Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice but mostly an artbook
The book itself is realy nice. It has a sturdy exteriour with a metallic finish.
When opening the book and looking at the pages you noticed that the paper and pictures are of a high quality, although the print makes the pages curl abit.

On the context of the book, it's mostly just a fan item than a real guide.
The book has more pictures than actual...
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by Dondar01

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Presentation - Poor Game Guide
The presentation is excellent, It's a beautiful book with many great artworks & a few worthy extras about the creation of the game.
But as a game guide it's really poor, especially when comparing it with the previous Mass Efffect guides:

- No maps providing item location & points of interest (except useless ones for the Multiplayer, not even detailling...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by Mr Wednesday


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Presentation - Poor Game Guide, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
The presentation is excellent, It's a beautiful book with many great artworks & a few worthy extras about the creation of the game.
But as a game guide it's really poor, especially when comparing it with the previous Mass Efffect guides:

- No maps providing item location & points of interest (except useless ones for the Multiplayer, not even detailling possible drop points for enemy waves).
- No intel on systems & planets, and where/which war assets you can find.
- No useful comparison tables for weapons & equipment. Crap screenshots of their ingame barstats are useless to compare them properly.

Also, the "tactics" part about how to best take down enemies is of little interest, and most players, as they get acquainted with game, will find far better and efficient ways to deal with particular enemies.
All in all, I'm quite disappointed with this guide.
If you want to buy it expecting something close to the ME2 guide, don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I expected more, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
No to repeat what others have already said, but this is indeed a disappointing guide. The book looks great - and is much bigger than I expected it to be - but not the in-depth strategy guide I've come to like and want.

A no-spoiler guide is a good idea in theory, but practically, the point of having a guide is to have access to all twists and turns available, and I felt that this book lacked the information/guidance I was looking for.

No detailed maps, no detailed "war assets" page (probably one of the most important parts of ME3), and even in some cases wrong or incomplete information. Also, it could have largely benefited from a better index.

All in all, sadly not worth the buy...especially for a "collector's edition".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice but mostly an artbook, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
The book itself is realy nice. It has a sturdy exteriour with a metallic finish.
When opening the book and looking at the pages you noticed that the paper and pictures are of a high quality, although the print makes the pages curl abit.

On the context of the book, it's mostly just a fan item than a real guide.
The book has more pictures than actual charts and maps etc etc....

There are no single player maps BUT there are descriptions of all missions, where you can find certain items and what the result will be if you reply Paragon or Renegade (even if your choise influences further parts later in the game).

There are also some nice tricks and hints, like some suggestions on character builds and what they could be used for. Tips on how to use your squadmates and some builds for them aswell.

The multiplayer has maps (unlike the single player maps). There are some tactical tips (just like single player).

Overall it's a nice book (I wouldn't realy use the name guide in this case) and it's a nice addition to the collector's edition of the game.

On a side note you get a digital copy of the "guide".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter disappointment, 23 Mar 2012
By 
Tony Wihlen (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
I am baffled that someone takes the time to write a guide for a big RPG and then decides that, no, let's not have any maps. Seriously. When I use a guide I couldn't care less about spoilers (though some people might - to each his own) and basic stuff like annotated maps and charts detailing equipment, etc, is the only thing I'm looking for. I want the whole game laid bare with all the facts neatly lined up so I can get on with min/maxing the crap out of everything. None of that here, though.

This book will serve as a nice item to leaf through and set the mood - but a good guide it is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
perfect for all mass effect lovers, i love mass effect, the 3rd is the best, there is so much in the book to help you if u need to, there is also parts of art work in it, advise getting if u r a mass effect fan.

19, female
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
This guide book cover most of the basic gameplay of ME3, however is sorely lacking in maps, war assets and hidden secrets. Almost a third of the book is dedicated to the multiplayer function and the way walkthrough is laid out can be confusing and contradictory. In short (as with most things related to Mass Effect 3), its not nearly as good as the ME2 book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just buy it, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
great book which explains your options full walkthrough to let you get all the loot. ME3 remains one of my favourite games of all time and this really helped me get a lot out of the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Not being an avid gamer, I cannot say much about this, except my son was very pleased. Cover looked cool. I think the item was well priced too, if memory serves me right. A smooth transaction/quick post/well packaged. RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, just missing day-one DLC, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Excellent guide. Mostly used only to sort out which order I'd do missions in, but then I got DLC missions which is why one star short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
with this being Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide i would of thorth it would of had some or if not all DLC but to have none is disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide
Mass Effect 3 Collector's Official Game Guide by Prima Games (Hardcover - 9 Mar 2012)
Used & New from: 16.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews