Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary
I am studying to be a Methodist Church Local Preacher and have found this volume to be essential. It is well set out and easy to follow giving very full and in some cases illustrated descriptions of words found in the Bible. I can recommend this book to anyone studying the Bible whether as a 'serious' student or simply an interested reader.
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by Mr. Paul M. Wilks

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not yet good for the kindle
I bought this Kindle edition with high hopes; the content is excellent. The trouble is that it is a real struggle to search on the Kindle.
1. It can't (unlike Easton's bible dictionary) be set as the default dictionary on the Kindle; so if you want to look up a word you have to close the Bible you are reading and open the Zonderman dictionary
2. Even then, you...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Wooster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not yet good for the kindle, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this Kindle edition with high hopes; the content is excellent. The trouble is that it is a real struggle to search on the Kindle.
1. It can't (unlike Easton's bible dictionary) be set as the default dictionary on the Kindle; so if you want to look up a word you have to close the Bible you are reading and open the Zonderman dictionary
2. Even then, you can't go straight to the entry you want. For example, if you want to read the entry about 'Jerusalem' you have to:
a. type 'Jerusalem', then
b. search through the 200 odd pages of references to 'Jerusalem' trying to find THE Jerusalem entry (rather than the several hundred occasions where Jerusalem has simply been mentioned in another entry)!
Alternatively, you can go to 'J' on the contents page and keep turning the page until you get to Jerusalem...

I would steer clear of this on the Kindle until Zonderman have truly created a Kindle version. Then it will be brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Paul M. Wilks (Runcorn Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary (Hardcover)
I am studying to be a Methodist Church Local Preacher and have found this volume to be essential. It is well set out and easy to follow giving very full and in some cases illustrated descriptions of words found in the Bible. I can recommend this book to anyone studying the Bible whether as a 'serious' student or simply an interested reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very helpful in order to explain words and places found in the Bible. One problem is the inability to find the word reasonably quickly due to the need to flick through all the pages containing other words beginning with the same letter. I.e. To find Jonah, it is necessary to start with Ja... then Je...then Ji....etc. Why not have a sub menu from the alphabetical index to facilitate access to the word required? This would be a considerable asset and deserve 5 stars instead of the 4 given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary (Hardcover)
THIS IS A MUST HAVE FOR ANY CHRISTIAN AS HALF THE WORDS IN THE BIBLE ARE DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND. THIS HAS HELPED ME NO END. GET IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dictorinary, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary (Hardcover)
Excellent bible knowledge book it helps you to gain a deeper understanding of what is written in the bible. How to use it and also how to think and study well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great input, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fills in the gaps that often are needed for quality exegesis.
Superb that this is now in a electronic format!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary by Douglas and Tenney (Hardcover - 18 Mar 2011)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews