Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maggie does it again, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nicely-plotted novel with lots of atmosphere. Dog lovers will be thrilled, and Maggie O'Dell fans as well. Another Albert Stucky villain, really loathsome, and a cool dog handler too, come into play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fantastic, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a dedicated crime fiction reader. I discovered Alex Kava around three years ago and she never fails to deliver. Maggie O Dell is a personable character and Kava makes the reader feel invested in all her characters lives. Can't wait for the next installment. I read this book In two days and it had me on the edge of my seat trying to guess what was going to happen. That's no easy feat considering Slaughter and Cornwell have de sensitised me to most other crime novels. Brilliant, can't recommend it enough. Start at the beginning with O Dell is my only tip, although I jumped in at book three and was instantly addicted, so this book could stand alone. Kava has kept intrigue and interest alive though she is many books into Maggie O Dells story. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stranded by alex kava, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow. What a great read, only wish it was longer. Creed is a great character, hope he'll return. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stranded review, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always I am hooked from start to finish, it's easy to get caught up with characters and feel part of the story. There are no over complications or lengthy explanations that some books have which is where I would occasionally lose concentration! Overall a great read which keeps you turning the pages when you really should have turned the light off and gone to sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it !, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The beat up character that is Maggie O'dell is just superb, fast moving and riveting from start to finish !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Kava *Stranded*, 24 May 2014
By 
Ms. A. S. Rocco (Lincolnshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding Read, I am a fan for life! Can't wait for the new book.
Have all her other books, Will be reading her other books with co-writers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Thriller, 10 May 2014
This review is from: Stranded (Maggie O'Dell Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Stranded – No Place to Hide

I don’t know how I have done it but I would love to know how I have missed Alex Kava’s Maggie O’Dell thrillers but better late than never. Stranded is a fast paced page turner of a thriller with plenty of twists and turns and working out who is the protagonist leaves you in suspense until the end. This book really is for fans of the TV show Criminal Minds and the FBI’s Behavioural Analysis Unit at Quantico. Stranded is also proof that Alex Kava is at the top of her game, understands the genre and delivers a thriller with a punch. Now all I have to do is get my hands on her previous work!

Anyone that has driven around America and gone either state or interstate will know how great the interstate roads are and sometimes what a god send it is to see the truck rest stops. As an Englishman I love driving their interstates as they are straight and easy to work out where you going even later at night as long as you stay in the speed limits which are low compared to the UK and Europe. Those truck stops to a traveller are an oasis in the desert if you are a trucker or covering long distances.

Maggie O’Dell has been tasked to a serial killer investigation team based out of Quantico searching for someone who is killing people at the rest stops along the interstate. Not only content with killing them he happily slices and dices the victims probably for pleasure. O’Dell and her partner Tully are sent along to investigate the latest body dump which turns out to be part of an old farmstead but they have been guided their by a prisoner called Otis. The killer had also left a mad of the I-95 in Maggie’s burnt out house and there is nothing worse really than a killer taunting the FBI as they will always come through in the end, or in O’Dell’s case will they?

Tully warns O’Dell as the body count rises that this seems to be a game to the killer and that she seems to be the ultimate prize to her or him especially after CNN had profiled her. She recognises that this danger is part of her job and tries not to let this worry her. It is a fast paced game of hide and seek with her either as the prize or the victorious. You can feel O’Dell’s weariness but dogged determination in that she will not give up and try not to be too predictable for the killer.

Special Agent Maggie O’Dell is a brilliant investigator and she delivers in Stranded a strong determined woman who is not afraid of anything other than her own personal feelings. Kava has created a brilliant character who shows that women are just as dogged just as determined and just as inquisitive as their male counterparts who will stop at nothing to get the job done. The intensity grows throughout the book as the pace gathers and you feel a need to finish so you can see who and how the characters develop and who wins in the end.

In Stranded Alex Kava proves that women are taking hold of the crime thriller genre and making it their own and improving it with every book published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Kava, 4 May 2014
By 
D. CHARLTON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Continues to maintain the highest standards in each of plot, characters and the odd twist established from book 1 ( A Perfect Evil )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Read!, 18 April 2014
By 
john (liverpool) - See all my reviews
I have read a few of Alex Kava's novels, and although it might be better to read the Maggie O Dell series in chronological order you can enjoy them by themselves.
Stranded tells the story of a serial killer who finds his prey at motels, hotels and car parks off the interstates.
The book is fast-paced with short chapters, alternating from several of the main character's POV's. The ending was also realistic and would make a good Crime/Thriller TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic as usual, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just love Alex Kava and her Maggie O'Dell books and this didn't disappoint. If you havent read any of the others I would read them first even though they can be read on their own. Once you read one you will want to read them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stranded (Maggie O'Dell Novels)
Stranded (Maggie O'Dell Novels) by Alex Kava (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Mar 2014)
4.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews