Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down
I bought this title on my Kindle, after reading an extract in Wired magazine.

This book makes hacking thrilling. What I liked was that the author doesn't skip over the technical details of how the hacks work. You zoom right in, and discover how the attacks are accomplished.

For example, reading Kingpin was the first time I actually understood what a...
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by Mr I Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, but could do with more meat...
Great story, fairly well told, if you find the subject interesting.
Only 2 complaints: this would have been more interesting if it had more content and perhaps links out to safely hosted content for those wishing to dig further and I have to say that this deficiency makes it a little on the pricey side. Found the story fascinating though.
Published 19 months ago by Mr Ian Golding


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely fantastic insight into the other world. It is amazing how Kevin gets the scoop on these events he is a trusted and well respected member of all communities. A fantastic really even if you are not interest in the techy parts of computer security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 12 Jan 2013
By 
D. J. PITT "dpitt" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Paperback)
This is such a well written, interesting, enthralling read, i am left very keen to read a lot more from Poulsen.

No matter your technical knowledge you'll be able to follow the story easily.

Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 24 Dec 2012
By 
W. B. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have any interest in crime books, technology books, IT security or hacking (black or white) then you will enjoy reading this book. As another reviewers say, it doesnt just mention specific hacks and security loopholes but briefly explains how various hacks actually work. i.e Trojans, SQL injection, network security etc. Also explains how credit card cloning works. It is not a how-to book but an informative read if you have an interest in any of these topics. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, interesting, and a bit scary, 15 Oct 2012
By 
David Rand (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. As a software developer with experience building websites that accept card payments, I found this book very interesting. As someone who regularly made card payments over the Internet during the 90's, I found it slightly terrifying. Overall I enjoyed it -- I often found myself wanting to read "just one more chapter" when I should have gone to bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, gritty exciting stuff, 3 July 2012
By 
A. Limont-brown (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I took "Kingpin" on a recent holiday with me. I found it very hard to put down and was gripped from the very beginning. If the story wasn't true you would think that it painted a severely contrived and cliched story of "technically brilliant computer savante, kicked out of uni for hacking, recruited by the underworld after a short spell in jail".

What struck me about the book was the level of detail, especially around credit card fraud. This book could almost be called "the carders handbook" as it details specific machinery for making credit cards, watermarks, holograms and even methods for laundering dirty money/fraudulently purchased goods!

If you enjoyed Fatal System Error or The Cuckoo's Egg: Tracking a Spy Through the Maze of Computer Espionage then you will enjoy this.

Finally, in the words of the book, (paraphrased) "if you ever had your computer screen briefly flicker whilst accessing the internet, maybe it was Max Vision briefly assessing your screen to see if you had anything worth stealing"!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, and would make a good movie, 4 Nov 2011
Kingpin is a security book with a difference. Written by senior Wired Magazine editor and `Threat Level' blogger, Kevin Poulsen, this is the true story of the rise to criminal superpower of expert hacker, Max Butler, who single handedly enacted the most audacious hostile takeover of any criminal gang on the planet. However, this is not just a book on computer security; this book will appeal to anyone who enjoys a decent thriller - in fact, Poulsen's style of writing makes this tale more exciting than most of the Clancy and Ludlum books I've read over the past 10 years. Kingpin reads like a novel, using plot-enriching devices, such as cliffhangers and subplots to keep the reader interested, however, what's brilliant is the way Poulsen doesn't skimp on the technical detail. The hacks Butler used to gain access to credit card payment systems and rival gangs' servers, such as zero-day exploits and SQL injection attacks, are explained at code-level, but in a way that makes them accessible to the layman. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that I'd happily pass this book on to my father, knowing full well that he'd understand all of it and come away feeling like he's just watched the latest Hollywood blockbuster.

The premise of Kingpin is simple. It's the story of a disenfranchised computer programming expert who gets victimized by the Federal government in the US for hacking computer systems, even though his intentions were in the main (at least in the beginning) noble and honest. As a result, this incredibly intelligent computer genius takes a new path in life where he slowly spirals down into the depths of the criminal underworld, pitting his wits on one side against the most dangerous criminal gangs in Cyberspace, while on the other side he's fending off the FBI's crack cybercrime unit.

The story starts where all good stories should, right at the beginning. It paints a picture of Butler's youth, elucidating the underlying obsessive nature that fuels him to do what he does and become what he becomes. This early part of the tale shows his contempt for authority as a rebellious teenager, illustrating well the strength of his character and obsessive nature of his relationships. Poulsen does a good job in these early chapters of getting us to like Butler and in a way understand him better; let's face it we've all had a buddy or two over the years with some of these traits.

In a way what's sad about this story is that it shows how Butler tried on numerous occasions to get away from cybercrime and into `white-hat' work, where he could be a force for good in the computer security world. It almost seems that the fact he was so good at discovering security vulnerabilities, and as a result was persecuted by the US government, that he was driven to crime like some kind of alienated superhero (or at least that's the way Poulsen has written it).
The fun real starts halfway through the book when FBI agent, J. Keith Mularski, signs up to the CarderPortal as Master Splyntr (yes, that's right, the old dude from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), and starts the long slow attack to infiltrate the fraudulent credit card underworld. From here the chase really begins. I'm not going to give much more of the plot away since it's such a gripping read it would be a disservice to both you guys and the author to give away any spoilers, however, the highlight for me of the whole book is Chapter 25 which describes in detail the `Hostile Takeover' Butler inflicts on the entire global identify fraud underground. Poulsen goes into detail about Butler's use of clever SQL Injection attacks to take over the other carders' servers, rendering them inoperable, yet at the same time recreating all the user accounts from these other systems on his own. The impact was huge, summed up by, "Ten thousand criminals around the world, me with six-figure deals in the works; wives, children, and mistresses to support; cops to buy off; mortgages to pay; debts to satisfy; and orders to fill, were, in an instant, blind. Adrift. Losing Money." Butler then mas-emailed the entire underground through his own newly populated (and hardened) site, and the dawn of a new era in identity fraud had begun.

This really is a great book and credit to Poulsen for making it such fun as his skill in getting the readers to empathize with the genius antihero, Max Butler. It's a sad indictment on the federal government that they can't embrace these sort of likable rogues and make use of them in a way that is less corrupt.

Two words complete this review and sum up my feelings for this read... BUY IT.[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Engaging, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Ian Barber (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really didn't expect the book to be just as well written as it was, but it is as absorbing as any comparable work - for my money up there with Steven Levy's classic Hackers. Kevin Poulsen combined meticulous research with a gift for story telling, and is technical enough to satisfy readers familiar with the field, and accessible enough to be readable by anyone with an interest in computers. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop page turner, 5 Aug 2011
First off this book is brilliant, I would have to say that it is impossible to put down and stop reading. If you have an interest in computer security/computing you will enjoy this book. Unlike other books around similar topics this books delves into some of the technical aspects and if I was to say anything it would be that I would have like a little bit more focus on the technical side and for it to have been a little bit longer. However, that is just me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must read for anyone remotely interested in IT. I normally only read fiction but I must say the authors writing style is direct & captivates the reader from the first paragraph.
Fantastic book & surely a film script beckons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great highly enlightening read, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real eye opener on how cyber crime works and how you can become a victim so easily. Well written and entertaining. Could not put it down and have been boring all my friends to death with bits from this book down the pub. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground
8.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews