Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book
As I already have the last two books by Doris Chan I am an avid fan. This book has veered away slightly from the norm. She has introduced new techniques such as broomstick, tunisian and hairpin lace which may not suit all tastes but I welcome the chance to try out something new.
I love the top down construction of her garments and love the fact that there is so...
Published on 23 July 2010 by The Urban Gypsy

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite disappointing really!
Having made quite a few of Doris Chan's designs, and liked them, I found this book a little disappointing. Very few things I would look good in personally, and even the 101 section at the back, which laid out how to make and fit the garments, didn't contain anything I didn't already know from having made several of the items in Everyday Crochet. Was hoping for more 'lace'...
Published on 15 Jun. 2010 by J. Velykorodnyy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
As I already have the last two books by Doris Chan I am an avid fan. This book has veered away slightly from the norm. She has introduced new techniques such as broomstick, tunisian and hairpin lace which may not suit all tastes but I welcome the chance to try out something new.
I love the top down construction of her garments and love the fact that there is so little stitching up once the garments are finished.
If you want a 'normal' crochet book then perhaps this one won't be for you but if you have an open mind to try new things then I would recommend as a start to new techniques.
If you belong to Ravelry then there are great forums where you can find help with any problems that you might encounter whilst using any of Doris Chan designs which is something not many other designers take the trouble to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic Doris chan book, 13 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
Another crochet book from Doris Chan that is choc full interesting and wearable LACE crochet garments. Yes a slip strapy vest or T is required under the clothes but that is the nature of lace crochet garments .
I have made 2 items from this book already and the fit and drape of the items is fantastic.
As a inexperienced crocheter I feel Doris has taught me a huge amount with her brilliant informative top down seamless techniques and in this book has introduced me to new techniques such as broomstick, hairpin etc.

Great book it has not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful insight into crochet, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
I have several free patterns by Doris Chan and this is the second book I've purchased. I love the designs and the ideas behind them, but most of all I love the way she teaches you to understand crochet better, to be able to adjust a garment and change what you want to and still end up with an elegant and wearable item for your wardrobe.

This book is more teaching technique wrapped up in practically working through a project. It's well worth working through each project, as you glean so much insight as you do it. Doris Chan is very much about making her readers independant and confident crocheters, who are happy to experiment.

Doris is a great proponent of top-down crochet, and lays each project out in a clear and accessible way, with diagrams for visual learners, and excellent and humourous tips and tuition. You can see how one pattern leads into the next pattern, and how adjusting one project creates a lovely variation or a whole new design.

This is pretty much the closest you'll get to a real "design workshop" in crochet. Her book Everyday Crochet is another excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite disappointing really!, 15 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
Having made quite a few of Doris Chan's designs, and liked them, I found this book a little disappointing. Very few things I would look good in personally, and even the 101 section at the back, which laid out how to make and fit the garments, didn't contain anything I didn't already know from having made several of the items in Everyday Crochet. Was hoping for more 'lace' style things. Not as inspiring as some of the other things on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few nice items, 14 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
The book is divided into sections, each dealing with a different type of crochet. I thought that this was interesting, and encouraged you to try different techniques. I have made one item from the book, and it fits well. Construction and stitch were very similar to 'everyday crochet'. The patterns tend to use slightly thicker yarns than regular lace-type patterns, and some of the lace patterns are truly 'exploded'. I think these pattterns are less successful, and the finished work is quite clumsy. I like Doris chan's books very much, and wanted to like this one more, but found that The patterns in this one where much less successful than in her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 31 May 2010
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
I think it's a matter of taste but except for one or possibly even two patterns for me there is barely anything in this book that is wearable - a slip, tee-shirts etc required under most of them. I'm sure that there will be some readers who will absolutely love the styles in this book but I was hoping for more elegant patterns, perhaps even slightly traditional with a modern twist but definitely wearable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful designs. Well worth the money spent, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
Fabulous book by Doris Chan!

I have no idea when I will be able to actually make any of these items, but I've read through it and the instructions are very clear. If you want to learn a new skill, get this book.

Incorporates a variety of crochet techniques, including Tunisian, Hairpin Lace, etc.

Beautiful designs.

Well worth the money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
Very happy with the service. The patterns inside nicely explained, even the intricate ones they don't seem hard to make when you have the steps explained so clearly. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
Very nice book. Looking forward to trying out some of the patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Difficulty in finding wool, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Lace Innovations (Paperback)
Good book but difficult to find the right wool in UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crochet Lace Innovations
Crochet Lace Innovations by Doris Chan (Paperback - 7 Jun. 2010)
£13.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews