Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mighty tome which only Dragonborn's can lift
Having bought Skyrim on PC at it's release 11/11/11, and having chalked up almost 800 hours in game, as you'd expect iv'e seen a lot of what the game has to offer. But i wanted to ensure that no detail had passed me by, hence my investment into this mighty tome.

PRO(S):
-1117 pages of everything you'll ever want to know about Skyrim & it's DLC, from...
Published 14 months ago by Jules

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Alot of pointless info
No doubt there's alot of information and credit to the guide for that but how much of the info is useful? The quest descriptions are just that they describe the quests but don't offer any real tips so with the quest objectives already in game that makes half this guide pretty pointless. Quest rewards are also poorly explained telling you the name of the item but nothing...
Published 1 month ago by luke


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mighty tome which only Dragonborn's can lift, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Having bought Skyrim on PC at it's release 11/11/11, and having chalked up almost 800 hours in game, as you'd expect iv'e seen a lot of what the game has to offer. But i wanted to ensure that no detail had passed me by, hence my investment into this mighty tome.

PRO(S):
-1117 pages of everything you'll ever want to know about Skyrim & it's DLC, from details on every quest, guild member, enemies to skills & perks etc...
-Pull out map charting all key locations.
-Detailed colored pictures & easy to read text on nice quality paper.

CON(S):
-It weighs a lot, that only a true Dragonborn may lift it (not much hope of relaxing with this on your own throne ;-P).

In conclusion, i'm very happy with the book, despite my own extensive in game experience it has still managed to teach me a thing or two, helping me find new locations, quests & tips on fighting styles etc... It's simply just a pleasure to read in the comfort of your own home. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A labour of love, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I got Skyrim Legendary Edition for Christmas recently and decided to get the guide as it was very cheap for such a big book. I've had guides for computer games before (Final Fantasy VII springs to mind) but nothing anywhere near as comprehensive as this. This is truly a labour of love, pretty much every single thing in the game is covered... it must have amounted to 1000's of hours of gameplay and a lot of work for the small team that wrote it.

Plus points:
- Organised into clear sections covering races and abilities, weapons, armour, magic, all the quests, and maps of all the dungeons and major outdoor locations.
- Folding map of Skyrim and Solstheim with every location marked.
- Index of quests by name (very handy) and main index for everything else.
- Mentions other quests or important tidbits during each quest - e.g. don't kill this guy if you want to come back on X quest and find his sword etc. (again super helpful)
- Covers the Dawnguard, Hearthfire and Dragonborn DLCs comprehensively
Dawnguard quests and locations covered
Large section on building your own house with the Hearthfire add-on
Maps of Solstheim and related locations and all Dragonborn quests detailed

Minus points:
- This is a massive book - about the size of a telephone directory - and as it is paperback, and printed on flimsy telephone directory style paper, you can't really balance it on you and read it at your leisure. It works much better if you've got it on a flat surface and are just flicking through to check the occasional thing.
- There are spelling mistakes but to be honest in a 1100+ page guide that can be forgiven!

In short, you need this in your life. Even if you're the sort of person who wants to experience the game with no spoilers there are times when you will get lost or frustrated and without this book you'd have to resort to internet forums or give up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book Worthy of the Dragonborn, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My copy arrived just this morning and i am most pleased.

A well written and designed guide to everything Skyrim, all in a sturdy hardback format. Contains information on literally everything.
The posters are also a nice touch, however, the map poster was slightly difficult to remove from the book, and did get a small tear in the process. But all in all, a great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my God, what a beauty., 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I took delivery this morning (June 20th 2013) and was really excited. I'd already purchased the first release shortly after Skyrim was released back in Nov 2011, but hadn't really used it (partly because you couldn't keep the book open at the pages you wanted to read hands free without breaking the spine of the book. The paper back edition felt really unweildy despite being almost half the size of this legendary edition. This hard back legendary edition, apart from feeling solid, can be opened at 'any' page and laid flat without damage to the spine, which I am really pleased about. It'll mean I can play the game, yet look at the book without having to hold the pages open at the places I want to read about.

It also includes a digital eGuide code, so if you're a collector you won't even need to open up the guide. (though to get at the code you will need to remove the cellophane wrapper. Also included is a reasonable panoramic image of Alduins wall and a large poster sized double sided map of Skyrim showing the location of everything you need to find.

The cover is well designed with a dark bluey slate like colored finish and an almost Celtic like design front and back, with the Skyrim emblem emblazoned over the front of the cover. (I'd loved to have seen a dust sheet made for this book). The dimensions are the usual size for a strategy guide apart from its thickness; i.e. approx 8.5 inch by 11 inch and almost 2 inches thick. As you can imagine, with 1117 pages (plus the back sheets), each page is ultra thin, but thick enough that you can't see through the pages. Every page is crammed full of information about the game with images and/or maps on virtually every page. Everything is well laid out and the Contents, indexes and appendices are all easy to use. There's 40 pages of appendices and index, with sections devoted to achievements & trophies, traders, shrines, unique weapons, unique armor and items, skill books, dragon alphabet, Word wall phrases as well as a general section. Entires are color coded for each of the expansions which is ueful; also, the index is divided into a general index of 15 pages and a quest index of 2 pages.

I think i'll be using this a lot on my second play through of the game. :) I never finished it the first time around as I wanted to wait until all of the expansions were released. (hopefully the Skyrim teams are now working on Fallout 3 which will be announced at E3 2014 and is due for release sometime in 2015)

Apart from the thin pages, this is the most beautiful guide I've ever purchased (and the largest). The book weighs over 2.5Kg. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I was surprised by the size of this book when it arrived. I looked at it before starting the game and thought the whole thing looked very complicated. However, now that I have started Skyrim, things have become much clearer. The book is a real asset and without it there is much that I would have missed or struggled with. The maps in the book are brilliant and make the big picture much clearer. I thoroughly recommend this book to any Skyrim players. It won't fight your battles for you but will give you lots of tips on how to progress and succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome guide, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Ok so first of all his guide is MASSIVE. It's bigger and heavier than my huge math texbook (lol). It explains EVERYTHING, its detailed to perfection and extremely interesting. It's a must have for a true Skyrim fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Alot of pointless info, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
No doubt there's alot of information and credit to the guide for that but how much of the info is useful? The quest descriptions are just that they describe the quests but don't offer any real tips so with the quest objectives already in game that makes half this guide pretty pointless. Quest rewards are also poorly explained telling you the name of the item but nothing about it's stats nor any images. Skill guides are also disappointing for me they simply tell you the materials you need to make items, this again is available in game and there's no additional info on where to find the rarer mats. In all this guide offers nothing that a free YouTube search wouldn't and if your buying a physical copy for practical reasons there are skyrim phone apps which offer the same functionality with even easier navigation and is again free. I purchased this book with high hopes but in all the info I want is never available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG....Goodbye Life!, 17 May 2014
By 
C. Ellis (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Knew this game was epic when I bought it, did not expect the extent of the adventure until you start to look through this guide! Sorry for the back injury Mr Postman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Feb 2014
By 
J. C. Moody (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Very comprehensive and overwhelming at first, their not joking when they say only dragonborn can lift it. :D

Amazon though is a different matter, item has been used, scratches on the front cover and someones dinner on one of the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just WOW!, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This is the most in-depth gamin guide I have seen for a long time with over 1,000 pages, i'm not going to stop reading this bad boy for a long time. The guide comes with an in-depth explanation for everything in the game from Mobs to quests to dungeon layouts and what secrets that can be unearthered if you take your time to find them. The book is not essential to beginners however i would have loved to have purchased this back in 2011 when Skyrim first came out for an in depth explanation into the Lore of Elder Scrolls and it's character and why certain elements of the game are how they are. This guide does come with the DLC's information and does contain many major spoilers which I advise for you not to read until you've played through the mission in that section before unless you're a trophy/ Achievement hunter then spoil yourself rotten as this Huge bible of a book to the Elder Scrolls will give you everything you need to access every single achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides)
£18.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews