Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWTor Map book
I like this book, its full of maps helpful details, and lovely artwork looks good on my computer desk. If you need help for the game this is what you need, Yes its not one of those hold your hands and guild you from A to B to get to C. Which is good as you don't want one of those the game would be boring.

This is a decent guide for finding Datacrons and...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor ... Don't bother
I bought this along with the Collectors Edition yesterday and I was very disappointed. Unlike the World of Warcraft manuals that first came out this basically doesn't help at all. There's about 8 pages dedicated to the various classes you can become with a few very basic tips on each class. There's another dozen or so pages with some concept art and the rest of the book...
Published on 28 Dec. 2011 by A. Cresswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor ... Don't bother, 28 Dec. 2011
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this along with the Collectors Edition yesterday and I was very disappointed. Unlike the World of Warcraft manuals that first came out this basically doesn't help at all. There's about 8 pages dedicated to the various classes you can become with a few very basic tips on each class. There's another dozen or so pages with some concept art and the rest of the book is maps. Great !!!! you might think. Ummm no. You see SWTOR has actually got the ingame maps etc totally sorted. SWTOR is basically where WOW is now with full in game icons and highlighted quest givers, quest targets etc. all highlighted on the map. So the book maps are pointless EXCEPT for one thing. There are DATACRONS in the game which basically improve your base stats like STRENGTH +2 or Endurance. These will become important if you are looking to max your toon out in abilities. The location of the DATACRONS are marked on the maps. This is the only thing the book is good for. I would think long and hard about this. You could wait and I'm sure someone will post the Datacron locations up on google or you can pay for this weighty tome and find them this way.
The only other reason I can think of for buying this book is to collect memorabilia.

Hence the 2 stars. Virtually useless book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No use at all!, 1 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
What a useless product. No wonder it was sealed in the shop so one could not open it. As if there were some terribly exciting secrets hidden inside. But there aren't.

The character/class information is a joke! As is the rest.

A cheap product, clunky and useless.

Do not buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this is a printed version of what the "M" key gives you for free, 7 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
like my description this really isnt the greatest purchase. Hit your M key and save on postage. Such a shame because a proper manual for this game would have been great as there is not one included in the game box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWTor Map book, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I like this book, its full of maps helpful details, and lovely artwork looks good on my computer desk. If you need help for the game this is what you need, Yes its not one of those hold your hands and guild you from A to B to get to C. Which is good as you don't want one of those the game would be boring.

This is a decent guide for finding Datacrons and shows the locations of vendors and NPC's mission and quest givers.

The included artwork pages are a nice addition in this guide book, making it a little more unique to a SWTOR collector, as these pictures are not included in the collectors edition of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of money, 5 Feb. 2012
By 
Paul Spencer (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Maps provided in the game are better, this is a quick cash in with no real value. Hopefully we'll see a better guide soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK but I expected more from an official guide ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Its OK but I expected more from an official guide, but its got a lot of maps and information on the respective worlds, but no in depth information about the various aspects of game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great - but maybe a free internet search is better, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book before the game even went live and was pleased with all of the information contained within it. However since the game has been live, the amount of info on the net that is available for free makes this book less useful.

Some nice artwork throughout the book though - worth buying for that - if artwork is your thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not even worth opening, 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
This book claims that it has information on Datacron locations and a guide to character classes.
It is in fact, a jumped up map book.
Almost every page is just a basic mini map blown up with icons for vendors, taxis, and enemies. When it comes to datacrons, all that is shown, is a small square on the map with a number relating to its attribute. No details of how to get to them or screenshots of locations, or anything vaguely helpful.

It has no information on companions apart from in the character class 'section' which is a page of information on each class that is incredibly patronizing and only states the very obvious; such as 'Bounty Hunters can wear heavy armor.' ..Thanks for that, you're not telling me anything that the character creation screen hasn't done so already.

Even the exclusive concept art in the back is only concept sketches that look awful and hardly related to the game at all.

I love SWTOR and couldn't wait to get this. It took me about 2 minutes of flipping through to realize I would have been better off buying an unofficial iphone App for £1. I will be purchasing the SWTOR encyclopedia on here next as a one page screenshot of the inside has more info than this does.

Even if you're a collector, don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 23 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
it has so much information that i do not know where to begin.contained a lot more than i thought it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor production quality, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides) (Paperback)
Bindings of very low quality, fell apart very quickly indeed.

The good news is that with the quality of the online information on IGN, DarthHater, Noxxic and OldRepublic.net, I don't miss the book at all.

If I could be bothered, I'd return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The Old Republic Explorers Guide (Prima Official Game Guides)
Used & New from: £0.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews