Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
Great book and very very well written.
The author obviously has been following Pantera & then Damageplan for many many years and the interviews he has conducted are with folks who wouldn't divulge info like that to just anyone.

All in all, brilliant and totally recommended for fans and/or just guitarists. I read it in 1 sitting.
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by Mr. M. D. Higginbotham

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it
I can summarise this book in a few sentences: Dime played Guitar great. Dime was a good guy who cared about people. Dime liked to drink Whiskey and Coke.

That is about as much insight as the Author Zac Crain provides. There are no interviews with his family or Band members, just some anecdotal things from former road crew and obscure people like Ross Halfin...
Published on 29 July 2010 by Paul Bass


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott (Paperback)
I can summarise this book in a few sentences: Dime played Guitar great. Dime was a good guy who cared about people. Dime liked to drink Whiskey and Coke.

That is about as much insight as the Author Zac Crain provides. There are no interviews with his family or Band members, just some anecdotal things from former road crew and obscure people like Ross Halfin (photographer) who only met him once. I have learned more about Dime in reading a three page interview in 'Guitar World'.

I am very disappointed in the book and feel ripped off by Zac Crain - poorly researched and poorly written book on one of my Hero's. I will now have to buy another biography in the hope someone else respects Dime enough to do a proper Job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly researched, 28 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott (Paperback)
The only sources Zac Crain seemed to have for writing the book were the first Pantera singer Terry Glaze who it sounds like hadn't seen him in years, someone from Dimebag's guitar company and a few others who only knew him briefly. His brother Vinnie clearly had nothing to do with the book nor did his girlfriend or anyone else really close to him. The book is short and goes into little detail. One minute he's playing at home, the next Pantera are releasing an album. He doesn't have the little details, clearly only what he's taken from interviews from music magazines. He even describes lots of stuff from the Pantera home videos as stories.

The book is well written and enjoyable to read. But I really didn't learn much about the guy I didn't already know from seeing interviews with the band over the years. It would be great to see a Dimebag book that really had the stories from those close to him. This isn't it and is obviously just a cash in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointing To Be Honest, 19 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott (Paperback)
Apart from finding out that Dimebag was a fun guy who drank a lot I didn't learn much! The author clearly had limited information about Darrell as the book seemed very padded out in places. There wasn't enough honesty either, where were the sex and drug stories? I'm sure there was more going on than just partying with a black tooth! It probably would have been better if this was a Pantera biography instead, may have been more to tell. Dimebag Darrell was a great guitarist but this doesn't do him justice. For a better metal biography check out "Sabbath" Bloody "Sabbath" by Joel McIver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...the Rainman of metal..., 5 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott (Paperback)
Don't get me wrong, I was a big Pantera fan. They basically saved metal in the nineties when the evil grunge virus tried to wipe good music off the face of the earth. When Metallica were turning into glam pussies, Pantera manned the ramparts, battling to save all that was good about the rawk. However, despite that, I cannot claim to have liked any of the band. Naturally, this is based purely on reading interviews and watching their lamentable shenanigans on video. Dimebag Darrell Abbott, in particular, seemed to have been an emotionally arrested thirteen year for his entire life. If anything, he was a guitar autistic, the Rainman of metal. However, I've been wrong once before, so I was happy to sit down and read this, the first biography of Dimebag Darrell, to find out if I was wrong.

I wasn't. The book itself is good enough, although filled with enough "dudes" to fill out a 10 DVD box set of Bill & Ted, as biographer Zac Crain takes us through the short life of the guitarist. The early years are by far the most interesting as I wasn't up to speed on his childhood and his fathers (an accomplished local country musician) input to the early years of the band. But once we hit the glory years it becomes a repetitive tale of booze, bosoms and frat party pranks. There isn't a great deal of depth to the issue of Phil Anselmos estrangement from the band, and you get the impression that Dimebag really didn't care, just as long as there was beer and titties somewhere on the horizon. However, the ending of the Dimebag story remains just as pointless as ever, when Nathan Gale, a deranged ex-marine, leapt on stage and killed him and two audience members before the police arrived and took him out with a shotgun blast to the head.

Dimebag's family issued a statement last year, in which they distanced themselves from the book, claiming that Crain "wrote nothing but negative reviews about Pantera's music" during his tenure as music editor of the Dallas Observer. However, they were mistaken about the intent of the book as the affection Crain holds for the music is evident throughout the book. However, barring the dreadful ending of his life and his savant like ability on guitar, there isn't really much to tell once you get to the point where Pantera are the biggest metal band on the planet. Fans of the band will appreciate the early stuff, passers by will want to keep on moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott (Paperback)
STILL WAITING FOR MY PARCEL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 1 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott (Paperback)
Great book and very very well written.
The author obviously has been following Pantera & then Damageplan for many many years and the interviews he has conducted are with folks who wouldn't divulge info like that to just anyone.

All in all, brilliant and totally recommended for fans and/or just guitarists. I read it in 1 sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A black tooth grin from hell, 27 Aug 2009
By 
F. Frison "cescofry" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott (Paperback)
Despite I didn't like the author writing style this is a milestone to understand the lifestyle of Darrel Abbot.
I saw many and many times the PanterA's home videos without completely understand what was going on before this.
It would be 5 starts wasn't for the writing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Tooth Grin: The High Life, Good Times and Tragic End of Dimebag Darrell Abbott
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews