Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armitage still has it, in spades
I've read almost all his work and I say without hesitation that he still has the stuff here. His wit and insight are in fine form. I look forward to new Armitage books the way I look forward to new releases from my favorite bands. Simon continues to rock.
Published on 17 July 2007 by J. Grgurich

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for fans only
If you're new to Simon Armitage's poetry, you may be wondering what the fuss may be about after reading Tyrannosaurus Rex Versus the Corduroy Kid.

The collection, for the most part, lacks the sparkle and wit of Armitage's earlier poetry seen in Zoom! and The Dead Sea Poems. There are some jewels here, such as 'Surtsey' and 'Roadshow' but most of the poems fall...
Published on 13 April 2007 by Mr. C. Ward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armitage still has it, in spades, 17 July 2007
By 
J. Grgurich (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read almost all his work and I say without hesitation that he still has the stuff here. His wit and insight are in fine form. I look forward to new Armitage books the way I look forward to new releases from my favorite bands. Simon continues to rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great poet, 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Simon Armitage and I love this book, hilarious and thoughtful! The book arrived promptly and as described- a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourites, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. K. Mcbride (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful writing of thoughts, feelings and human beings. Simon Armitage's work I recommend to all buy and just love his poetry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for fans only, 13 April 2007
By 
Mr. C. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're new to Simon Armitage's poetry, you may be wondering what the fuss may be about after reading Tyrannosaurus Rex Versus the Corduroy Kid.

The collection, for the most part, lacks the sparkle and wit of Armitage's earlier poetry seen in Zoom! and The Dead Sea Poems. There are some jewels here, such as 'Surtsey' and 'Roadshow' but most of the poems fall flat with their dull language and lack of imagination.

If you're after something with more punch, try District & Circle by Seamus Heaney or Horse Latitudes by Paul Muldoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haven't read the book yet..., 16 Oct 2011
... so I will review the service, which has been prompt and honest from the seller. The state of the book was immaculate, and so the packaging. Looking forward to buying from you again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tyrannosaurus Rex Versus the Corduroy Kid
Tyrannosaurus Rex Versus the Corduroy Kid by Simon Armitage (Hardcover - 2 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews