Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish there were more like this...
I read this book in the last stages of the Obama/McCain election, and was profoundly relieved by what it had to say in the context of the religious debates that were going on at that time. I am not American, but spent some time in the States just prior to that, and was really affected by the polarization of views between my 'liberal' and 'religious' friends there...
Published on 16 Feb. 2009 by Debs Gardner-Paterson

versus
30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great message, terrible delivery
Although this book is written by Americans, for what seems to be an American audience it still has a lot of relevance for Christians in the UK. The authors explore the story of God's intervention in humanity through the Bible, looking mainly at God's heart for the poor and oppressed and his desire to bring people out of slavery (the first Exodus) and sin (the exodus...
Published on 8 Mar. 2009 by Joanne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish there were more like this..., 16 Feb. 2009
By 
I read this book in the last stages of the Obama/McCain election, and was profoundly relieved by what it had to say in the context of the religious debates that were going on at that time. I am not American, but spent some time in the States just prior to that, and was really affected by the polarization of views between my 'liberal' and 'religious' friends there.

As a result of personal experience and philosophical conception, I have little doubt that my relational faith in God, Jesus & the Holy Spirit is both rational and real - a genuine part of my day-to-day 'human-ness', as well as aspiring hopes & ideals. That said, I am often knocked for six by the experience of Christians who seem to me to display close-mindedness to the point of bigotry and judgementalism which preaches devastating hatred rather than *unconditional* love. It often feels like moral high-ground can be taken over issues, which - if thought through - actually contradict their conceptual basis, and this is hard to deal with. Particularly when we live in a time of - in many ways - broad humility and spiritual interest amidst religious distrust.

'Jesus wants to save Christians' was a genuine relief and encouragement to read. Intelligent, honest, heart-felt, constructive, Biblical, real, and a boot up the backside. It pulls no punches on the 'calling' facing people who try to live in relationship with God and the real world - but is tremendously empowering (both theologically and generally) for those who believe that a life's art is in facilitating the beauty of other people, rather than a shiny new church roof. I am nervous of big churches and success stories because of seeing so many go bad, but I have to say I am impressed and inspired by these guys - their lives seem to bear out their words, and their words are those of people who seek, who have studied deep, and who believe that God can and will collaborate with people to contagiously affect the world for good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What kind of Church, and so what?, 2 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Jesus Wants to Save Christians (Paperback)
Sub-titled, 'A Manifesto for the Church in Exile', this is Rob Bell at his best.

Using the story of the Israelites and their journey from Egypt (in slavery) to Sinai (how to live in freedom) to Jerusalem (how they failed) to Babylon (the consequences), Bell begins to outline how we as Christians, and the church, should live in this world and seek to change the world for the better.

This is not about empire building, such as some Christians (particularly in the US think) but being people of change within the empire, like Jesus, and seeking to bring change from within.

It's challenging and written in Bell's refreshing style (often one sentence paragraphs!) and I found it is exactly the sort of 'manifesto' for describing what type of Christian we are to be, and what the church should be like, and should be doing (caring for the poor, fighting injustice, introducing people to Jesus).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read , much to thnk about, 18 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Wants to Save Christians (Paperback)
I could not put this book down. it is very easy to read in true Rob Bell style - full of memorable one liners. It provides an informative sweep o f the entire Bible, relating God's overall purpose for His church to the current situation in the world. The author draws some very sensitive political conclusions and challenges Christians to really stand up and make the difference they were freed to make. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good message, but not really enough for a book., 27 Nov. 2009
By 
R. Chidley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jesus Wants to Save Christians (Paperback)
As some of the other reviewers have hinted, this is excellent material but very short. The word count per page is low to the point that if the words were ordinarily spaced, it would be a pamphlet rather than a book. The designer really had his work cut out making it book-length. It is a very good message, but I felt a bit cheated that there wasn't more to enjoy. If Rob Bell wants to stay on top of his game, he may have to consider doing fewer projects but each better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great message, terrible delivery, 8 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this book is written by Americans, for what seems to be an American audience it still has a lot of relevance for Christians in the UK. The authors explore the story of God's intervention in humanity through the Bible, looking mainly at God's heart for the poor and oppressed and his desire to bring people out of slavery (the first Exodus) and sin (the exodus through the sacrifice of Christ). One of the other principal themes in the presence of empire and how empire whether Egyptian, Babylonian, Israeli or American is usually the force of oppression and the church often finds itself seeking empire power instead of the way of Christ, which was a way of descent and sacrifice.

This book could easily have fit into 40 pages, if they had not insisted on having lots of one word sentences, which took up a whole paragraph. Whilst I am not particularly gifted at English grammar, this book was absolutely awful and ended up feeling like bullet points, which the authors had jotted down for a sermon. Surely the editor should have offered some advice on this. Examples of paragraphs in this book are:

"All." or,

"For the world." or,

"Us too." or,

"Subtle."

No, I am not joking. It is exhausting to read. In the end the only way I could try to follow what they were saying was to try and read it aloud.

All statistics and Bible verses are referenced in the end notes, which take up 38 pages of a 218 page book and it became tiresome having to refer to the end note section to verify the Bible references. Unusually for US authors there are actually quite a few refernces to works by British theologians.

The poor layout and writing style of this book was such a great pity. It seemed like a desire to be cool in the format made the message, which is really important, so difficult to absorb.

I have noticed that the content is available in Audio format and I would strongly recommend that you obtain it in that format. It is a message written to be spoken and listened to not to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Recycled views but more easy to read than others, 10 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Jesus Wants to Save Christians (Paperback)
He shares some thoughts that a lot of others have shared before but in an easy-to-read book. I have read some other Rob Bell books. They are pretty much the same. He is trying to be cool and some like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great thanks, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Wants to Save Christians (Paperback)
Loved the book another great book from Rob Bell thanks a great read and very informative would recomend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus is dying to save., 11 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. R. K. Russell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jesus Wants to Save Christians (Paperback)
I am enjoying reading the book. It is very easy to read due to the lay out of the text but I suspect it would have been a thick pamphlet other wise.
The title is an odd one as Jesus wants to save all people not just Christians. Perhaps I need to get to the end to get the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesus Wants to Save Christians
Jesus Wants to Save Christians by Don Golden (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews