Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hang on a minute - you've missed the point i fear
I think that the previous review is unfair, or at least misunderstands the purpose of this book. For transparency's sake, i should say that i'm on the Staff of All Souls Langham Place where John Stott is still the Rector Emeritus. But that doesn't detract from my comments i hope. This book has had a huge influence on both sides of hte Atlantic, not least because of...
Published on 22 Dec 2006 by Mark Meynell

versus
3 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not A Real Ethical Analysis
I saw this book in a library and was attracted to it by the prospect of reading an analysis of the issues facing Christians today, as the title suggests.

However upon reading it I was somewhat disappointed at the fact that the author does not give an equal, unbiased review of current issues as I would have expected but rather, at times, presents the issues...
Published on 24 Oct 2006 by Theo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hang on a minute - you've missed the point i fear, 22 Dec 2006
By 
Mark Meynell "quaesitor" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Issues Facing Christians Today (Paperback)
I think that the previous review is unfair, or at least misunderstands the purpose of this book. For transparency's sake, i should say that i'm on the Staff of All Souls Langham Place where John Stott is still the Rector Emeritus. But that doesn't detract from my comments i hope. This book has had a huge influence on both sides of hte Atlantic, not least because of Stott's balance, care and range of topics. He would certainly be horrified by the idea that it is simply a collection of his personal views, although of course it contains his own conclusions based on the evidence before him (it would be frustrating if he didn't, don't you think?). This is because he clearly submits to the authority of the Bible - his task is to ascertain the ethical principles that the Bible teaches and then apply them to the various (and sometimes incredibly complex) challenges of our time.

Stott's purpose in writing the book was to fill a huge gap in contemporary evangelical thinking - for too long evangelical Christians have merely sought to 'preach the gospel' and not worry too much about anything else like ethics. Since it was first written in 1984 and subsequently revised several times, the need has remained all the greater (not least because technological advances have complicated ethical decision-making still further). I can't think of another book that provides such a brilliant and accessible introduction. It is not the last word on these issues, but you would do a lot worse than to start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality material, 9 Sep 2009
By 
S. Froud - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Issues Facing Christians Today (Paperback)
This is an outstanding resource for equipping Christians to be informed about contemporary issues and then discuss them with an educated response rather than 'I think...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ISSUES FACING CHRISTIANS TODAY, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Issues Facing Christians Today (Paperback)
this book was helpful for my essay on isssiues of a contemporary pastor.
very helpful indded , easy read in easy bite size sections
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Stott, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear, relevant and challenging. John Stott raises the lid on many of the ethical conundrums faced by today's Christians living in increasingly secular societies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent every Christian leader should have one, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Issues Facing Christians Today (Paperback)
I chose this because I have the previous edition and have used it widely. This is an excellent tool for the lay and ordained minister as well as every Christian wanting to be a good witness but struggling in a complex secular society
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on all Christian Bookshelves, 6 July 2012
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book should be on the shelf of every Christian. John Stott and his editors take a no nonsense approach to all the great debates and issues facing Christians. Starting from the evangelical stand point that the Bible is the last word on a subject, but never settling for simplistic responses, the author explores all areas of an issue, and gently teases out the Christian response - the one that follows the example of Christ himself.

Never satisfied with the stock answers, the Bible studies scripture and brings it to bear in all its fullness on an issue. The book is compassionately written by a man of faith.
First class and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent revised version. A comprehensive investigation into important issues in our world today. Not a light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not A Real Ethical Analysis, 24 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Issues Facing Christians Today (Paperback)
I saw this book in a library and was attracted to it by the prospect of reading an analysis of the issues facing Christians today, as the title suggests.

However upon reading it I was somewhat disappointed at the fact that the author does not give an equal, unbiased review of current issues as I would have expected but rather, at times, presents the issues present and (attempts to) renounce those views which he does not agree with and instead present his personal views of the arguments and issues raised.

The book is at times mainly an outlet for the authors' obviously strong beliefs on some issues.

If you wish to have an overview of current Christian ethics then I would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Issues Facing Christians Today
Issues Facing Christians Today by John R. W. Stott (Paperback - 1 Sep 2006)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews