Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply moving and wise
Cheryl Strayed is "Sugar"the once anonymous voice behind the weekly "Dear Sugar" advice column that first appeared in the Rumpus online literary magazine. Unlike other advice columnists, Sugar shares in "Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life" the thorniest most painful experiences from her own life to help each letter writer work through their situation. She...
Published on 19 July 2012 by Niki Collins-queen, Author

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an agony aunt column
I could only read this in snatches as it got a bit wearing after reading a few problems being asked and replied to. still haven't finished it I have to be in the mood for it . some of the replies contain a few jewels and are thought provoking though.
Published 9 months ago by Michael Holmes ( not michael...


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply moving and wise, 19 July 2012
By 
Niki Collins-queen, Author "author" (Forsyth, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar (Paperback)
Cheryl Strayed is "Sugar"the once anonymous voice behind the weekly "Dear Sugar" advice column that first appeared in the Rumpus online literary magazine. Unlike other advice columnists, Sugar shares in "Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life" the thorniest most painful experiences from her own life to help each letter writer work through their situation. She isn't embarrassed by her readers emotions or her own. She often sees problems before the reader can, offers enough compassion for them to feel safe and enough wisdom to hold onto hope.
Cheryl told Radhika Jones, in the June 25, 2012 edition of "Time" magazine, her column is therapy in the town square. Nobody is the therapist. "I'm actually trying to work against the tradition of know-it-all advice...I say to people, I know that you're all f----- up, because I am too, or I have been too."
Cheryl began writing Sugar in March 2010. Although she'd not read many advice columns she'd experienced heartbreak, abuse, making mistakes and learning from them. She's cared for here dying mother, gotten married and divorced and married again; shot heroin in her ankle; worked as a waitress and a youth advocate; published a novel; had an abortion and given birth to two children.
Cheryl's also the author of "Wild" a recently released memoir about her solo hike along the Pacific Crest Trail in her mid 20s. Actress Reese Witherspoon has optioned "Wild"for film development and Oprah Winfrey's picked it for her newly relaunched book club.
Cheryl, now in her early 40s, is married to Brian Lindstrom, a documentary filmmaker. They have an eight year-old son and a six-year-old daughter.
Ruth Franklin with the "New Republic" says "Tiny Beautiful Things" is a balm and guide for all that life throws our way. Sugar's charming, idiosyncratic, luminous, profane voice shines out amid the sea of fakeness. I couldn't agree more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voice you need in your life, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on an impulse, after reading about Cheryl Strayed, and I'm so pleased I did. Her voice is so warm, and so real, and her words feel both fresh and wise. The letter from a 'Living Dead Dad' and her response may genuinely be one of the most moving things I've ever read. I never really anticipated buying a book of advice columns, but as you read on, Sugar becomes a character in her own right, sharing more about herself as she untangles a series of very human predicaments. I'm sure you'll find something you'll relate to in some of the letters here. As soon as I finished the book I went and bought Wild, another book by Cheryl Strayed. You'll be sad when you finish it - you feel the need to hear her voice again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly inspiring read, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book full of kindness, wisdom and humanity. And great advice and lessons. I would whole-heartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Will Change The Way You See The World, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A deep and inspiring blend of incredible writing and memoir masquerading as advice, this is a book I wish I intend to press fervently into more hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, straight-talking yet sensitive, 16 Dec 2013
This book is like a smack in the face, it tells us what we need to hear in an abrupt manner but then has a sensitive, womanly and compassionate touch. A fabulous book with a brilliant author, such an inspiring book for anyone stuck in a rut and even if you don't find it useful.. It makes you think "well my life isn't so bad"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful and inspiring, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say this has been such a revelation. Loved the format, really absorbing, lead me on a road to self discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, thought provoking, challenging, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Intense, dense, challenging book that posits a rigorous, dare I say beautiful, moral code for modern life. It is probably a love-or-hate book, but it is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure perfection, 17 July 2013
I'm not a writer. As far as I could tell, every word of this book was perfectly crafted. One letter writer called these words his bible, I'm not religious, but this is a gospel I could live by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your standard advice column replies!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those books that once you start reading you struggle to put it down! The advice is given in Strayeds uniquely open, humorous and compassionate style and is such a joy to read. All of humanity is here, and you may find yourself wondering how all these people who put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard!) are doing now and just how does Strayed seems to know just what to say in such an empathetic and often painfully open manner whilst still being funny and breezy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for my sister, who's not that much of a reader, but she dove right in. I've been following "Dear Sugar" for many years and love the writing style and down to earth advice she gives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar
Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed (Paperback - 10 July 2012)
Used & New from: 5.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews