Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Thumbs down, but Thumbs up
I realize that the primary purpose of "reviews" is to review the given product. I must say though that most of my comments will be a response to the review by "Meeper" and his/her title "Thumbs down."

Obviously Meeper has every right to give whatever review he/she sees fit. And, obviously, Pratico's book was not helpful to him/her. Fair enough. But as a teacher...
Published on 12 Dec. 2010 by Stouks

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learning Biblical Hebrew made easy
When having to deal with the grammar of any language there is a lot to learn before you can progress to understanding sufficient before you can start to translate even at a basic level. This book helps you to carry out the task in a smooth, logical stepwise manner as it explains the rules required to understanding in a clear manner. One of the greatest problems when...
Published on 5 Nov. 2009 by Paul F.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Thumbs down, but Thumbs up, 12 Dec. 2010
By 
Stouks (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar (Hardcover)
I realize that the primary purpose of "reviews" is to review the given product. I must say though that most of my comments will be a response to the review by "Meeper" and his/her title "Thumbs down."

Obviously Meeper has every right to give whatever review he/she sees fit. And, obviously, Pratico's book was not helpful to him/her. Fair enough. But as a teacher of Biblcal languages (in Scotland) and one who was taught Hebrew by Gary Pratico in the early 90s (way before his book was written), I need to say a few things. First, languages (biblical or otherwise) are not easy. Part of learning a language is learning grammar and grammatical terms. There's no other way around it. Second, this book was designed on the basis of many many years of classroom teaching (that doesn't mean it is necessarily good though). Second, I am not so sure that Pratico would say that his book is the best for "distance learning" (I could be wrong). This is one of the many problems I have with distance learning: it almost always necessitates a dumbing down of content. In this case, perhaps a totally new kind of grammar would need to be designed for "distance learning." But I don't think it is fair to judge this book, designed for real classroom teaching, in the context of distance learning. Third, I suppose I am back where I started: learning biblical languages is hard and demands a serious engagement with grammar and syntax...full stop! How else will you be trained to do exegesis of the Bible and use serious secondary sources which, by the way, WILL use grammatic terms and concepts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great course for 1st to 3rd year undergraduate theology degrees. And Masters Students, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar (Hardcover)
great for 1st year students at undergraduate level, you set the pace on this home study course. It is without any doubt beneficial for those who wish to advance there degrees further by reading ancient languages specifically when it is to compliment Theological degrees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real help for the anyone serious about learning Biblical Hebrew, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar (Hardcover)
This is a really clear presentation of Biblical Hebrew grammar set in a pedagogical framework that would be difficult to better. The subject matter itself demands commitment, but the authors offer the sort of practical learning support that only their many years of teaching Hebrew could have taught them. Having struggled with other Biblical Hebrew textbooks, which either overwhelm with detail too soon, or leave the student with too many unanswered questions, I would wholeheartedly recommend the approach offered in this well-crafted work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learning Biblical Hebrew made easy, 5 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar (Hardcover)
When having to deal with the grammar of any language there is a lot to learn before you can progress to understanding sufficient before you can start to translate even at a basic level. This book helps you to carry out the task in a smooth, logical stepwise manner as it explains the rules required to understanding in a clear manner. One of the greatest problems when learning another language if all you know is English is that there is a great need to understand, even on a superficial level, specific grammatical rules and this book clearly and simply explains them illustrating with relevant examples.

The one negative comment I can make is that at the end of each chapter there is a monograph on specific topics such as particular commentaries on specific phrases or, more importantly, articles on specific biblical translators/commentators all who are Protestants and the tone of these may be construed as offensive, especially if one is a Catholic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bible students gotta buy this book, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar (Hardcover)
great book for finding truth excellent go out and buy this book now if you are serious great book indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar
Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar by Gary D. Pratico and Miles V. Van Pelt (Hardcover - 17 July 2007)
Used & New from: £58.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews