Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back with a flurry of cussing and incompetence
A return for the series that I never thought would, given the seeming closure at the end of 'Captains Outrageous', Joe Lansdales awesome Hap n Leonard are back - fans of the duo rejoice!
This isn't the best in the series by any means (I'll leave that honour to Rumble Tumble) but it's a hilarious romp through the East Texas badlands and is as much fun as you would...
Published on 19 Oct 2009 by Gremill

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Ride
This is a very poor addition to a great series that had come to a natural end with Rumble Tumble. (Let's not mention the disappointing Captains Outrageous.) Vanilla Ride feels very underpowered. The wisecracking seems gratuitous and there is too much of Hap's soul-searching about being a violent man. There are none of the truly horrible and colourful characters that made...
Published on 11 Oct 2011 by D. G. Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back with a flurry of cussing and incompetence, 19 Oct 2009
A return for the series that I never thought would, given the seeming closure at the end of 'Captains Outrageous', Joe Lansdales awesome Hap n Leonard are back - fans of the duo rejoice!
This isn't the best in the series by any means (I'll leave that honour to Rumble Tumble) but it's a hilarious romp through the East Texas badlands and is as much fun as you would expect it to be, being back in the company of the eminently lovable badboys who just want to do some good. All of the vital ingredients are present and correct: crackling dialogue, brilliant insults, bad-attitude, action, death and vanilla cookies. Lansdale retains his ability to describe wince-inducing fight-scenes and action better than 95% of writers out there and the title character is an interesting addition to the world that now looks like, saints-be-praised, continuing after the conclusion of this.
Fans of the series will lap this up, newbies should go back to the start of the series and work your way through them. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Hap and Leonard, 18 Mar 2011
By 
D. Moore (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At long, long last, East Texas' finest - Hap Collins and Leonard Pine are back. Hap is a white trash, good ol' boy, with an eye for the ladies, but a penchant for bunny slippers; Leonard is a black, gay, martial arts expert and Vietnam veteran. Together they've been through many years of dead end jobs, romantic troubles, fights, fun and friendship. In this outing, they agree to help an old friend, whose granddaughter is living with a local, small-time drug-dealer. A little skirmish later and our heroes have rescued the girl. Job done. Unfortunately, the drug dealer is tied to the Dixie Mafia - a rather scary bunch of guys with a seemingly never-ending array of assassins, all of whom now seem to be after Hap and Leonard. A great mix of viloence, thrills, humour, and added philosophy from Hap. This is one of my very favourite series, and Joe Lansdale is a truly brilliant writer, and a wonderful storyteller. As I wrote those first lines out for this summary, I wanted to get the book off the shelf and read it all over again. Love it, love it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hap and Leonard hit folk - again., 23 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. R. D. Turner (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Hap and Leonard books. The banter between the characters has me laughing out loud and annoying my wife. I discovered them a couple of years ago and I am sad to say that I have now read all of them - there are no more to enjoy for now.

I bought this one on sight. Is it any good? Well this depends on if you have read any of the others. If not then start with Savage Season, then Mucho Mojo and then pick them at random. This is not the best in the series but better than Bad Chilli or Captains Outrageous. The plot is paper thin but who cares? This is fun not literature. The jokes are good and the violence just on the cartoon side of gratuitous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Ride!, 21 April 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two friends and 'professional' trouble causers agree to help an old friend and end up getting involved with The Dixie Mafia after they bust up a trailer full of low~lifes and pour their cocaine down a toilet. The Dixie Mafia don't take too kindly to this display of disrespect and send an assortment of hitmen and tough guys to do in our heroes. Unfortunately for the bad guys though, our heroes are tougher than they look..
Having been starved of any Hap and Leonard stories for ages, I decided it was finally time to get round to reading this one. I'd read all the others in the series up to this book a long time ago and have had this near the top of my 'to do' list since it came out!
Anyway, is it any good? Yes, is the answer.
If you're a fan of Lansdale's style (who for my money is one of the best modern authors writing today ~ I've yet to read anything by him I didn't like!) you cant go wrong. There's plenty of asses bein whupped and some great dialogue to back it up. Okay, its not 'Bad Chilli' or 'Rumble Tumble' good, but for my money, is a solid addition to the series. I particularly enjoyed the trailer fight and the tussle they have with 'The Big Guy' out to man~mangle them! In the end its a solid read which fans should enjoy.
By the way if you're new to the series, you could read this independently but I would definitely recommend starting with Savage Season at the beginning, and from there, the books pretty much improve as the series progresses..
I keep checking for any news of the film version of Savage Season, which Lansdale was writing the script for but it seems to have been put on the back burner! Which is annoying!
4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missed you guys, 9 Aug 2011
There's eight years between this & Captains Outrageous the previous book in the series. Glad to say nothing much has changed as Hap & Leonard get in too deep when helping friend, Marvin, save his Granddaughter from a life of drugs. Things start bad & then get worse as they are forced to help the FBI find two missing kids & a bag of Dixie Mafia money. Violent, slapstick & hilarious all at the same time this series just keeps on entertaining. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Hap and Leonard yet!!, 21 July 2009
By 
Mr. P. Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It usually takes me a while to read a book but I finished Vanilla Ride in a day, could not put it down.

Can be read without reading the other Hap and Leonard novels but I recommend reading them all as they are all excellent and you really grow to love the characters. I really cannot praise this book enough.

It is a shame Joe Lansdale does not have a British publisher as he is one of the best story tellers out there and you cannot really go to anyone else for Mojo tales and a slice of Texas as good as he does it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for all crime fiction fans with a rough and ready sense of humour, 13 May 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If Lansdale could churn out a daily dose of Hap and Leonard stories, I could quite happily read nothing but them and be satisfied. In my view, Hap and Leonard are the best double act in crime fiction today, and Lansdale the best proponent of comic crime. I loved Vanilla Ride from the first page to the last - my jaw ached from grinning so much. The writing is excellent - expressive, taut, quick paced, funny - and the dialogue is first class. The characterisation is a little caricaturish at times, but that goes with the territory with these kinds of novels. The plot is well constructed and it would easily translate to the big screen. I've nothing bad to say about it. If you have a rough and ready sense of humour then read this book - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Ride, 11 Oct 2011
By 
D. G. Kennedy (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vanilla Ride (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard) (Paperback)
This is a very poor addition to a great series that had come to a natural end with Rumble Tumble. (Let's not mention the disappointing Captains Outrageous.) Vanilla Ride feels very underpowered. The wisecracking seems gratuitous and there is too much of Hap's soul-searching about being a violent man. There are none of the truly horrible and colourful characters that made the first books in the series such a pleasure. Tonto's life story reads like an attempt to pad out a rather thin plot. And Lansdale seems to have forgotten the earlier books: we're told at least twice that Brett is a stranger to real violence. Has he really forgotten what she got up to in Rumble Tumble?! If you're new to the Hap and Leonard books: don't start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny sharp and tense, 24 July 2011
By 
Dh Rees - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vanilla Ride (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard) (Paperback)
Another wonderful ride along with Hap and Leonard. Great plot, the best one liners, great atmosphere and a taste of Texas.

Joe R Lansdale is one of the best in the business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars back in the badlands again, 18 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanilla Ride (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard) (Paperback)
Back to familiar territory again with Hap and Leonard and the usual madness and gunplay, one liners and sarcasm as good as ever. An entertaining read. Good to be riding with the boys again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa742e864)

This product

Vanilla Ride (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard)
Vanilla Ride (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard) by Joe R. Lansdale (Paperback - 27 July 2010)
8.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews