Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced account of a genius
This is a very good read. Quite remarkable that we only ever remember Hughes for being the world's most famous recluse when there was just so much more to the man. Yes, he was a playboy. Yes, he was mentally ill and yes, he made a plane called the Spruce Goose. But if you want to get the full story and understand what drove one of the 20th Century's most remarkable people...
Published on 4 April 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ups and downs, as a story and as a read!
some parts of this book are really inspiring, which is exactly what I was hoping for, but a lot of it revolves around Howard Hughes' personal life as opposed to his professional, in particular focusing on his multitude of romantic conquests/mishaps.i found myself having to power through descriptions of relationship after relationship, to really enjoy the areas of the book...
Published 11 months ago by james iles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced account of a genius, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
This is a very good read. Quite remarkable that we only ever remember Hughes for being the world's most famous recluse when there was just so much more to the man. Yes, he was a playboy. Yes, he was mentally ill and yes, he made a plane called the Spruce Goose. But if you want to get the full story and understand what drove one of the 20th Century's most remarkable people then this is definitely the book for you. A classic. Must be the definitive biography of Howard Hughes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!Was caught up from the 1st page., 30 Oct 1999
I never knew That Howard Hughes was such a genius. Most everyone focuses on the latter part of his life but I thought this book was extremely informative and a great read. II have bought 3 copies already as I have given my own to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, fully-documented masterpiece, 26 Feb 2005
By 
B.R. True (Ronda, Malaga Spain) - See all my reviews
The 24-page listing at the end of the book of the bibliography researched for the writing of this excellent biography of Howard Hughes says a lot about the factuality of this detailed, almost day-to-day account of his life. It gives a scientifically-backed explanation of the origin and evolution of his state of mind, commonly and mistakenly labeled as simple "insanity". I read this book after seeing "Aviator", and was impressed to notice how many of the scenes were remarkably well portrayed in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like watching a car crash -hypnotic!, 18 Feb 2011
I hated this book, could not put it down, unbelievable. To think that one man could be so powerful, so selfish,so devious, so dangerous and rich beyond the wildest dreams of most. This man was the stuff off of a James Bond novel. Not Bond but anyone of his villains. Paradoxically an extremely talented man who abused his talents in the name of his sexual appetite and his greed, no matter who he hurt. World domination was not beyond his imagination. Disclosures in this apparently exhaustively documented book make your jaw drop when you realise the extent of his destructive will affecting the highest office in the land. His occasional humantiarian adventures, when studied apparently had ulterior motives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rivetting!, 2 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd seen the film which inspired me to read the book. Howard Hughes was such a brilliant but flawed man and this book aims to sensitively cover his lifes highs and lows with insight from those people close to him. I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Hit!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my Dad, he is an avid reader but choosy He has read other books on Howard Hughes and thought this was going to be a rehash but he cannot put it down, he absolutely loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
read it, really liked it, watched the film and liked that too! Like eccentrics and planes so top bombing!! bravo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ups and downs, as a story and as a read!, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some parts of this book are really inspiring, which is exactly what I was hoping for, but a lot of it revolves around Howard Hughes' personal life as opposed to his professional, in particular focusing on his multitude of romantic conquests/mishaps.i found myself having to power through descriptions of relationship after relationship, to really enjoy the areas of the book which dealt with his successes in the aviation and film industries.still well worth a read, as parts are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing story crazier than the movie Aviator,goes into more detail about Howard that the movie misses out on,Las vegas ,more women,politics ,and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating book about a brilliant man. Anyone interested in business / aviation / early cinema should read this. It was a great insight into a man often perceived as mad but who was actually a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howard Hughes: The Untold Story
Howard Hughes: The Untold Story by Pat H. Broeske (Paperback - 13 Oct 2004)
12.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews