Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down
I bought this title on my Kindle, after reading an extract in Wired magazine.

This book makes hacking thrilling. What I liked was that the author doesn't skip over the technical details of how the hacks work. You zoom right in, and discover how the attacks are accomplished.

For example, reading Kingpin was the first time I actually understood what a...
Published on 9 Mar. 2011 by Mr I Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, but could do with more meat...
Great story, fairly well told, if you find the subject interesting.
Only 2 complaints: this would have been more interesting if it had more content and perhaps links out to safely hosted content for those wishing to dig further and I have to say that this deficiency makes it a little on the pricey side. Found the story fascinating though.
Published on 8 Dec. 2012 by Mr Ian Golding


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Paperback)
Gives such detail into the mind of Max Butler, from his early exploits all the way to his current incarceration. But not only that it explains how he went about exploiting systems, his motivations behind them as well as explains his relationships with co-conspirators.

Def a read for anyone interested in security or hacking from the .com boom to present day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Paperback)
I read this book over the course of about a month and a half. It was really intriguing and dealt with how a man's passion for light-hearted electronic mischief was both a gift and a curse for him. It had some pretty good revelations and a good sense of time passing through the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and researched, 29 April 2013
By 
Mark (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book explains how one hacker hacked an online black market selling stolen credit card details, fake IDs the lot. How he was tracked down and caught. It's a more focussed version of Misha Glennys Dark Market, which offers a broader view of the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely fantastic insight into the other world. It is amazing how Kevin gets the scoop on these events he is a trusted and well respected member of all communities. A fantastic really even if you are not interest in the techy parts of computer security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tight, well written and interesting, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writing is of a high standard and comes across as a lean and fluently-described dispassionate version of events. The author is impartial, knowledgeable and well-informed and he delivers an easy-to-read, intriguing tale of hi-tech cat-and-mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must read for anyone remotely interested in IT. I normally only read fiction but I must say the authors writing style is direct & captivates the reader from the first paragraph.
Fantastic book & surely a film script beckons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great highly enlightening read, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real eye opener on how cyber crime works and how you can become a victim so easily. Well written and entertaining. Could not put it down and have been boring all my friends to death with bits from this book down the pub. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
D. J. PITT "dpitt" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground (Paperback)
This is such a well written, interesting, enthralling read, i am left very keen to read a lot more from Poulsen.

No matter your technical knowledge you'll be able to follow the story easily.

Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating read and full of technical detail, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually read the original Wired story a few years ago and have been waiting for the right moment to dive into this book. So pleased I did, what a great read. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great details.., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very we'll researched and informative. Certainly recommended for any one studying card fraud practices. Also relevant for a normal user looking for a secure browsing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground
£9.63
In stock on July 8, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews