Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


232 of 243 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves
This seems to me to be a book of two halves. In the first half, Ferris gives a step by step action plan for eliminating non-essential work, outsourcing a lot of the remaining work, and giving a detailed blueprint for designing, test-running and developing an 'automated' on-line businesses (or businesses) - that is, a business whereby most of the functions are performed by...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by R. Reed

versus
510 of 538 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Directions for Hiding from the Boss, Starting an Automated Internet Business, and Being a Global Vagabond
Did you know that if the trends of the last two centuries hold, everyone's workweek will be four hours by 2407? What will people do with all that free time? It's a good question that this book recommends you consider.

Mr. Ferriss does a favor for those who hate their jobs but cannot find work they like by explaining how you can still draw a salary while working...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 122 23 2430 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Instructional info on achieving automation but lack of detail, 25 Dec 2010
Unlike some self help books, Tim's "Four Hour Work Week" actually gives the reader tried and tested advice in a structured instructional form which can get results if followed correctly and with committment. The main problem with the book is that it often assumes that the reader has a background in business or business lingo. It fails to acknowledge that Tim comes from a background in business and the private sector, is white, male, middle class and went to Princeton. Are you seriously telling me that those factors do not give Tim a head start in achieving this automated lifestyle? However I find that to be the case with alot of writers on this subject, its no different with Richard Koch or Ramit Sethi, the former who holds a very right wing and unpleasant view of the world outlined in his book "The 80/20 Principle", a major influence on Tim. More specifically Tim fails to discuss in detail the process of drop shipping let alone fulfillment houses for those who are completely illiterate, and how an e-commerce business can utlise such services. The fact that there are books on the drop shipping subject alone brings us to the question, why did'nt Tim include a chapter on that in his book as it is clear that drop shipping is a huge chunk in the process of trying to achieve the kind of automated income and lifestyle that Tim is promoting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the nay sayers!, 18 Dec 2010
Forget the negative reviews! I have implemented many of the concepts in this book with great effect and continue to do so. Dont look at it as a "how to" to be followed word for word but as a guide out of the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but with many exaggerated examples, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Initially I got this book as a present because the person who gave it to me got bored and stopped reading it.

Some people may not like this book because the examples are way too exaggerated and in fact I still hear some people mocking the book.
However this book has really been useful for me and in fact I started one my businesses right after getting inspired by this book and things are going quite well thanks to the advises from author.

If you want to change your chip, this would be one book to read but you have to be open minded and not to get carried away with the exaggerated examples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you a different perspective on your life... worth it for that alone, 26 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Take a different look at how you work, then change your life. This book is brilliant. Even if you don't follow everything it suggests, it will help you gain a different perspective on what you do.

Jason Sullock, Author of 555 Quick n Dirty Marketing Tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking book, 8 Jan 2010
By 
Chris Newham "Milo42" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book really made me think, while I am not sure I have mastered all of Mr Ferris' action steps to automating my life, he's opened my eyes to the need to create income streams that don't require ME to be involved in the equation. Growing up as a Bricks and Mortar Retail brat, and now as a project manager, it is hard for me to envision an enterprise I would create that didn't revolve around me. This book, does exactly that. I am already benefiting from some of Tim's advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A different view on life !!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Want Out..." Neo: The Matrix, 3 Aug 2007
By 
David Rothwell (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Prepare to be reborn...

Potentially the most dangerous and liberating book you could read, offering possibilities you didn't even realise you wanted.

Reading this gave me new insights into exactly why I left my previous two Corporate jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2430 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich
Used & New from: £4.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews