Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book
I really enjoy this book. However I have another serious reason for writing to you.

I wanted to purchase a map of Turkey recently to help my wife and I with our forthcoming holiday. However, somehow when I tried to cancel my ordering, MULTIPLE ordering appeared in the 'shopping basket' and I can't find the way to remove them and start again.

PLEASE...
Published 18 months ago by Gerald M. Brooke

versus
28 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lone voice of dissent, from what I can tell
Am I the only one bothered by the fact that the 'fair and balanced' approach Strobel insists he will take in this investigation is anything but? It doesn't seem terribly objective to me to devote a chapter each to experts who go about basically all making the same 'argument from ignorance', then not give the same opportunity to those on the other side of the debate...
Published on 29 Jan. 2008 by S Corrigal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case for a Creator: A Journalist Investigates Scientific Evidence That Points Toward God (Paperback)
I really enjoy this book. However I have another serious reason for writing to you.

I wanted to purchase a map of Turkey recently to help my wife and I with our forthcoming holiday. However, somehow when I tried to cancel my ordering, MULTIPLE ordering appeared in the 'shopping basket' and I can't find the way to remove them and start again.

PLEASE COULD YOU REMOVE ALL THE ITEMS IN THE SHOPPING BASKET or tell me how to do it?

Yours sincerely,

Gerald Brooke.

(I am an old man and need help - please)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Scientific Case for a Creator, 10 Sept. 2004
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Case for a Creator (Hardcover)
Science has been much more God friendly over that last thirty years. Particularly due to the Anthropic principle, which shows that the fundamental constants of physics are "just right" to allow human life to exist in the universe. This is the main thrust of the book. He also deals with how the earth is just right for humans to exist, the Goldilocks principle "everything was just right" for life on earth. He does not deal much with evolutionary biology, which is a pity. He fails to say that the earth was just right for God's Son to make his brief sojoun to planet earth. However, if you are a Christian and a scientist, this will give you food for thought, and may provoke you to worship your Creator. Our Creator has great attention to detail.

NB. Anyone going to university should get hold of all Strobel's books, entry level apologetics. The atheists will eat you up, and spit you out, unless your foundation for faith is good. These days the Christian has to use his mind, something sadly neglected these days. The Christian needs to know his apologetics, rather than apologising for being a Christian. I have been there, done that etc... (older Christian).

For Lee Strobel on DVD see here Lee Strobel Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long overdue book..., 25 July 2005
This review is from: The Case for a Creator (Hardcover)
For too long, the media in the UK pedal out of date 1970s science soundbites, like "faith versus science" without ever having a decent debate on this fundamental topic. Finally, this book has arrived, showing that this is "science versus science" and that recent scientific evidence from physics, biochemistry, cosmology etc, etc, has caused many scientists to abandon darwinism as a credible theory for the origin of species.
Strobel uses his award winning investigative journalism skills to good effect in interviewing both Christian and Agnostic academics, bringing their scientific objections to Darwinistic philosophy to the reader in an instantly accesible way. You don't have to be a science geek to read this book; and if you do have a scientific background, there's plenty here for you too.
Read this book with an open mind - it's far better than anything you'll get from the BBC...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lone voice of dissent, from what I can tell, 29 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Case for a Creator (Hardcover)
Am I the only one bothered by the fact that the 'fair and balanced' approach Strobel insists he will take in this investigation is anything but? It doesn't seem terribly objective to me to devote a chapter each to experts who go about basically all making the same 'argument from ignorance', then not give the same opportunity to those on the other side of the debate. Experts, it should be noted, that generally hold advanced degrees in theology or philosophy.

Strobel does an admirable job of cherry-picking his Darwinist references, however I'm inclined to think there are ommissions from those sources large enough to sail an ark through.

What's more, it seems a bit ridiculous for him to say that he's approaching the issue fairly when most of his experts are associated with an institute that is, by its own admission, there to 'replace materialistic explanations with the theistic understanding that nature and human beings are created by God', ie, push a religious agenda. It is inevitable he reaches the conclusions that reinforce the thesis of his book when he only interviews those individuals he knows will give him the answers he is looking for.

Despite my strong personal beliefs, I think it's important to understand more than one take on a given issue, in this case evolution. It's disappointing to see that this is among the best the ID movement can muster, particularly if you read it immediately before or after reading something on the opposite end of the spectrum (Gould, Dawkins et al).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I am a theist: but even I didn't like its anti-Darwinism and anti-investigation method. Bias., 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case for a Creator (Hardcover)
I had no idea this would be anti-evolution.

Mr Strobel knows how to build a story. He asks questions from various 'experts' and then (ironically) takes their views as gospel. As it is supposed to be scientific, I would have preffered it to be more thorough. If you read a book on 'ghost sightings' you will see a similiar attempt at unarguable 'proof'...various examples where no good alternative seems possible. But then, just try asking those in the know to come up with counter arguments...It's easy, as an amateur, to read a bit of 'science' and just take it as 'fact'.
I am a theist but this is not the way to find God...

In fairness, I understand that some people DO disagree with Darwinism. In which case, you will think this review harsh. If so, then you may find the book well written- it is- and easy to read: but be aware that it is entirely bias and bares no true representation of true scientific research. Method is so important. Any serious attempt at method has been thrown out here. Like many journalists, he's good at making a story...even at the cost of thorough detective work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really helpful and informative book, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
R. M. Hardy ""Emissary"" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives the lie to the statement Science has disproved Christianity. In fact it would appear that new scientific research supports many of the tenets of faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An admirable attempt but ultimately a weak case, 19 Oct. 2007
Strobel attempts to build a scientific case for a creator by interviewing experts in the fields of biology, astronomy, cosmology and the like.

Initially, Strobel gives the impression that he intends to be unbiased in his examination of the evidence and that this is a genuine search for truth. Unfortunately, I think this was a bit too much to expect from a staunch Christian apologist. Inevitably, his objectivity is corrupted by his need to persuade the reader that Christianity has all the answers, and the more you read the more you realise that the author has an agenda. I would have had more respect for this book if Strobel could have argued his case from a purely deist perspective and left out the unexplained leap from deism to Christianity; believing that there is a creator is one thing, but then to subscribe to a particular religion because of this belief requires a significant explanation in itself.

That said, Strobel does make a relatively plucky case for a creator; at the very least it's carefully constructed. Probably his strongest argument (which to be fair is still pretty weak) is that the laws and constants of the universe are so finely tuned in favor of supporting life, that it's highly improbable that they could have come to be this way by chance. Thus, a creator must be responsible. However, Richard Dawkins' 'Ultimate Boeing 747' argument can be applied to most of Strobel's arguments, and indeed goes unanswered. Under the subtitle "Whatever begins to exist has a cause", Strobel uses the argument that the universe has a beginning, therefore must have a creator: "Things don't just pop into existence, uncaused, out of nothing". One has to agree, but can't we say the same of a God?

Among his other weaker arguments is his attack on Darwinism; In particular, his reliance on the testimony of Michael J. Behe, whose arguments for 'irreducible complexity' in biochemistry have already been publicly defeated.

I think it's worth a read because it's well written and gives a pretty comprehensive case for some of the best arguments creationists have. But I think a good idea is to read 'The God Delusion' by Richard Dawkins in parallel or immediately after to see the arguments that Strobel makes effectively rebutted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars weak arguments prove nothing, 23 April 2008
By 
S. Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Case for a Creator: A Journalist Investigates Scientific Evidence That Points Toward God (Paperback)
The topics and arguments presented in this book are weak to say the least. As a Christian and as a physics student I can honestly say this is total garbage. Flawed science throught this book shows that the claim of starting from an atheistic standing, was a huge lie in order for us to believe the garbage he was about to write. This man had an agenda, and because of that, he ruined what could have been a good book. The experts are mostly conservative christians, who, obviously, wouldn't say anything other than what Lee wanted them to say. The 'experts' that were interviewed wern't even exeprts in the field they interviewed in. It's like asking a Journalist to answer a scientific question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science writ large!, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case for a Creator: A Journalist Investigates Scientific Evidence That Points Toward God (Paperback)
Strobel's book is most readable and non technical. Yet it points out the important fact that science is showing the design in living systems, something that is acknowledged by many scientists.

Yet this is being rejected on principle by many other scientists . In the UK the government has refused to allow the evidence for intelligent design to be taught in schools on the grounds that evolution is understood and intelligent design isn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book to have and to lend to open minded people, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case for a Creator: A Journalist Investigates Scientific Evidence That Points Toward God (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book written by a journalist so It is engaging and easy to read although it has a lot of scientific stuff in it. He had turned away from faith in God thinking believing that science had disproved religion but decided to investigate it and probably write a book to put forward that thesis. He talked to a great number of eminent scientists and came to a different conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Case for a Creator: A Journalist Investigates Scientific Evidence That Points Toward God
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews