Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marie Antoinette removed from the shadow of the guillotine.
I have read every single book published in England about Marie Antoinette, and I think Antonia Fraser has done the impossible. Every other book is written 'in the shadow of the guillotine'. Ms Fraser removes this. The young Arch-Duchess Antonia had no idea of her fate until the last few years of her life, and as a result of the way this book is written, we see the...
Published on 22 Jun 2001 by Fiz

versus
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not quite the definitive biography
I don't think it's particularly fair to label this book (as one Amazon reviewer has done) as "a royalist's view" of French history - although, interestingly, in terms of Marie-Antoinette's life, royalists have traditionally gotten it more right than others. I'd also completely reject the notion that this is "definitive" and/or "overly preferential to its subject."...
Published on 3 July 2004 by sfweston


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marie Antoinette removed from the shadow of the guillotine., 22 Jun 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Hardcover)
I have read every single book published in England about Marie Antoinette, and I think Antonia Fraser has done the impossible. Every other book is written 'in the shadow of the guillotine'. Ms Fraser removes this. The young Arch-Duchess Antonia had no idea of her fate until the last few years of her life, and as a result of the way this book is written, we see the young Dauphine Marie Antoinette as a warmand loving princess, who longed to serve her adopted country and cared greatly about the poverty and suffering she saw around her. None of this impressed the frivolous French courtiers who were only too happy to criticize the Austrian Princess. Antonia Fraser also consigns to the wastepaper basket of history the comment, 'Let them eat cake'. Antoinette never said it: it has long been known that this remark was made by Marie Therese, the dim-witted wife of Louis XIV, and was resurrected by those who wished to weaken the monarchy still further. Antoinette's marital difficulties are not smoothed over, but again, Antonia Fraser removes the myth of the 'petit operation' which was said to have been performed before Louis XVI could make his queen a mother. Yes, Marie Antoinette was frivolous as a young woman, but aren't most young women of 14-20? As soon as she became a mother, as she had long wanted to be, her concerns changed and she became a mature and much more sensible woman. She supported her husband and family throughout the terrible traumas of the Revolution, and her courage and dignity in the face of the guillotine make her worthy to be the daughter of Empress Maria Theresa. This is, without doubt,the best biography of Marie Antoinette I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than a time machine!, 19 Mar 2003
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
A biography of Marie Antoinette is a bit of an old chestnut, like Marilyn Monroe, Grace Kelly and Jackie O, there can't be much more to say - or can there? In the case of this book, I would answer a resounding yes!
If you are looking for a sensational soap storyline, if you want to climb the hill of false indignation of reviling someone who apparently told the starving to eat cake, you'll be disappointed. Fraser debunks the myths that the gullible and small minded seem to find so satisfying. Very few people, if any, are all bad or all good and that holds true throughout the years and centuries.
We can never know fully what it is like to be in someone else's shoes, but I suspect that this gentle, engaging and ultimately enthralling book is about as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not quite the definitive biography, 3 July 2004
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
I don't think it's particularly fair to label this book (as one Amazon reviewer has done) as "a royalist's view" of French history - although, interestingly, in terms of Marie-Antoinette's life, royalists have traditionally gotten it more right than others. I'd also completely reject the notion that this is "definitive" and/or "overly preferential to its subject."
This book's plus points are the wealth of detail Antonia Fraser presents about court etiquette at Versailles; the way in which minor characters, like the Queen's maid Rosalie Lamorliere, are brought to life, and its excellent epilogue which explores Marie-Antoinette's place in history and the tragedy behind this most public of royal lives.
However, at times Antonia Fraser seems to be almost tripping over herself to be PC and unbiased. We're so used to hearing detrimental things about Marie-Antoinette that any biographer who goes complete the grain will inevitably be accused of "whitewashing." But the truth is that the real Marie-Antoinette bears almost no resemblance to the Marie-Antoinette of popular imagination, so why did Antonia Fraser's "defence" of this queen seem convoluted and riddled with qualifiers? More accurate portraits of Marie-Antoinette's character and her role as queen have been presented in two modern studies - "The Lost King of France" by Deborah Cadbury and "The Fall of the French Monarchy" by Dr. Munro Price.
Antonia Fraser also fails to fully explain Marie-Antoinette's enormous political influence after 1789, something properly highlighted in Price's book. It's also true that the book at times fails to convey the full gritty reality of 18th-century life, which perhaps would have been useful in explaining why Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette were determined to uphold such high moral standards (thus partially alienating them from certain circles of the aristocracy) after the debauched decadence of Louis XV's reign.
And as for Marie-Antoinette's "affair" with Count Fersen, Antonia Fraser's assertion that the two enjoyed a couvert affair is based more upon wishful thinking than a balanced assessment of the facts. Marie-Antoinette's position made adultery impossible, it could never have been kept a secret, and her up-bringing and personality both conspired to make it fundamentally unlikely that she would commit adultery with anyone. Their relationship was one of the many Marie-Antoinette found safety in - romantic, artificial, non-sexual gallantry.
This biography is an enjoyable one, and Antonia Fraser has done a good job in partially resurrecting Marie-Antoinette from the "rubbish bin of history" but there's still a long way to go before this unlucky queen's "definitive biography" is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educates and enlightens while it entertains., 9 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Marie Antoinette: The Journey (Paperback)
This is the first of Antonia Fraser's historical biographies that I have read and on the strength of it I have already bought her biography on Henry the Eighth and his six wives and I intend to buy more. I absolutely adored the way this book was written, she sets the scene in such a realistic way that you can almost hear the baying of the angry mobs and smell the stench of the prison where Marie spends the last of her days.

Some historical biographies get too bogged down in historical data, quoting endless facts, dates and figures until you feel your brain can hold no more. This is the perfect biography in that it gives you the important information you need in order to understand the causes and effects of the revolution, yet the book never forgets the main subject which is Marie A herself. This book charts her course from a naïve, slightly uneducated child, pawn in her mother's imperial game into the most hated woman in all of France. This book succeeds in cutting through the gossip and anecdotes of the time, which haunt Marie A to this day, and gives her a human face. Yes she was flawed, but in this account we find some of the reasons behind her faults and ultimately come to see her as misguided rather than a bad person.

If this book has a flaw, it is that Antonia Fraser is maybe TOO sympathetic to Marie, in parts of the book you nearly feel like she is making excuses for all of Marie's bad behaviour rather than admitting when she was at fault. However this is the only flaw I could find in this book. Her descriptions of life at Versailles are truly stunning. I particularly enjoyed her description of the pomp and ceremony involved just in getting Marie dressed every morning! Overall, if you want a historical biography with flowing prose and true heart, then you will not find better than this one. I for one came away from the book with a new understanding of probably the most misunderstood woman in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book - Unfair Criticism, 10 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
I mainly write this review in order to save the book from the bashing that 'Reader from France' (above) has given it.
Yes he/she quite rightly says that this book is not the place to look if you want to know why the last Queen of France lost her head - but that is not what this book is about or even purports to be about! So if that is what you are interested in finding out then perhaps take a look at Simon Schama's 'Citizens' - I wouldn't know because I got everything, and more, that I wanted to know from Antonia Fraser's book.
This is not a historical study into the reasons surrounding the French Revolution, nor is it a study into the reasons why Marie Anoinette lost her head. It is an extremely well researched and excellently written book on Marie Antoinette - her life, her passage through that life, and everywhere it took her. The detail is excellent and really makes you able to envisage it all as if you were there - having been to the Palace of Versailles it makes the reading even better because the feeling that you have been in the very rooms where all this took place is fantastic!
I think that Antonia Fraser has done an excellent job in piecing together a work which is quite evidently authoritative and helps put Marie Antoinette in a better light than history seems to have done. The criticism it seems to have attracted is totally unwarranted given that the criticism is directed at an angle which this book doesn't attempt to tackle.
A fantastic read - definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Journey" The Life of Marie Antoinette, 27 July 2002
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
This is a superb book - it lays bare the soul of a woman who was much maligned yet remained imperious and brave to the end. The causes of the French Revolution are brought to life vividly and Antonia Fraser is always informative but never boring.
The life at the Court of Versailles is described with amazing detail along with the young Dauphine's wretched unhappy early marriage to a man who had little interest in her and didn't consumate his marriage for over seven years!
The abortive escape attempt to Varennes and the captivity endured by the Royal Family culminating in their tragic end makes gripping reading and the diabolical behaviour of the "sans culottes" and Robespierre's Reign of Terror gives cause for much thought. I would heartily recommend this book - it will shed an entirely new light on the tragic young queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antonia Fraser dispels the myths, 22 Jan 2008
By 
Michael Mukasa (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
A highly recommended book. Superb research, if a little one sided but still a very engaging book that takes in the queen's entire journey. The pace is slow to start but still captivating from chapter one. As a historical book, it sticks to the facts for the most part although with the supposed affair with the Swede Fersen, there is no proper evidence and the author seems to really wish it happened just as if it would make up for all the sadness in the queen's life. As a story it is quite magnificent. What a life! And it captures that dignity to the very end. The only criticism is the real causes of the revolution are not put into proper context here to show that she died because of what she represented in the French people's eyes. Nevertheless, Marie Antoinette is redeemed in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read - a little one sided., 17 Oct 2007
By 
G. Battrum (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
I've recently become interested in this period in history and found this book very enjoyable. It was an excellent read, and although a "heavy" book I had no trouble getting through it. It tells a lovely story from Antoinette's point of view and I was left with a distinct dislike for the revolution. However, having read other texts, this book could leave you with a biased viewpoint as Antonia Fraser fails to explain the problems in France that led to the Revolution. Although I enjoyed the book I was left with a slightly bitter taste in my mouth that made me feel I hadn't got the full picture. Enjoy the book but make sure you read the whole story some where else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The journey - Marie Antoinette, 27 April 2003
By 
Elizabeth (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
From the Beginings of a political pawn in Austrian-French politics, Antonia Fraser takes us on the Journey of Marie Antoinette's life.
Fabulously written, with womanly flair, Antonia Fraser once again shows her extensive research on her subject.
In gripping style, the author relates to the reader the "travesity" of the trial, and the "humiliating" death of Marie Antoinette, as impartially as possible, although one cannot help but get caught up in the emotion of it.
A brilliant read, leaving the reader wondering what did become of the royal children, and what has happened since. Which the author also provides in her epilogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a good read but not objective, 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: Marie Antoinette (Paperback)
I read several books about the French Revolution and the story of Marie Antoinette, I found this particular one very informative but not historically very objective. Fraser seems more concerned with rescuing the figure of the Queen from the allegations and violence she had been exposed to, than with considering events from an historian's perspective. I appreciate Fraser's attempt to rescue a female figure who has been appointed as the scapegoat for centuries of wrong doings, however this one- sided portrait of Marie Antoinette is deceiving. I found 'The Last Queen of France' by Evelyne Lever a less pretentious, much more complete and better documented biography of Marie Antoinette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marie Antoinette: The Journey
Marie Antoinette: The Journey by Antonia Fraser (Paperback - 5 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews