Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Contemporary Knitting Book
I am really pleased with this knitting book. Too many are old fashioned but this one has very modern designs and colours and is notably different from the rest. It has a range of designs starting with the easy ones for new knitters, gradually increasing in complexity through to ones suitable for experienced knitters. The photographs are excellent, the patterns are very...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by Jojo

versus
38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 101 things to do with i-cord?
After reading all the "stunned" and "amazed" reviews i bought this book, and I'm sorry to say I'm a bit disappointed.
The book gives a few different square backgrounds to knit - not much more than you'd find in a stitch directory, or if knitting a slightly bigger tension swatch, and then a variety of things to do with decorations you then add on top. I thought that...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Miss Wendy Ackroyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Fun Imagination!, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
I have knitted and crocheted squares all my life but my creative juices never kicked in like this book illustrates. I am inspired and delighted by these patterns. Even though these are squares, they are definitely in thinking-out-of-the-box territory. I cannot recommend this book enough. It's fabulous for pro's and beginners alike. Add it to your collection, you will not be disappointed,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 28 Jan 2011
By 
Zeb (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
I am really delighted with this book. The patterns are easy to follow and there are so many ideas it would take months to try them all. There are a lot of advanced techniques but other simpler ideas too. The book itself is pleasing and well laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, but some mistakes, 16 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
Knitting Block by Block
I absolutely loved this book and have started making one of the patterns for my daughter. Sadly I have found mistakes in both the block and the pattern. Saying that, the pattern is relatively easy, if a little fiddly, that correcting the mistakes is no problem, but then I am a seasoned knitter.For such a high profile and glossy book I was a little surprised, as books of patterns are usually tested very rigorously. I nevertheless have purchased the book as I loved the patterns it contains and the fact that the blocks can be put together is such a variety of ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Ideas!, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
Love the ideas and inspiration that this book has provoked. The patterns and instructions are clear and easily understandable with what appears to be very intricate ideas actually being fairly straightforward, courtesy of the clarity of writing.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just arrived and WOW!, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
I am very impressed with the patterns in this book. I am also very relieved that the patterns are written out, as I received a pattern book recently from the USA and everything was in Charts with symbols on and I found it very confusing.
This book has both, so suitable for those who can read charts, and those who are used to written instructions.
The patterns are different, innovative and varied and I can't wait to start - just choosing will be a task in itself!
I am going to make soft play cubes - each side with a different texture, pattern and colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must!, 2 April 2011
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book. Having recently got back into knitting after a long absence, I was intrigued with this. When I knitted in my younger years block knitting was the traditional "granny squares". Not so any more! Wonderful designs and a totally new way of looking at things. This book has inspired me and these techniques and designs will be used for many items in the future. Buy this - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knitting in Squares, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
A lovely book to look at for ideas. Some of the abbreviations and techniques are different to British ones but are fairly easy to understand with practice. The idea of making items for wearing is not new but these are great, with a large number of patterns to make a choice from. The blanket/throws are superb, just make sure that the yarn used is the same thickness if you want an even finish to your work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars happily knitting away, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
a lovely book, really well set out and easy to follow. BUT.....not for the inexperienced knitter. I am currently making a throw from it and several of the squares expect you to use a set of 5 double ended needles PLUS a cable needle at the same time! oh, and the wools used are difficult - and very expensive - to get in uk. took a bit of trial and error to find a suitable alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn Block by Block, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book for those who want to try new skills in their knitting. It incorporates really simple designs with those that will test even the most experienced knitter. Being made block by block means that you can mix and match designs. You can make a cushion cover from as few as 4 designs or a bed spread from many more! The book is well written and beautifully illustrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Block by Block (Hardcover)
Nicky Epstein has done it again... Inspiring knit patterns that motivate you into trying new things. Just leafing thru the book was a treat, I've already started on a sampler knit quilt for my cabin. Thanks Nicky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting Block by Block
Knitting Block by Block by Nicky Epstein (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2010)
17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews