Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Learn more Learn More Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2011
The life and times of Capone by John Kobler was a fascinating read. Once you've started reading this book you can't stop. Kobler has put a lot of time into this book, getting all the correct information and looking into police reports. Capone's story is being told as if you were with him. Kobler doesn't make it drag on with the amount of detail he puts in but summarises it up very well and keeps the reader's attention throughout the story. The author also gives you short notes of what was happening in this period of America so you can understand more how people viewed Capone (Hero or Villian) and gives you an interesting sight into the stress political people were under to arrest and imprison Capone.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Essential reading for anyone with an interest in Al Capone and the Chicago gangster era.This is an in depth view,albeit with American language and idioms, with areas of information which was previously unknown to me.The narrative necessary to set up the scene is not over burdening and the instances of gangland violence ( which is probably what many will be wanting to read) are well portrayed.
Overall, a good read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
This was the first book I ever read about Al Capone. I had looked him up on the web before, of course, but nothing that I read gave me a detailed insight into what made this criminal legend tick. John Kobler's book does just that. Fascinating and informative, it not only shows what made Capone the man he was, but also gives a colourful feel for the times in which he lived. If you want to get under the skin of Capone, this is the book for you. Killing For Capone
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Brought this book to learn about the notorious Capone. It's a great book that teaches you all you need to know from the start to the finish of his life. Great biography on his dominant, power filled life and how his end wasn't so special. I would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Good book. Meanders in places but fascinating overall. Recommended.
Want to see Chicago myself now! Very well researched Kobler is an engaging storyteller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
"The Life and Time of Al Capone", this is really a book with two souls.

I liked the first part of the book a lot. This is the part devoted to the time of Al Capone, starting in his childhood, detailing the life of immigrants like his father, the very small word they were allowed to live in, the reasons why young men saw the gangs as the only way to get a living and to do something with their life... if they lived long enough, that it.
The way gangs were organized is detailed quite in depth, the Italians gangs, but also the others. The way gangs fought each other, the reason why they did it. It's like a little world on its own, with its own rules and its own heroes, and its own enemies. This part, detailing the history of the Five Pointers, where Capone started his life as an outlaw, was the more interesting for me.

I also like the part that followed. Capone arrives in Chicago as a young man and here he finds a world which is both the same, but also different from the underworld he knew in New York. A big chunk of the book is spent detailing how Chicago was divided into zones, how different ethnic gangs controlled different parts of the city, the alliances and the enmities. The bosses and their temperaments. The gangs were nearly always linked to ethnic communities and it was interesting to see what links and what bonds stood between these men and the communities they came from. It was a very complex relationship and it was very interesting reading about it.

Then the second part of the book tells Capone's life in particular... and my interest dropped.

Honestly, reading only this book, one will wonder what made Capone one of the better known men in America. He's presented here as a very violent man, with few interests other than make money through bootlegging, brothels and other illegal activities. It is said that he was a skilful manager, but nothing is provided to enforce this idea. There's a long section detailing the way he killed off all his rivals, which is quite repetitive, with no insight into what he was after, his tactic, even his reasons.
A very long part is devoted to the trial that put him in jail and the following (quite uneventful) years in Alcatraz, I suspect because this is probably one of the better documented part of his life, if maybe the least interesting. It was - honestly - quite boring.

This is the only book I read about Capone and I still know very little about him, so I wonder whether there might be more interesting books about him out there. But I did enjoy the first part about the Twenties underworld quite a lot.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
I bought this item as a Christmas present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Brilliant read an very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
Amazing book. Originally saw it on the book case of one of my customers. Trouble was it had been read that many time it couldnt have stood another. So bought my own. What a great read really takes you back too the era and all the familiar names from that infamous time. well worth a read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Very interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)