Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read
If you want to understand the Bible within it's cultural context (exegesis) and how to apply it to your life (hermeneutics) - [yeah, glad I finally understand those 2 words :P] without going to bible school/college, this is the book for you. Easy to ride, and says a lot in a modest number of pages. It's a good guide that highlights key principles which based on the...
Published on 2 Aug 2010 by Hyacinth Blake

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!
A dull and plodding book - I would recommend How to Read The Bible by Kugel over this one any day!
Published 2 months ago by Ohcci


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read, 2 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth (Paperback)
If you want to understand the Bible within it's cultural context (exegesis) and how to apply it to your life (hermeneutics) - [yeah, glad I finally understand those 2 words :P] without going to bible school/college, this is the book for you. Easy to ride, and says a lot in a modest number of pages. It's a good guide that highlights key principles which based on the explanation, you for yourself can decide what you can take or leave. There were a few things I didn't fully agree with in the content, but for the most part, the rationale was acceptable. There were loads of references and suggested readings which I think may be helpful at some other time. But I think it's really good as a reference book all on it's own. And yes, if you do decide to go on to bible college, you can keep it handy as a student of English might keep a thesauraus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only Richard Dawkins and his followers would read this, 19 Oct 2010
By 
P. A. Caruana "ChristianProgger" (Dunstable, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth (Paperback)
It would have made the "God Delusion" a bit more of a credible book, as his exegesis was all over the place. An excellent introduction to reading the Bible for all readers of the Bible whether they are new to the good book or seasoned readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy a copy for a new Christian!, 23 Jun 2013
By 
I. C. Devereux (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth (Paperback)
I will put my one complaint about this book at the beginning. The authors state that "...for study you should use almost any modern translation rather than the KJV or the NKJV." Other than that, this book is to be highly recommended. In less than 280 pages, you get a lot of genuinely useful guidance and information on how to read, understand and apply the different types of writings, or genres, in the Bible.

The first two chapters look at the necessity of interpretation and the various approaches to translation. Several modern translations are compared and their advantages / disadvantages discussed. These chapters open up the difficulties faced by translators. The authors end by suggesting the use of three or four translations for comparison during serious study.

The following chapters look at the different genres of the Bible: Epistles, narrative, Gospels (treated as a genre in their own right here), parables, wisdom texts, law, prophetic, psalms & poetry and apocalyptic. The nature and structures of each genre are described then the process of determining meaning and application is discussed, with examples. The explanations of Hebrew poetry and the parables are a great help in understanding why they look like they do in English translations. Common mistakes and difficulties of interpretation are covered.

Each genre is treated in a similar way. Always, the importance of the historical and literary contexts is emphasised. These can greatly affect how meaning is determined. The reader is encouraged to look at when and where a text was written, then to look at how that relates to their time and place. The reader is shown how to recognise the genre of the text, and how to handle it appropriately to find its application.

An appendix on the evaluation and use of commentaries ends the book, with suggestions given to build a reference library.

This is not a difficult book to read and work with. The "technical" language is well explained and the style is not at all academic - the book is meant to be used by anyone seeking to get more from their time with the Bible.
Although the most benefit would be gained by going through the book in sequence, it would be possible to use it for reference, going to the appropriate chapter for the text being read.
As it is not designed to be a textbook, there are no exercises or questions at the ends of the chapters!

Buy this book for a new Christian and get them off to a really good start. "Inoculate" them against the daft speculations and teachings out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A helpful reminder of how rightly handle the Bible, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To get to grips with reading the Bible in the right way is essential, and with the help of this book reminds believers that in the inspired word of God there are different types (genres) throughout the Bible and we need to be aware of what we are reading. It is all God's word, but there are highlighted differences between reading a narrative, poetry, letters, books of the law and historical details.

The book reminds us that we are to look at the original meaning and to read the bible in it's context, remembering to be true to the text while still applying God's word to today. This is a needed reminder for every reader or preacher of the Bible, we don't come up with our opinion, but preach the word of God from the two horizons - original writers intention/readers original understanding and then application today.

An excellent book to gain understanding of the Bible, safeguarding the message of God from being abused or misused. It isn't a bedside read and leave plenty of thinking through time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Primer in Exegesis and Hermaneutics, 15 Sep 2013
By 
A. B. Johnston (Loughborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth (Paperback)
Fee and Stuart spell things out clearly, illustrate by using different books and passages from the Bible, and have a lack of dogmatism.
It is a very easy book to read: big words explained; big ideas made plain; and scholarship AND application kept hand in hand.
I have, over the past 30 years: bought it, read it, given it away, bought other copies, given them away, and that was why I had to buy yet another copy!
This updated edition just adds value to the earlier ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is required reading for the Spurgeons College Equipped to Minister Course and as such I have to use it to reference various fact in several essays. Saying that I cannot help reading around the subject and it is quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The authors reaslly know their stuff, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth (Paperback)
Before opening this book I thought I knew something about the Bible. I'm still part way through reading it and have already had a complete turnaround in some of the things I thought about the Bible. Excellent for putting the Bible books in context and showing how we should approach the different genres to make them relevant for today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all Christians should read this book, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a great introduction to how to read the Bible correctly. It explains the basic principles of exegesis and hermeneutics and illustrates their use very effectively.

All Christians should read this book as a minimum before voicing their interpretations of any Bible passage. The book basically conveys the very important message that whilst the Bible is the word of God, you can't just pick it up and read its contents at face value, even in places where the language seems to make perfect sense. You need to understand the context in which it was written (i.e. the author, the intended audience, the geopolitical setting, the surrounding cultural influences), and the highly challenging and often subjective task of translating it into modern English. Only then are you remotely "qualified" to discuss the meaning and application of the passage.

There is no getting around the fact that it takes time to master reading and interpreting the Bible, but whilst this is clearly a big challenge to all Christians, we should be grateful for all the hard work by scholars that have produced tools like this book, which enable the layman to genuinely stand a chance at grasping and hence being enlightened by God's word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth (Paperback)
A dull and plodding book - I would recommend How to Read The Bible by Kugel over this one any day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read ther bible for all its worth, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent because it reads like a continuing story.Well worth the effort to read a little ever day and yet keep up with the bible story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth
How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth by Gordon D. Fee (Paperback - 1 Nov 2003)
9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews