Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different and exciting
There aren't many recipe books that come along which don't cover ground that's already done to death. That's why I've managed to curb my habit. But the Momofuku book is something else. David Chang, who owns a string of restaurants in NYC, has a style all of his own, and it's here between the covers so we don't have to fly 7 hours every time we fancy a taste of it...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by Coco

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Momofuku
Had high hopes when purchasing this book but was disappointed. Recipes are hard to follow and contain a few strange ingredients. Would not recommend to others.
Published 20 months ago by Ms.Toby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different and exciting, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
There aren't many recipe books that come along which don't cover ground that's already done to death. That's why I've managed to curb my habit. But the Momofuku book is something else. David Chang, who owns a string of restaurants in NYC, has a style all of his own, and it's here between the covers so we don't have to fly 7 hours every time we fancy a taste of it.

All growers of cruciferous vegetables should bow down to him and thank him for making sprouts sexy and cabbage irresistible. I can't wait to try my hand at the slow-cooked eggs - the directions for which are clear and accessible. As they are for kimchi. The recipe sections are interspersed with David's story, which is a real story, not some silly, fluffed-up fairy story. It's well-written and reminds me a bit of AAGill's extended essay in The Ivy Cookbook; something I will return to and re-read for pleasure.

If you're a foodie it's a treat, but if you like cooking Asian food, it's a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicously eleborate, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
I'd have to say I'm biassed, since I'm Korean myself, that is also the reason I bought this cookbook. It's not a Korean cookbook, although it does have some Korean recipes. Most are or have some Asian background to them. For some real authentic Korean cooking, you should try making the kimchi. For this recipe (and some others) you will need some Korean ingredients. This might be quite difficult to find for most people though. If you're in the London area, just go to New Malden, where you'll find several small Korean supermarkets very easily. But I don't know for the rest of the country. A lot of the recipes take a lot of time, which you can wonder whether it's worth it, but you won't know till you try. Another note is to say there is some swearing in the book. I bought the book after having read the reviews on the US based Amazon, and some people say it's a lot. I don't think it's a lot and I'm not bothered by it, but if you are, you'd better not buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original and delicious food, capable of being cooked by an amateur., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
Original and delicious food, capable of being cooked by an amateur. Also has some interesting narrative as well as the recipies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super book, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for someone but once I had a crafty look through I was hooked, it's lovely book, as a recipe book AND an interesting read. I received the Momofuku "Milk' recipe book which is equally fascinating - i am converted and would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it but some of the ingredients are complicated, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
I bought this book as new having had it in my wish list for a while. After the long delay, I am pleased with the book- its beautifully done, pictures look great etc and the story of the restaurant opening and other restaurants in the group is interesting.

I would love Momofuku to open over in the UK so we could try their cuisine. If you are looking to buy this book, you should be aware that some of the recipes are quite complicated and require some obscure ingredients such as Dashi (a stock) however I have just found you can buy via Amazon.co.uk !!

However to be fair to the author, having bought books by David Thompson and Luke Nguyen, the search for ingredients is par for the course when trying to cook authentic Asian food - you need to plan in advance and set aside time to cook at a leisurely pace and the meals will be enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go for it, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
For anyone who loves ramen noodles and want to know what all the fuss is about regarding this New York restaurant: Momofuk then this is a fantastic buy.

David Chang using simple ingredients has produced cookery book with a down to earth style and recipes you can create at home. It's a beautiful well designed book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars food porn with attitude, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
buy this and read it when you're eating your mediocre mid-week meal to inspire you to greater plates. i'm not a fan of korean food but i like new york food and chang's food and recipes are certainly modern american. the dishes combine techniques and influences of various cultures, and frankly it's a great story to read about how chang ended up where he is now. with hunter-s.-thompson-esque delivery (minus the class a stuff)

even the cover makes it a pretty addition to your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Momofuku, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
Had high hopes when purchasing this book but was disappointed. Recipes are hard to follow and contain a few strange ingredients. Would not recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sending this back, 28 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
I received this two days ago and have viewed all the recipes and read some sections in detail. The book is OK, but nothing really special. The most interesting thing was their use of "meat glue", though this is not that new and I have tried it myself (in any event I think there is only one actual recipe that uses this technique). Going through the index there are relatively few recipes containing main ingredients such as chicken, pork, beef, or even fish (in particular if you limit it to main course type dishes). In contrast there are loads of listings for pickled vegetables and Kimchi. I have scores of Asian cookbooks with a number also including Korean recipes plus many that are fusion. I have given this book a 2 star rating because it isn't a bad cookbook, so does not deserve only one. On the other hand for me it isn't good enough to go higher. If you don't have many cookbooks, then by all means add it to your collection and I am sure you would rate it higher, but for me I'd rather get a refund (minus the postage back) and use the money to buy a book that I'd like to have in my collection and that I'll take off the shelf every once in a while - not just to cook with but to read through again and again to get new ideas and mark a page for inclusion in a future dinner party. I just could not see doing that with this book. It would just gather dust on the shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Bad pseudo-fusion cuisine', 29 Jan 2013
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
his words, and unfortunately I have to agree. I was looking forward to this book,went to the local bookstore and skimmed through most of it, and was disappointed. 'Bad pseudo-fusion cuisine' it really is, sadly. lots of bling, lack of cookery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d4c144)

This product

Momofuku
Momofuku by David Chang (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: 19.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews