Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2007
Having been a fan since Take It Easy, I've read some of the tomes written about the band, and been bored to tears in many cases.

This book had me from the first chapter. Marc Eliot has succeeded where other writers failed and that is the reader is told the story of the Eagles from the beginning, through the drug use, alcoholism, to the acrimonius split, the infighting, to Hell Freezes Over right up to the latest round of tours. He also doesn't leave out his own problems with Don Henley who said the book was full of lies and inaccuricies (Don, I love ya but you really need to get out more). In the updated version, Eliot takes us to places no other author has, we are shown how easy it was to fall into the "sex, drugs and rock and roll" lifestyle favoured by most artists in the 70's.

It is far from your usual run of the mill biography of a band, it goes deep inside, shows you more than you sometimes feel comfortable with, more than you really wanted to know in some parts. He doesn't flinch from the unseemly, the sex, the drugs, the drink, we even get to know more about the first line up, Randy Meisner, Bernie Leaden, also about Don Felder and the reason for his departure,the wonderful Joe Walsh and how he battled his demons and won, Henley's gambling, Frey's sex crazed drug fuelled lifestyle (if this is true, this guy should be long dead). It is basically one of the best biographies I've read in a very long time, and the best one of the Eagles on the market.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2000
There's only one word to discribe To the Limit by Marc Eliot,and that word is Masterpiece.His in depth story of this Legendery group's rise to the top is very compelling,intrueging and at times very emotional.Having just read the book whilst listening to their Classic songs brought back very fond memories of seeing them at Murryfield Stadium in Edinburgh on a beautiful summers night in 1996 something i had waited 25yrs for.Thanks for bringing back those memories through this book, will there ever be a more popular band than the EAGLES! Yeah,WHEN HELL FREEZES OVER.
Cameron Turner. Sauchie. SCOTLAND.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2007
Before reading this book I was only aware of the music of The Eagles nothing of their story. I found the book well paced and informative without being bogged down in minute details. The author gives well balanced arguments at many of the key points in the bands history (such as when Leadon & subsequently when Meisner left the band). He also gives a vivid picture of the L.A. music scene that produced and shaped America's most successful band of the 1970s. The book concludes on the Hell Freezes Over Tour and contains a postscript covering The Eagles induction into the Rock N Roll Hall Of Fame in 1998. I felt the author gave the band the credit they deserved for their music, acknowledging that they had been short changed over the years by music critics. Throughout the book there is a genuine appreciation for the great music that The Eagles created.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 1999
With their string of achievements since they formed in the early 70s, it's about time a biography like this appeared.
Marc Elliot has an open minded view on his subject, and had me hooked from Chapter 1.
The autor also had the priviledge of interviewing Don Henley extensively for this book, and briefly covers the band's solo achievements through the 80s and 90s.
A must buy for the dedicated Eagles fan. 'Take it to the limit...one more time."
(NEED MORE BOOKS ON THESE GUYS!!!)
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
This is an interesting but biased read. There is far too much emphasis on Don Henley (probably because he was the only one who would talk - paranoia springs to mind after reading the book!). it gives a good picture of the Eagles but you're left with the impression that you're not getting all of it rather a heavily Henley influenced version of events. If you're after a definitive Eagles biopic then I believe that you'll need to read more than one book and then balance the whole lot out!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Probably one of the better books on the Eagles, and it certainly gives an in-depth look into their career and is a decent, flowing read. However there are one or two dubious, unsourced claims, and it only covers up to their RRHOF induction in 1996; since which an awful lot has happened.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2006
The only thing that made me slightly uncomforatable was how the author has rounded on them in the updated version. I felt it was a bit petty but since I didnt have Don H breathing down my neck, I cant say I would not have dont the same thing.

Thanks Marc.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
The standard Eagles story....
One needs to read Don Felder's book to have a complete and balanced view of one of the greatest bands of all time rather than the recent History of the Eagles documentary which although very good was very Henley/Frey biased.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
well researched, nothing of note missed. its a fascinating look the Eagles and those who flew with them .A wonderful account of an iconic band... sit back TAKE IT EASY and read all about LIFE IN THE FAST LANE.....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
It's an interesting account of the story of the Eagles, although I find the author is not very careful with facts. Sometimes I notice little discrepancies like dates and chronology, and it is possible that he just wrote as how people recounted them without cross-checking facts, therefore susceptible to error, but it does make me wonder how much of what's written can be trusted. But still, an interesting read, just don't take what's written as gospel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)