Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really in depth look at the "paleo" lifestyle
if you're interested in the paleo lifestyle and have read other books on the subject but want more depth then this is the book for you. you can tell that John Durant is from an academic background by the depth of his research and the massive amount of referencing he does. he's not a paleo nazi unlike some others who write/blog on the subject and states that this is not...
Published 11 months ago by Damon Little

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - not the book it promised to be
I was excited about receiving this book as the Paleo movement could do with a more serious look under the hood; something to go beyond the self help book format. The Paleo Manifesto starts strongly and Part One has some interesting observations, particularly those concerning gorillas in captivity and Durant's meeting with Dr Lieberman at the Peabody Museum.
From here...
Published 11 months ago by Mr Timothy C Young


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - not the book it promised to be, 20 Nov 2013
This review is from: Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health (Hardcover)
I was excited about receiving this book as the Paleo movement could do with a more serious look under the hood; something to go beyond the self help book format. The Paleo Manifesto starts strongly and Part One has some interesting observations, particularly those concerning gorillas in captivity and Durant's meeting with Dr Lieberman at the Peabody Museum.
From here the book deteriorates. The section on the Old Testament is interesting, but the point is over-laboured (this is a recurrent feature and the editor must share some of the blame). Parts of it, such as the deer hunt story, are extremely boring and leave the reader with nothing new. The rant against vegetarianism goes on for pages and pages (17 to be exact) and again fails to conclude anything interesting. I doubt many vegetarians will be reading this book. His chapter on exercise is a thinly disguised marketing plug for Crossfit and again he doesn't bring any original thinking to this topic.
The book is confusing, its too long considering the amount of actual content and its full of quips that read like in-jokes. It seems that just writing a book with "paleo" in the title is enough to boost sales, which is a shame, as these are topics that would benefit from a more serious appraisal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really in depth look at the "paleo" lifestyle, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Damon Little - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health (Hardcover)
if you're interested in the paleo lifestyle and have read other books on the subject but want more depth then this is the book for you. you can tell that John Durant is from an academic background by the depth of his research and the massive amount of referencing he does. he's not a paleo nazi unlike some others who write/blog on the subject and states that this is not another diet book. if you want to eat dairy, eat dairy. the principles are explained and also the scientific reasoning behind them. his writing on the other aspects of the lifestyle, crossfit, barefoot running and sustainable agriculture are also excellent. i don't know a great deal about crossfit but the barefoot running chapter is like a condensed version of the excellent born to run book by christopher mcDougall. in summary; not a lightweight skim through page turner but all the better for it. i would highly reccommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health (Hardcover)
A human history. Really makes you think. Absolutely a book everybody should read. Made me think new about a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous and readable book that offers a great perspective, 29 Oct 2013
By 
I. Clark "Ian 'tops of for techno'" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this. it's not a recipe book or a regurgitation of the paleo way or other well written books out there such as Rob Wolf's Paleo Solution, Mark Sisson's or Paul Jaminet's books that are all excellent too. It steps back and gives a really interesting historical and cultural overview. Recommended (I would also read those other books if you are looking for good health too :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read!!, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health (Hardcover)
I have read Rob Wolffs "Paleo Solution" and Mark Sissons "Primal Blueprint". Both of these are excellent books but I found myself at times, feeling like I wanted certain chapters to end as they were a bit dry and repetitive. This book however was very accessible and I powered through it at quite a pace. Durant is not a Paleo purist. His manifesto resembles a primal diet approach more than Paleo. I especially enjoyed the chapters on fasting and "Thermoregulation". I don't agree with Durants views on running for fitness, whether it is barefoot or whatever but that's what he is into so fair enough. Buy this if you want an easy approach to primal/paleo living and eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good intro to the Paleo Lifestyle, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Carl K (Douglas, Isle Of Man. U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health (Hardcover)
Very good intro to the Paleo Lifestyle, even if you know about ancestral health then this is still a nice addition to your collection :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health
Paleo Manifesto: Ancient Wisdom for Lifelong Health by John Durant (Hardcover - 22 May 2014)
Used & New from: £6.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews