Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job
This is a good entry-level book on Christian apologetics. It is suitable for anyone interested to find short answers to a range of common questions raised against the evangelical Christian faith. The book is written in a crisp, easy-to-read style that even a new reader will find easy to digest.

A minor quibble is that the question-and-answer format tends to...
Published on 19 May 2006 by T. P. Ang

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect balanced answers
As a Christian, I would NOT recommend this book for people seeking answers about Christianity. The book makes some good points on occasion, but in the main, it tells you what to believe "because I said so" or "because the bible said so", and if you don't believe it you're not a Christian.
Published on 25 April 2010 by M. Sutton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 19 May 2006
By 
T. P. Ang (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Made God?: And Answers to Over 100 Other Tough Questions of Faith (Paperback)
This is a good entry-level book on Christian apologetics. It is suitable for anyone interested to find short answers to a range of common questions raised against the evangelical Christian faith. The book is written in a crisp, easy-to-read style that even a new reader will find easy to digest.

A minor quibble is that the question-and-answer format tends to either leave gaps or cause overlaps in the material provided. Also, those interested in deeper and more thorough-going discussions of the questioned handled in the book (see the synopsis above) might find the need to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and easy to understand, although sometimes not detailed enough, 25 Aug 2008
By 
M. Booth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Made God?: And Answers to Over 100 Other Tough Questions of Faith (Paperback)
I was reading this book from an atheist perspective, trying to understand how people have faith. The questions covered in this book are exactly the ones that would make me question my faith if I were a Christian. They are sensibly organised in this book, and the answers are very accessible.

In most cases, the answer starts by clarifying the question, which helps to make it clear exactly what question is being answered. The answer/explanation is then covered in some detail, but all the while remaining easy to understand, even for someone with little knowledge of theology. There will be some Christians for whom their own beliefs don't match the answers in this book - for example that evidence for the Big Bang supports the existence of a Creator God.

What I found was that often the book didn't quite go far enough - questions raised by the answers themselves often go unanswered. On the whole, the worldview presented by this book is internally consistent (which is a start) and easy to understand, but when I started looking more closely, I could still see cracks. However, the book served the purpose I had bought it for - to understand why others believe.

This book is aimed at Christians who want to be able to answer questions asked by non-believers. For that use, I do recommend it - but with a few notes of caution:
- Firstly, be wary of some of the scientific details covered in the "Science" chapter. If you engage an informed non-believer in debate without further reading on these topics you will come unstuck pretty quickly.
- If you use only the answers in this book, most intelligent people will come to understand your point of view but are unlikely to be converted to it. If this is all you are trying to do then this book is perfect for you. If ultimately you want to be making some more convincing arguments I believe you will need further study - but this book is a good place to start, not least because it gives you a good overview of what topics are likely to be covered in such debates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Provides wonderful guidance and support to be able promote the Christian faith. Very easy to read and understand, highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who made GOD by Ravi Zacharias and Norman G., 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made God?: And Answers to Over 100 Other Tough Questions of Faith (Paperback)
Before this purchase, i took advantage of the 'look inside' feature offered by Amazon and there after thought it would be most beneficial to buy the book.
For a christian interested in apologetics, this book can be an excellent resource for study and meditation. It covers the complex questions presented in analytical depth, giving facts and data as well as a somewhat logical sequence to the answer. Though written by academics, it is still answers are presented in an easy-to-digest manner. AN excellent learning tool for today's Christians or non-Christians alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Collection of Apologetics, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Who Made God?: And Answers to Over 100 Other Tough Questions of Faith (Paperback)
For those wanting to go beyond books such as Searching Issues and hear the thoughts of a range of respected scholars then this an excellent resource. Ultimately God calls people home and if one is opposed to God no book on apologetics will do the trick. This books however should home those who earnestly seek God to overcome their academic objection so that He can get to their heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect balanced answers, 25 April 2010
By 
M. Sutton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Made God?: And Answers to Over 100 Other Tough Questions of Faith (Paperback)
As a Christian, I would NOT recommend this book for people seeking answers about Christianity. The book makes some good points on occasion, but in the main, it tells you what to believe "because I said so" or "because the bible said so", and if you don't believe it you're not a Christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Made God?: And Answers to Over 100 Other Tough Questions of Faith
Who Made God?: And Answers to Over 100 Other Tough Questions of Faith by Edited by Ravi Zacharias Norman L. Geisler (Paperback - 26 Aug 2003)
9.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews