Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars24
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2012
Back to the era of the Plantagenets for this one capturing the love story of Joan of Kent and Edward Prince of Wales. The spirited Joan takes you on a journey and follows her introduction to court, her meeting of Edward and the love which ended in their marriage, thus giving us our very first Princess of Wales. Very entertaining, not historically correct but so well written, you dont really care! Full of drama, intrigue and comedy at times, this is well worth a read and like me, I am sure once read, you will find yourself picking it up, time and again to recapture their wonderful love story. I didn't care when it was historically inaccurate, I didn't care when she was portrayed diferently than in the history books. I just enjoyed the story for what it was; a romantic tale of two flawed characters who fell in love. Just lovely.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
If you loved the white queen you will love this. It continues the family story of the Rivers family. Characters come to life linking historical facts, theories and imagination. A fantastic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
A very detailed account of the life of Joan of Kent - really enjoyable read. Would recommend to anyone with an interest in woman of this period in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
I found this book a great read and would recommend it to all who enjoy History novels.Karen Harper is an excellent author .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Enjoyed the book but would have liked it to tell us more about the married life of the couple in question.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
As other reviewers have already pointed out, this novel is NOT historically accurate, save for the general idea that Joan of Kent's third marriage to her first cousin once removed Edward Prince of Lancaster was a love match - but her first secret marriage to Thomas Holland when she was just 12 and Edward was 10 seems to have been too, which is perfectly compatible with a later match even though in fresh widowhood.

However, if you take it for what it is, a romance with a few famous figures as main characters and the struggle for supremacy between sexes as main drive for their actions, the writing style is good and it will give you a few pleasant hours to go by. Unfortunately, there does not seem to be an accurate historical fiction on Joan and Edward's romance on the market, so you might as well enjoy this one until their own "Sunne in Splendour" eventually comes out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Arrived within the time frame stated and was a thoroughly enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
I enjoyed the plot development of this book but found some of the characters difficult to believe. The story line didn't seem 100% believable but within the range of historic 'fact' a bit of poetic licence was forgivable. If you are a serious reader of historic fiction I would advise caution, but if you are after a nice romantic style story, then this book might be worth your effort.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Very entertaining and interesting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
rather bland for Karen Harper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.