Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible but slightly simplistic
I would highly recommend this book to anyone exploring Christian apologetics for the first time. It is a compellingly written and easily readable defence of Christian claims about Jesus Christ. Strobel tackles the subject from about every conceivable angle by investigating everything from the geography of the New Testament to the events surrounding Christ's crucifixion...
Published on 24 May 2006 by T. P. Ang

versus
30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence
It would be unfair to criticise this book for being when its title clearly indicates that its mission is to set out the one-sided case for Jesus's existence as the son of God. However, between its covers, Strobel gives the impression of an unbiased search for the truth, complete with a sprinkling of courtroom anecdotes to imply a high level of scrutiny, which this book...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Ned Santorum


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible but slightly simplistic, 24 May 2006
By 
T. P. Ang (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book to anyone exploring Christian apologetics for the first time. It is a compellingly written and easily readable defence of Christian claims about Jesus Christ. Strobel tackles the subject from about every conceivable angle by investigating everything from the geography of the New Testament to the events surrounding Christ's crucifixion and resurrection. It is on this latter point that the book builds is case most strongly, providing credible arguments for a rational basis for believing in the resurrection.

The book's structure is both its strength and its weakness. The author assumes the role of detective as he jets around America meeting and interviewing experts on the various aspects of the case he investigates. The cross-examinations that take place are recounted to the reader and make for more lively reading than a traditional narative. The interviews are also cleverly interspersed with the little anecdotes that tie in with the unfolding argument. However, the question-and-answer format tends to leave gaps in the arguments and gives the overall case a disjointed feel. Also, arguments tend to get simplified because they are related in the form of a dialogue.

On the whole, the book is well-written and accessible, but slightly simplistic, and can serve as a good starting-point from which to explore the case for Christ further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Becoming a christian, 16 Dec 2002
By 
MR O C LORTON (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
Before reading this book I struggled with the idea of Christianity, especially when my girlfriend was a Christian. But this answered 95% of my questions that she couldn't answer. Because of this I have become a Christian, and so has my best mate to whom I have lent the book. This book is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that stands up to scrutiny, 28 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
As someone who has spent years studying ancient history, I can attest to the accuracy, fairness, readability, and thorough nature of this excellent new book. And while it's great that "The Case for Christ" has generated so much response at amazon.com, I'm concerned that a handful of people who disagree with the author's conclusions have sought to discourage others from obtaining the book through reviews that are at times misleading or which miss the point of the book entirely. Taking simplistic potshots when there is no ready mechanism for response by the author seems terribly unfair. Let me give just a few examples. One reviewer tries to discredit the author's citing of Josephus, a first century historian. First, the reviewer claims that Josephus wrote about Jesus 80 years after Jesus died, which is absurd because this would place the date after Josephus' own death! Further, he claims Josephus' work has been "universally acknowledged to have been altered or doctored by later Christians." Yet this is a point that the book's author, Lee Strobel, readily concedes! However, Strobel takes the approach of a true historian by seeking to determine what part of Josephus' work is authentic and what was likely a later Christian interpolation. Unfortunately, potential readers of the book might think from the review that Strobel's book is lacking, when it's the review that misses the mark. A reviewer points out that several of the experts interviewed in the book are from Christian universities, so of course they believe Jesus is who he claimed to be. However, these scholars don't hold this view because they are at Christian universities; they are at Christian universities because they have been personally convinced by the evidence that Jesus is who he claimed to be! These experts are highly respected scholars with excellent academic credentials. Why aren't opposing scholars interviewed? Because the scholars in the book are confronted with the claims of these opposing scholars and are forced to defend their positions with facts. Thus, the claims of opposing scholars are given due consideration. In addition, the author devotes an entire chapter to debunking the highly questionable -- and sometimes laughable -- scholarship of the left-wing Jesus Seminar. Concerning the resurrection, a reviewer claims: "If one disciple claimed to see Jesus, wouldn't others also do so in order to not feel less special or blessed?" Why would someone falsely claim to have seen the resurrected Jesus when it meant a life of hardship, rejection, poverty, and eventual torture and death? Can anyone find a single example in history of a person who knowingly and willingly allowed themselves to be tortured to death for a lie? I could go on and on. There are logical and rational responses to every single point brought up by the reviewers. In fact, a fair reading of this book shows that it already provides answers to much of what is raised! At about 300 pages, this book is clearly intended to be an overview of the evidence concerning Jesus. To fault the author for not going deeper on one point or another does not mean there aren't adequate answers. It simply means one book can only give so much information. What is in this book, as far as I can determine, is accurate, balanced, and written in a very creative and highly readable form. I strongly recommend it to anyone with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REFRESHING REVELATION!, 16 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
Having blundered my way from one 'faith' to another, I thankfully stumbled on Christianity, and then found Lee Strobel's wonderful book, "A Case For Christ," and all I can say is, WOW!
I had many niggling questions regarding my belief in Jesus Christ, but one by one all these questions faded away as I read the chapters within this book. Through Strobel's delving investigations into the authenticity of Christ, His works and His history (Strobel gathered his information from top experts around the world) I've learned that Jesus truly did exist and his miracles are very real.
This book is factual.
All the information provided is genuine.
In this book, Strobel provides a riveting journalistic investigation into the life of Christ that is a real page-turner!
If, like me, you are new to Christianity then this book is a must.
If you are a Christian, then this book will certainly reinforce your love and beliefs in Christ and His wonderful Works.
It's a MUST!
(I'd have given it 7 out of 5 stars, but Amazon wouldn't let me.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding achievement, 20 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
This is absolutely the finest introduction to the evidence for Jesus that I have ever read, and I've read plenty of them (I have an MA in Philosophy of religion). The author conducts solid, critical, and highly readable interviews with some of the finest theologians and Christian thinkers around. He has just the right combination of skepticism and a willingness to come to reasonable conclusions. For those who think he doesn't probe enough -- what book are you reading? This book delves into the most controversial and cutting-edge issues involving Jesus. The author takes the toughest objections from atheists like Michael Martin and forces Christians to give reasonable answers. He builds his case point by point, in a solid and methodical way. If you read one book concerning the evidence for Christianity, make it this one. If you are planning to give a spiritual seeker one book about Christianity, make it this one. I agree with Billy Graham that this is a powerful and persuasive volume that should be widely shared. Don't be deterred by those who say the author didn't interview non-believers; he did something better -- he took the best arguments from skeptics and put Christianity to the test. Some folks might not like the fact that Christianity wins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a thoroughly well researched book, which presents the evidence in a compelling way. As a retired advocate I appreciated the attention to detail and the logical presentation of the evidence and an argument well marshalled.
Reading this book has strengthened my own faith, I commend it to you whoever you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well researched book on the evidence for Jesus Christ, 18 Jan 2003
By 
Mrs Kay Prentice (Belfast, N Ireland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
I found this to be an great book, well researched and written by
an excellent "wordsmith". He questioned secular scholars of history, science and other disciplines and then presented evidence which for me showed Jesus to be what the New Testament teaches - the Son of God. A challenging read for believers and non-believers alike and an interesting account of the author's own journey from aethiesm to faith in Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the Low Raters ! Read it with an Open Mind., 18 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
For those who claim that this book is one sided because the author is a Christian, for the sake of fairness, ask yourself : "How many 'one-sided' books are out there favoring the Jesus Seminar, liberal Christianity, etc.? How many are out there that think they aren't one-sided because they include token quotes from scholars holding the opposite point of view (the ones that Strobel interviewed for example) ? Tons of each. Think of this book as a rebuttal.
Granted, Stroebel interviewed no scholars with opposing views like Sanders, Mack, or Fredriksen, but what is he supposed to do ? Do these scholars go around answering opposing views too ? I somehow doubt it. In fact if you read Mack's WWNT today, you will find that other than a snide swipe at Theide's Magdalene Papyrus theory, he ignores every "opposing" point of view there is. Notice that a book by a journalist named Russell Shorto, published a few years back, did the same thing in favor of the Jesus Seminar. So now we've got Shorto for one side and Strobel for the other. Looks like the match is even! If you want balance, read Shorto's and Strobel's book and compare the arguments ! I personally found Strobel's arguments to be more convincing. You might disagree with my assessment but you can't do so honestly by not reading this book.
Asking the question : "If certain towns or people mentioned in the Bible are found to have existed at that time, so what?" smacks of intellectual laziness. What this evidence means is that they ARE MORE LIKELY TO BE RIGHT than if the towns and people DIDN'T exist. And Strobel covered this on p.96, He said :
"In trying to determine if a witness is being truthful, journalists and lawyers will test all the elements of his or her testimony that can be tested. If this investigation reveals that the person was wrong in those details, this casts considerable doubt on the veracity of his or her entire story. However, if the minutiae check out, this is some indication-not conclusive proof BUT SOME EVIDENCE-that maybe the witness is being reliable in his or her overall account....If the details check out, this doesn't prove that his ENTIRE story is true, BUT IT DOES ENHANCE HIS REPUTATION FOR BEING ACCURATE." (Emphasis mine). This may not satisfy skeptics, but these are the rules of evidence that lawyers and historians (i.e. professionals in interpreting evidence) use in assessing the truthfulness of a witness.
Good thing archaeologists as a whole don't take this careless 'so what' attitude. If they did, nothing would be discovered and they might as well close shop.
The Jesus Seminar IS INDEED COMPOSED OF a number of radical fringe scholars who are on the far, far left wing of NT thinking. I don't find this statement inaccurate at all. Naming three of their ringleaders doesn't change the assessment in the least, one which is agreed upon not only in the circles Strobel checked in, but also in moderate circles led by the likes of Richard Hays and Luke Timothy Johnson.
For those who have read this book and are still interested in debating the case for Christ "live", I invite you to refute the works of J.P. Holding in his TEKTON APOLOGETICS Website on the internet.
Lee Stroebel's book is a good counter-balance to the works of many liberal skeptics out there on the case for Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many of the issues I have put in my "Faith Box", 26 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
I am a philosophy student, and a critical thinker. When I started to think about reading this book I wasn't overly excited about it. I was pleasantly surprised at how fast paced and exciting this book was in comparison with other books written with the same intention. What it did for me was it opened up my "Faith Box." This is a box that contains all of the little leaps of faith that I have taken in my walk with Christ. As a introspective person, at quiet moments of brutal honesty with myself, I am forced to look at how many leaps of faith that I have taken and it often times is very scary. This book dealt with so many of those questions and doubts that I had, and it has strengthened my faith in the historical Jesus immensely, my faith will NEVER be the same. There is no book out that is like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback)
It would be unfair to criticise this book for being when its title clearly indicates that its mission is to set out the one-sided case for Jesus's existence as the son of God. However, between its covers, Strobel gives the impression of an unbiased search for the truth, complete with a sprinkling of courtroom anecdotes to imply a high level of scrutiny, which this book simply isn't. He speaks to not a single scholar who is not an evangelical Christian.

My first problem in this book came with the first two chapters which attempt to explain why we should believe what the gospels say. Here Strobel unfortunately falls back on circular arguments such as mentioning the good character of the gospel writers as reason for believing their accounts. However, the only evidence we have for their characters is in the gospels themselves, so one already needs to be convinced by the gospels to buy this argument.

These first two chapters are amongst the weakest in the book, which is problematic as many of the later arguments of the book are based on the reliability of the gospels, so if you haven't been convinced by that, many of the later chapters fall down too.

The biggest problem with Strobel's investigation is that while he asks some of the challenging questions of his academics that are often posed by sceptics, he swallows whatever explanation they give him with no further scrutiny no matter how implausible their explanations are. For example, at one point he asks how it is possible for the massacre of the infants by Herod to have taken place as Herod's reign does not fit in with the dates of other events in the Bible. The answer he is given is that there might have been another King Herod. This to me sounds like an attempt to validate a previously held belief, not an honest attempt at historical discovery. Yet Strobel accepts many answers of this calibre without hesitation, which is frustrating for the reader.

Another fatal flaw of Strobel's approach is that he adds no weight to the fact that one needs greater historical evidence to believe in miracles than to believe other things. For example, if there is a 2000 year old document that says Julius Caesar enjoyed drinking wine, we may well accept this to have a reasonable probability of accuracy, but if it said he walked on water we would probably ask for more evidence. Strobel does not appear to realise this.

He is also too eager to jump to supernatural conclusions. Even if we agree with him up to the point that the gospels are fantastic, reliable accounts from the time, the most likely explanation is still not that a man who is the son of a deity was sent to Earth and performed miracles. While Strobel dismisses explanations such as hoax, hallucination, misreporting, legendary exaggeration and lying, he fails to acknowledge that even if unlikely these explanations are all more likely than the supernatural explanation. Again, he requires someone who already believes elements of the Bible or in a god for this to convince, which is a shame as his aim is to convince us of Jesus's divinity by secular historical means,an aim which he fails to meet.

Ultimately, this book looks good on the surface, but falls down following the application of basic critical thought. It will convince those seeking to be convinced, but anyone with a genuinely neutral stance shouldn't be taken in.

It has been said that extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence. Lee Strobel would do well to remember this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews