Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


226 of 237 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves
This seems to me to be a book of two halves. In the first half, Ferris gives a step by step action plan for eliminating non-essential work, outsourcing a lot of the remaining work, and giving a detailed blueprint for designing, test-running and developing an 'automated' on-line businesses (or businesses) - that is, a business whereby most of the functions are performed by...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by R. Reed

versus
492 of 518 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Directions for Hiding from the Boss, Starting an Automated Internet Business, and Being a Global Vagabond
Did you know that if the trends of the last two centuries hold, everyone's workweek will be four hours by 2407? What will people do with all that free time? It's a good question that this book recommends you consider.

Mr. Ferriss does a favor for those who hate their jobs but cannot find work they like by explaining how you can still draw a salary while working...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trivial Diversion.., 23 Jun 2008
By 
The book is fun for the first 150 pages, then tails off into quite a tedious read. By then, all the book seems to be is famous quotes mixed with adverts for websites, glued together with vague case studies.

The chapter on faking expertise was very amusing, but I read the book so I guess the joke is on me.

It would serve as a holiday book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Inpirational, OH MY GOD YES!, 6 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, the title I gave this review is a wee bit exaggerated, but this book actually has changed the way I work, both in my job and at home.

Some of the key take-aways from this book:
- If you dislike your job so much that you can only look forward to retirement, you are in the wrong job
- Find ways to automate as many tasks as possible. Outsource, outsource, outsource.
- Stop doing the things that don't add value. Look for the 20% that makes an actual difference.

There's an entire section aimed at budding entrepreuneurs that I skipped over quickly as I have no intetion of starting my own business. But if you're looking for ways to cut out the waste in your life and find time for yourself, then this might be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 62 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous book for the 'week' minded., 6 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this by mistake. It was recommended by a top reviewer and he implied it was a philosophical work. It's not!
The first few pages held my interest but as soon as Tim started on about goal-setting spreadsheets it became clear this was just another silly self-help book.
It's a dangerous book because like the truly awful and silly THE SECRET it makes the feeble minded believe that they can become millionaires and enjoy a dream lifestyle by following Tim's advice. They can't. They can't because Tim is an alpha male with a massive ego and a ruthless single-minded approach to life. He would be successful at anything he tried because he is a born winner. You cannot become a born winner. The clue is in the word 'born'.
Tim's suggestion is that you create a 'product' and then 'outsource' all the work. Now that is a dream: a fantasy.
In reality Tim IS the product. He is a lifestyle guru. You can even see him demonstrate how to 'peel a boiled egg' on You Tube.
He really believes that we need him to show us how to do this! (he also demonstrates how to defend yourself from an attack - by raising your arms to protect yourself!')
Unless you are a human dynamo with a great business mind and a massive ego you will NEVER achieve what Tim is selling. And that is dangerous because all the 5 star reviewers here will waste their time trying to be Tim clones and life is too precious to waste - which is Tim's point as he tries to sell the dream of riches and free time.
Of course there are many truisms in this book and some good points (you must add a lot of truth to make a lie believable) but it is an illusion to imagine that you can just dream up a 'product' and simply 'outsource'. Ask any entrepreneur. All Tim's examples feature other highly motivated and brilliant alpha males.
I doubt Tim even wrote this book. I sense he gave the outline to a professional writer and 'outsourced' the writing. As usual Tim won. He will have made a fortune out of human weakness! no doubt in less than a 4-hour week.
JP :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Only for those that really want to get FOCUSED, 12 May 2008
By 
S. Nuzum "AdventureTime" (Southamton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book at the start of this year (2008) and it's totally changed my way of thinking.

Comments such as 'it's not millions that we want, but the experiences that we believe only millions can buy', that help get you thinking. Also there are plenty of people earning a good wage, although do they have any time to enjoy life? What we all want is the TIME to do the things that excite us - that requires an automated system, he helps you form this, but first:

When you define those adventure holidays or trips around the world, you realise that they don't cost that much!!! But by actually DEFINING it you start to focus on HOW you can get it - within 6 months of course.

You work out what money you need per day in order to live your dream lifestyle. Then you work towards getting that: 4 step process
DEFINITION
ELIMINATION
AUTOMATION
LIBERATION

He provides lots of recommendations and useful tips on using the internet throughout the book and highlights the vast opportunities we now have within the new 'digital age'.

Great book for anyone who wants to improve their life and get more focused in obtaining the experiences that you most want.

I'm a budding entrepreneur and it's helped me out very much! I'm presently automating my life and planning a number of adventures including cycling the US, Travelling to Spain for a month of skydiving, Diving with sharks, adventures in the Amazon, and many more! I'm in the process of starting a blog, feel free to contact me for further guidance! Search Sean Nuzum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful life changing read!, 19 Aug 2008
Tim Ferriss has really hit the nail on the head with this book. I, like many others I am sure, have been preoccupied with trying to find a golden million making idea, all the while slogging it out in the 9 to 5. Alas, those ideas are rare and Tim Ferriss enlightens us with the fact that it is the 'millionaire lifestyle' we all covet as opposed to the millionaire material items. He admits that those items such as fast cars, big houses etc are nice but it is time, quality time at that, which is so precious to us. Time to relax and time with our loved ones. That and really seeing the world by planning 'mini-retirements' as opposed to short holidays so you can really take in the culture and heart of where you are rather than just sit by a pool. However, that is also fine if that is what you want to do!

Learning new skills is also emphasised in this book, and scheduling time to expand our minds and learn. He really focuses on achieving your chosen lifestyle and having a business, but not a business which you have to spend 12 hours a day cosseting, a business that in essence 'looks after itself'. Outsourcing the main administration and dogsbody aspects of your chosen business is suggested to leave you time to really live your life.

The book is packed full of inspirational ideas and really got me buzzing with enthusiasm. I have read many books like this one but none have made me sit up and say 'yes, this is not how things have to be - I can do this!'. A week later and I have come up with my plan, and have handed my notice in! After all we only get one shot at this life....so adhere to the warning that is on the back...don't read this book if you don't want to quit your job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put it in your basket!, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has added hours to my week!
I didn't find all the ideas useful, and yes the book is padded out with the authors ideas of how to fill your newly found time (non of which interested me) but its well worth having in your collection.
Some of the ideas are so simple that I kicked myself; I have since spoken to many very successful people and found non that have used them but all thought they were great!
Even if this book only gives you back an hour of two a week, It will be well worth the cover price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May be imperfect, but may open new horizons, 17 Feb 2008
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich (Hardcover)
Takes thinking on outsourcing and simplifiying our lives even further;
- never read a newspaper
- better to eliminate or automate than to delegate
- have a virtual assistant do parts of your job for you, and parts of your personal life (apologise to your wife for you!)
- learn to NOT finish a book that you have already got what you wanted from.
It's fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but a few sticking points., 11 Aug 2007
By 
Mrs. Vanessa Turner "T Turner" (Leics, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich (Hardcover)
Focus of book is starting your own business and then automating it.
Its good but fairly basic and doesn't offer you any options :
its tim's way or the wrong way.

Gives lots of good advice but doesn't really deal with any important issues like finding the startup costs and practically all references are for america.

On the downside, a few things I didn't like about it:
+ Morally questionable ways of becoming an expert
+ Tries to upsell his other products

On upside:
+ Straight Forward
+ Simple Suggestions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Directions for Hiding from the Boss, Starting an Automated Internet Business, and Being a Global Vagabond, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich (Hardcover)
Did you know that if the trends of the last two centuries hold, everyone's workweek will be four hours by 2407? What will people do with all that free time? It's a good question that this book recommends you consider.

Mr. Ferriss does a favor for those who hate their jobs but cannot find work they like by explaining how you can still draw a salary while working very few hours (by hiding from the boss and using the 80/20 rule -- 80 percent of results come from 20 percent of efforts). His method is deliberately manipulative (possibly fraudulent is another possible description that comes to mind), so you'll have to watch out that you don't get caught or you might have to repay some of that salary.

What do you do while you are hiding from the boss? Mr. Ferriss recommends starting a highly profitable online retail business that's so highly automated it can be operated in only four hours a week. You'll find details of how to do this that matches what I receive in lots of spam e-mails every week.

After you've got half a million a year rolling in by selling expensive items at a high profit margin, Mr. Ferriss provides lots of advice on how to take six-month miniretirements in cheap places around the world (Argentina and Berlin are his favorites). I'm still puzzled by why Berlin can be a cheap place to live. The rest of Germany when I've visited certainly isn't.

The book's come-on explains how Mr. Ferriss has accomplished all kinds of world-class things to boost his credibility. Unfortunately, you'll find that it isn't always classy how Mr. Ferriss does this. For example, he won the Gold Medal at the Chinese Kickboxing National Championships in 1999. He dehydrated himself more than the other competitors did the day before the competitions for the weigh in so that he could compete against men much smaller and lighter than he was, and he then simply used his quickly regained weight the next day to push competitors off the platform (three times off the platform and you are disqualified).

I find several problems with this book:

1. There's almost nothing original in it. You're just reading summaries that might have been written by a $5 an hour researcher in India. And much of what he draws on isn't acknowledged. For instance, he uses some of Dr. Stephen Covey's seven habits as chapter subtitles . . . but never references or credits Dr. Covey once in the book.

2. He provides so little information on each aspect of his ideas that I doubt that very many readers can really implement what he recommends.

3. There's no moral center to the book. Mr. Ferriss comes across as a con man in several ways.

4. He achieves a 4-hour workweek by simply skimming the cream of a business model that any one of two billion literate people can implement at some level. Are we to believe this business model will be highly profitable for the next several years? I doubt it.

5. I've met very few small business people who simply wanted to retail something on the Internet so they could work only four hours a week. Usually, small business people see their businesses and work as a creative activity that energizes them.

I do admire the book's title. It's a real grabber. It's too bad that there's not more substance to go with it.

If you want to learn how to make breakthroughs in personal and organizational productivity that allow you to live the life you want, there are better resources out there such as The E-Myth Manager by Michael E. Gerber, The Success Principles by Jack Canfield and Janet Switzer, How to Get Control of Your Time and Your Life by Alan Lakein, and Photoreading by Paul R. Scheele.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hah hah, 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How this silly book has become an international bestseller is something of a mystery. It is has provoking title, but the content is stupid and often quite badly written as well. Richard Koch tells the same story with much more panache in his 80/20 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich
Used & New from: 1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews