Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SECRET SERVICE OVERVIEW WITH STORIES AND GOSSIP
Four and a half INFORMATIVE Stars!! Loaded with historical data, inside stories, and trivia that is very informative and in some cases very personal, this book ultimately delivers an overview of the history of the Secret Service from early presidential administrations right up to the 21st Century status of the Secret Service that is somewhat troubling. Beyond that we get...
Published on 6 Aug 2009 by RSProds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book !
A very disappointing read. The author takes tiny examples of gossip and expands them to fill the book. The bulk of the book is a run through secret service procedures again with heavily expanded anecdotes and snippets of gossip. A waste of money .
Published 19 months ago by Thomas Sawyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SECRET SERVICE OVERVIEW WITH STORIES AND GOSSIP, 6 Aug 2009
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Four and a half INFORMATIVE Stars!! Loaded with historical data, inside stories, and trivia that is very informative and in some cases very personal, this book ultimately delivers an overview of the history of the Secret Service from early presidential administrations right up to the 21st Century status of the Secret Service that is somewhat troubling. Beyond that we get tidbits of confirming gossip on people such as JFK, LBJ, Ted Agnew, and others that are extremely unflattering and revelatory. There is more on recent and current presidents, families, and staff that will titillate those who want inside stories, however brief. There is some information that is also laugh-out-loud funny.

The author says early 'pre-Secret Service' political attitudes toward presidential protection probably got 3 presidents shot before the era of heavy protection arrived. Heavy presidential protection was added almost as an "after thought" to the crime-busting dutieis of the Secret Service following those 3 incidents. Then came the advent of service refinements, such as the White House Police. The author covers a number of revelations about well-known events such as: the "biggest gunfight in Secret Service history", more information on what happened before, during, and after the JFK assassination, the "Fiddle & Faddle"threesome mistresses, the midnight peacock, and so on, right up the Obama administration which the author says is more of a challenge than the others for one particular somber reason. This is an eye-opening, unforgettable look at the Secret Service that, while not definitive, certainly extends the Secret Service body of literature. Highly Recommended. Four and a half RIVETING Stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book !, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very disappointing read. The author takes tiny examples of gossip and expands them to fill the book. The bulk of the book is a run through secret service procedures again with heavily expanded anecdotes and snippets of gossip. A waste of money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Gossip, 23 Aug 2012
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the President's Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect (Paperback)
This is really just a collection of anecdotes and observations about various presidents and their families. The chapters are fairly short, which makes it very readable and easy to put down and pick up. There are a few juicy titbits about some of the presidents, telling me stuff I wasn't aware of before, particularly about LBJ and Jimmy C, both of whom seem to have been nasty pieces of work.

I'd have liked a bit more detail about the types of people who become agents and the training they go through, but it was interesting learning how the various presidents treated these people, with George and Laura Bush coming out best.

The book drags in the last 3 or 4 chapters, where the author drones on about budget cuts and how hard done by the agency is in comparison to the FBI, but other than that I enjoyed reading it and am tempted to look at some of his many other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insights into those the Secret Service protects, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: In the President's Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect (Paperback)
Both my partner and I read this book. It's very entertaining and informative. Unfortunately, it does occasionally veer off into political ramblings about the 'poor Secret Service' which is generally under-staffed and under-equipped according to the author and his sources. I can only assume that this is the price the author paid for getting interviews with some high-ranking Secret Service officials. Still, a great read all in all, offering interesting insights to US presidents and their families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The President's Secret Service, 27 May 2014
By 
Mr. Newby Stanley (GREAT GRIMSBY, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the President's Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect (Paperback)
Good reading. It tends to prove the point - Power corrupts, and Ultimate Power corrupts Ultimately. All the secrets out in the open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its a bit of a kiss and tell storey, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written from the perspective of the secret service and and goes on a bit too much about how they are not valued enough. Looks at weakensses in the presidents and by contrast how the secret service covers up their flaws
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the President's Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect (Paperback)
The first few chapters make you gasp but the latter ones are not as meaty. Still, well worth buying for some amazing revelations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good easy read., 22 Mar 2014
By 
R. S. Mathews (Condom, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the President's Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect (Paperback)
This is not a great book, but I was glad I read it. It is not the Secret Service that held my interest, but the fascinating insights into the characters of the Presidents and their wives. I read it in one sitting and much enjoyed it. I would have give a higher score, but reflected that, in the universe of literature, there is so much great work that I could not put this up there with them. But I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the President's Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect (Paperback)
Saw some reviews of this book. Lived up to expectation. Very revealing. Couldn't put it down & read it in a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 14 Sep 2013
For someone whose entire American History knowledge comes from what I have picked up whilst watching The West Wing, this book was really interesting. I am shocked about what the Presidents are really like behind closed doors. I can tell that the author had an agenda but overall I found it a real eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the President's Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect
8.93
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews