Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Very handy!
The patterns are super easy! I would recommend this book to all beginners. I have recently started to make my own dresses and this book helps a lot.
Published 23 months ago by L. Rodrigo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As a working manual
Not really that transparent and I found the sewing instructions are not very detailed.
But beautiful book to read and to have in your home collection.
Published 9 months ago by Natalia Blackmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Very handy!, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
L. Rodrigo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
The patterns are super easy! I would recommend this book to all beginners. I have recently started to make my own dresses and this book helps a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting adaptations, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
The book encapsulates a strong theme for each of the decades in the twentieth century and shows you how to reproduce the chosen elements. However, there are only one or two elements chosen for each decade, so if you wanted to focus on a particular era, this is too limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
T. S. Valera "Tammy" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all the dresses I haven't made any of the patterns yet but the instructions look easy
The only down side is that I bought it as a kindle and the patterns have to be printed and then stocked to make the pattern, it is quite a lot of work to do that, and I think that is what has been putting me off from starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice quality but nothing I was inspired to make immediately, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
I have a number of versatile patterns already so perhaps I was expecting a bit much, but I'd hoped to find at least one pattern that I'd want to get started on. On the plus side, there is a nice overview of each decade's trends and influences and it's intereting to see how much/little has changed in a century. It's a very nice quality book and the binding makes it very user friendly.

A couple of patterns require you to alter the patterns provided in order to make them up, and for anyone with the time/inclination to do this, you'd probably learn a lot about altering any pattern to create a new design in the process.

I would have liked more tips on altering patterns to fit perfectly - i.e. a separate section detailing how to alter to fit, say, a wider waist, smaller ribcage, would have helped. Perhaps the authors could have given the measurements the patterns are made to fit and suggesting how to amend. I realise this is covered in other books but the instructions on altering the patterns given are so accurate, I'd have liked to see this applied to personalising patterns too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
It's got different models to make, well presented too. I also like the models, really nice and modernised. I think they quite easy to make if you follow the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As a working manual, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
Not really that transparent and I found the sewing instructions are not very detailed.
But beautiful book to read and to have in your home collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
Gives great history of fashions and pattern blocks in the back with advice how to adjust for your size and preference. Perfect sewing inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
A lovely book, clear and enjoyable , Beautifull patterns that can be adapted to many different styles,use them again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
This little book is better than I expected. touching on many well known elements of vintage fashion. using Burda patterns with clear instructions on how to turn them into modern and wearable vintage for the home sewer . Love it and will recomend it to my students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book Overall, 27 Feb. 2014
This review is from: BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern (Hardcover)
This book was bought for me as a present. I think it is great if you find the prospect of using genuine vintage patterns a bit daunting.

It touches on each era with a few inspired designs from the time. Some great simple things such a fit and flare 1950s style dress using a lot less fabric than the original patterns and a nice 1960s style shift dress The designs are pretty and inspiring.

This book is not for you if you are a die hard vintage fan wanting reproductions clothing close to the originals as the 1930s items will disappoint. It is more in the style of rather than true to the era
Also it does require tracing and altering but as I tend to copy all my vintage patterns before using the extra work was not a problem for me personally.

Personally the only annoying thing was the European sizing by the hip size. Anyone who has used Burda patterns before won't find this an issue. I did have to alter the main frames a touch before cutting but that could be down to my odd shape rather the sizes?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern
BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern by Jamie Lau (Hardcover - 9 Nov. 2012)
£18.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews