2014
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
I was given this book by a dear friend and the message is strong - we should be grateful to God in all circumstances. I believe God is good and has the perfect plan for our lives, therefore, we should not question Him when things go awry. But Ann Voskamp has an unusual writing style. For example, 'I can still hear our daughter squealing ecstasy as the ball rolled toward her and the room rang, turned inside out with the bouncing glee. We laughed wonder. Daughter had stretched out her two little arms, clutched that giant globe in two chubby hands, and held it high over her head, her own face tilted back, the round wonders meeting. Again and again, my aunt hit replay: roll ball into purest delight, child squeals laughter, roll again. Our sides hurt happy from the laughter.' (page 166). I felt that Ann Voskamp's forced 'poetic' style (if that was her intention?) detracted from her message. As an avid reader, I found her writing style unique, but not enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the sort of book you will not only enjoy and underline lots while you read it for the first time, but you will revisit and extract more and more in times to come. It'll most likely be a classic - A Must Read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one to read over and over and recommend to everyone you know, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
An inspiring, life changing read, one to read over and over and recommend to everyone you know!! God used it to speak to me where I am now. Best read for many, many years:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
an amazing book. completely changed the way i see the world and God. everything is half full now instead of half empty! and it is key to being close to God and answered prayers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars taking so many random threads from my own thoughts and weaving them together into a beautiful and inspiring book, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Elspeth Smith (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
a life-changer of a book, taking so many random threads from my own thoughts and weaving them together into a beautiful and inspiring book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are (Hardcover)
Beautifully written and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp (Hardcover - 1 Jan 2011)
£10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews