Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the 1 star review.
I am driven to write this just to offset the only other review ... I enjoyed it, I enjoy Max Barry's books, it is was it is, an entertaining story in a similar fashion to his other work. Buy it based on this, or don't buy it based on this rather than an anal critique and comparison to other writers work ... if you read the synopsis, that is what you get. If you are...
Published 16 months ago by Steve Jacklin

versus
4 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Fast-Paced Mediocre Cyborg Love Story
Cyborgs are one of the most recognizable tropes of science fiction, enshrined in the public imagination in films like "Robocop" and in television series like the "Six Million Dollar Man". Any diehard Trekkie or Whovian may speak eloquently about Borg drones and metallic Cybermen; deadly foes, respectively, of Star Trek's Starfleet flagship USS Enterprise and the Time Lord...
Published on 21 Oct 2011 by John Kwok


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the 1 star review., 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine Man (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)
I am driven to write this just to offset the only other review ... I enjoyed it, I enjoy Max Barry's books, it is was it is, an entertaining story in a similar fashion to his other work. Buy it based on this, or don't buy it based on this rather than an anal critique and comparison to other writers work ... if you read the synopsis, that is what you get. If you are looking at this book, or you have read his other work, then the subject matter must interest you, if you read it with that in mind I think you will not be disappointed.

It is worth 4 stars, I gave it 5 because the other reviewer tainted the rating with a some bizarre reasoning, massively unfairly in my opinion. Read the .com reviews for a better, fairer view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hope the future is like this :), 4 April 2014
By 
Peter Rizos (Athens, Attiki Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating view of the future and it's moral dilemmas, displayed in an often humorous fashion. This is not a very long book but it gets it's point across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as ever!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine Man (Kindle Edition)
A interesting idea and subject matter, wonderfully and addictively written; as with all his books! Definitely worth a read. In fact, try them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, light read, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine Man (Kindle Edition)
Fast-paced, thought provoking, but a little heavy-handed with the satire. The central character and his love-interest are engaging, despite, or maybe because of, their quirks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine Man (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)
Yes, please ignore the one star review. Machine man is a fast paced thriller which I cannot recommend highly enough. I was drawn to this after finding out Darren aronovsky had purchased the rights. If you like his style, it's not so far removed from this novel. A dark, twisted love story which begs you to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Fast-Paced Mediocre Cyborg Love Story, 21 Oct 2011
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Machine Man (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)
Cyborgs are one of the most recognizable tropes of science fiction, enshrined in the public imagination in films like "Robocop" and in television series like the "Six Million Dollar Man". Any diehard Trekkie or Whovian may speak eloquently about Borg drones and metallic Cybermen; deadly foes, respectively, of Star Trek's Starfleet flagship USS Enterprise and the Time Lord Doctor Who. It is no wonder then that Max Barry has offered his own contribution, a fast-paced Cyborg love story, "Machine Man". But his is a trite contribution best suited for the cinematic multiplex big screen, reading more like an extended Hollywood screen treatment than as an artistically decent science fiction novel (Not surprisingly, the book boasts that a screen adaptation is underway with Darren Aronofsky ("Black Swan") chosen as its film director; cinematic trivia which will no doubt warm the heart of Harry Knowles of [...]. It is a fast-paced, rather grotesque, take on the mad scientist/inventor trope, with its protagonist Charles Neumann as a representative example of a self-indulgent narcissist all too willing to "improve" his body by destroying limbs and replacing them with artificial ones of his own design. He soon finds a kindred spirit in prosthetist Lola Shanks, who, like Charles, is a cyborg too; neither one is as intriguing as legendary characters like Molly and Case in William Gibson's "Neuromancer", whose very character flaws are the key reasons why they are so compelling as protagonists. Barry opts all too often for morbid humor instead of character development, resulting in a tale best suited as a short skit on "Saturday Night Live" or "Monty Python". If there is anything truly redeeming in Barry's novel, then it should be seen as a sterling example of a science fiction novel written by someone unfamiliar with this genre's rich literary legacy, a missed opportunity in writing a genuine literary classic of a kind comparable to William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, Bruce Sterling or Michael Swanwick's greatest works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac33b7ec)

This product

Machine Man (Vintage Contemporaries)
Machine Man (Vintage Contemporaries) by Max Barry (Paperback - 9 Aug 2011)
Used & New from: 2.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews