Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Read This Review, The NSA Might Be Snooping
If you think I'm being paranoid, I'm not. It is highly likely that this review & anyone who reads it online have been swept up into the data vacuum cleaner of the NSA for analysis. Though this book is largely about the US's National Security Agency, that eavesdrops on the world's electronic communications, it is as equally relevant to the UK with GCHQ (our NSA) being...
Published on 1 Nov 2008 by M. Palmer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing particularly new
Well in light if Edward Snowden the information presented is nothing new, it is still a reasonable account of the internal politics of who is watching who but nothing special. It does get bogged down in places and somewhat of a bitchfest between players and you can easily put this book down and come back later.
Readable and helps pass an afternoon but not very...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. H. E. Bourke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Read This Review, The NSA Might Be Snooping, 1 Nov 2008
By 
M. Palmer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you think I'm being paranoid, I'm not. It is highly likely that this review & anyone who reads it online have been swept up into the data vacuum cleaner of the NSA for analysis. Though this book is largely about the US's National Security Agency, that eavesdrops on the world's electronic communications, it is as equally relevant to the UK with GCHQ (our NSA) being intimately involved with American eavesdropping.

Be aware, that in parts, this book can be quite technical, as the NSA use the world's most powerful supercomputers to sort through all the billions of e-mails & phone calls from around the world. You'll find out what a petaflop is! It also might make people who are supporters of George Bush hot under the collar as Bamford is clearly anti-Bush. However, it is a fascinating & frightening read about what they are already capable of doing & what they will soon be capable of- nothing less than the systematic profiling of the whole US population based on their web searches, telephone conversations, credit card purchases, etc. The NSA have developed an artificial intelligence that can basically tell how people think through these activities.

The NSA has too long been shrouded in secrecy; this is a timely drawing back of the curtain that updates into Bamford's back catalogue of books about the NSA. It is clear the NSA has a vital mission in fighting terrorism & espionage, but at what price to freedom & democracy?

I just wonder how long it is before there's a knock on the door....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the book. Well written, well researched - maybe a bit too heavy on detail in parts. I would recommend it in terms of the way it should raise consciousness about how freedom and democracy can be undermined and what could or should be done to control this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book..., 23 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...particularly in the light of recent disclosures. Dives into the technology, motivations, constraints and politics of intelligence gathering with a strong focus on signals intelligence and the challenges of dealing with the information explosion of the last couple of decades. Recent disclosures (as of summer 2013) pick-up where this book leaves off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A jolly good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing particularly new, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well in light if Edward Snowden the information presented is nothing new, it is still a reasonable account of the internal politics of who is watching who but nothing special. It does get bogged down in places and somewhat of a bitchfest between players and you can easily put this book down and come back later.
Readable and helps pass an afternoon but not very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A light on the clandestine activities of the USA, 29 Jun 2013
By 
AJ SHINER (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. Shows that many people died unnecessarily due to the poor performance of the NSA, CIA and FBI. There is more to tracking terrorists than spying on emails......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Pages!!!!, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Shadow Factory: The Ultra-Secret NSA from 9/11 to the Eavesdropping on America (Paperback)
Great book but when I started to read it and got to page 16 there were pages missing!! 17 to 48 inclusive!! Very annoying because I'd saved this book for a business trip that I've just got back from.

Not very happy and would ideally like Amazon to investigate with the publisher because there was no sign of these pages being ommitted, it is clearly a manufacture/production fault.

Would have been the perfect 5 stars had this fault not been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but too sensationalising, 23 Nov 2012
By 
C. Peel "sad KLF fan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book but James doesn't seem very clued up about technology specifics so these bits read as if someone's simply dictated them to him, or he's guessed at it. Couldn't figure if there's an agenda to the book as sometimes its very anti-spying and then switches to being pro-surveillance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, relevant topic., 10 Dec 2008
By 
Dr. David Webb, PhD (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I am only 1/3 of the way through this book, and it is utterly fascinating. The book does dwell and over obsess on 9/11 to some degree, but I suppose you need to understand the lapses that allowed 9/11 to happen, in order to better understand the surveillance society we live in.

The more and more you read, the more fascinated you become by the NSA. Of particular note is Bamford's facts and figures, which help provide an idea of what we are dealing with.

Buy this book, it is possibly more relevant than any other book you will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to body of secrets, 8 July 2013
By 
PA O'Sullivan "paulo" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Factory: The Ultra-Secret NSA from 9/11 to the Eavesdropping on America (Paperback)
HAving read the first book, then having this recommended - it was an obvious purchase.

Not sure about the sellers description (New) as it seems used to me, but the book itself is a great read - just like Body of 'Secrets.

Whether you work in the Information Security industry - or find the recent news around PRISM interesting - this book is certainly worth seeking out. Trouble is, it would appear that there haven't been many editions published - which might explain some of the crazy prices for the hardback (and my "new" copy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shadow Factory: The Ultra-Secret NSA from 9/11 to the Eavesdropping on America
10.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews