Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Cohen Fans!, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
Everyman's Library series publish little gems. But from time to time a brilliant Diamond comes forth, and we have this in the 2011 publication of LEONARD COHEN: Poems and Songs.

Those of us who remember the publication, SMASH HITS and other magazines of the genre that used to publish the lyrics to our favourite songs will love this compilation of many of Cohen's Songs and poems.

Such favourites as "Suzanne" "So Long Marianne" "Famous Blue Raincoat" and "Bird on the Wire" are all here, along with many others that may not be so familiar but hold that sharp, piercing insight into life and the world through Cohen's eyes.

For fans who want to have Cohen's lyrics before them as they listen to his music this is a great little book. This Hardback edition is beautifully produced with a black silk bookmark, as befits a troubadour poet of Cohen's stature.

Even the dust-jacket has the great man looking his moody best.
Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POCKET PERFECTION, 31 July 2011
By 
pete shields "axepete" (Mansfield Notts England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
This is a delightful book in every sense of the word.
Small but beautifully formed.
A collection of poetic word by the premier lyricist of a generation.
I adore Leonard Cohen.
He has shared his eloquent art with us for lifetimes.

" History is a needle
for putting men to sleep
anointed with the poison
of all they want to keep " ( from On Hearing A Name Long Unspoken )

Songs like Suzanne, Bird On A Wire, All The Sisters Of Mercy, So Long Marianne, Who By Fire, Chelsea Hotel and Hallelujah are included in this " must have " collection of heart wrenching words by a true genius, plying his trade with his own unique brand of honesty, humour and passion.

I have many other Leonard Cohen books ( and all of his recordings ) but this wonderfully designed wee " Carry with you " publication is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He`s a poet and I didn`t realise, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
For a culturally challenged person as myself I found this book up lifting and powerful, if only I could have studied L Cohen poetry at school!!! Like his songs there is a poem for every mood, every life experience and I love the beauty of the poems, often the first few verses are idyllic and calm, ended with a darken twist of self doubt or vile for a love spurned or missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cohen fan, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
Recommended to Cohen lovers and good intro for those who know little about him It is a handy size for pocket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to have got this book, 16 Jan 2013
By 
g d garvey (Dorchester, Dorset, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
a gem. I am a great fan or Leonard Cohen and it is wondeful to read his words full of meaning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard in your heart and hands, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Maryann Bratschi "bookaholic" (switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
A beautiful little volume. Have given it as a gift of discovery and intimacy, Everyman editions have been a part of my life all along. The poems and songs can accompany you everywhere with ease, when traveling, on a walk or just before sleep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
This is a simply beautiful book. It has all the lyrics to my favourite songs of his, and most of the essential poems. My only complaint is that there are no poems from the Book of Longing in it (only lyrics to Ten New Songs)! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who adores Cohen or wants to begin adoring him. Regarding the comment about docking half of the Story of Isaac, there are only 4 'official' verses, which are all included.

Don't be put off buying this if you have his other books - even more of a reason!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, neat and convenient, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) (Hardcover)
I already have several books of Leonard's, so there is nothing new in this one BUT, this one is small and compact with a wide variety of his poems and readings.
Being pocket sized I was surprised there were so many poems included.
Handy beside the bed or on the coffee table to pick up anytime.
I would recommend any Leonard Cohen fan to have this little gem.
Also for anyone not knowing much about him, can learn a lot from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Master, 15 May 2011
A handy pocket book for us hardened fans to keep by the bedside,to dip into when we need the Masters words of comfort.Some mistakes have been made with some of the wording by the printers though(Im not the only one to have this problem)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just exellence in content, size and quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets)
Leonard Cohen: Poems and Songs (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets) by Leonard Cohen (Hardcover - 5 April 2011)
8.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews