Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bronx Bull
The problem with this book is that it will always be compared unfavourably to the wonderful film of the same name. Make no mistake though this is a truely magnificent book.
The story is told with genuine warmth, humour and honesty but at the end of reading it I was left with a nagging sense of discomfort. I realised that this was down to the fact that despite the...
Published on 20 May 2003 by paul_heppell2

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusually,not as good as the film
If you have seen the film with Robert de Niro then the book maybe an anti climax as it does not match up to director Martin Scorcese's masterful treatment of this story.It would be hard too as it was one of the greatest films ever made and that is widely recognised by all movie experts.
The power of the rollercoaster life story of a boxing great that is captured here...
Published on 20 Jun. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bronx Bull, 20 May 2003
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
The problem with this book is that it will always be compared unfavourably to the wonderful film of the same name. Make no mistake though this is a truely magnificent book.
The story is told with genuine warmth, humour and honesty but at the end of reading it I was left with a nagging sense of discomfort. I realised that this was down to the fact that despite the humour Jake La Motta is not the sort of man you could like but you have to acknowledge that his story is gripping.
Raised in abject poverty he resorted to violence, theft, rape and mugging. Channelling his rage he eventually became midle weight champion of the world but even this wasn't straight forward. The book also details La Motta's rivalry with, possibly the best boxer of all time, Sugar Ray Robinson and details their epic fights.
La Motta was probably one of the finest fighters of all time and as a fighter richly deserves all the plaudits, as a person he left a lot to be desired. I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Angry Stomping Bull From The Bronx, 5 Feb. 2002
By 
Derek Stiles (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
LaMotta knew what it was like to have nothing, to live in a run down neighbourhood in a cold water
flat. It tore the heart out of him to see his mother physically abused by his father and be on the end of his fathers vicious tounge. When La Motta grew up he had the same evil temper as his father and some evil traits stemming from his background. He raped his best friends girl friend Viola, he mugged a bookie with a lead pipe thinking he had killed him, he threw a big fight for the mob to get a title bout against Marcel Cerdan. His redeeming points are he beat Cerdan for the title and became middleweight champion. He came face to face with the bookie he thought he had murdered and was releived to know he was not a murderer,he had a troubled conscience about what he done to Viola. He was a real raging bull
from New Yorks Bronx loosing his way more than once, and climbing back out of the pit and redeeming him self with some goods works with his children and former wives and his best friend Peter Savage. A good read with Nick Torches giving a new introduction to start you of on a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and entertaining read, 10 Oct. 2002
By 
G Griffiths (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
Jake La Motta (along with Joseph Carter) writes his autobiography, detailing his violent life, from his childood of gambling, fighting, stealing, and murder, to his life in the ring, his struggle to become champ, his run-ins with the mafia, and to his eventual retirement, where he faces his inner demons.
What is so surprising about the novel is how it is written.... the atttention to detail, the use of language and words. This does not feel like an auobiography written by a punch-drunk boxer, but a story told with great skill and warmth. There is a fond rememberance of his childhood, but La Motta doesn't disguise the fact he was an evil, violent person, and in some cases, yes, he does try to explai why he did such actions, but I got the feeling he has just accepted what he had done was bad. Of course, La Motta's story has been transformed to the big screen by such talents as Martin Scorsese and Robert De Niro (quite possibly their best fim), but their adaptation, if truth be told, is not an accurate loo at La Motta's life. They have only used La Motta's autobiography to tell a tale - and admittedly a great one. Events have been altered, some made up, some non-existent, but it's all for purpose. Fans of boxing and fans of the movie should definately read this, if only to make comparison's to Scorsese's masterpiece. Also, for an interesting read, pick up 'Raging Bull II: Continuing the story of Jake La Motta', an interesting read that carries on where the original left off, and goes into the making of the movie from La Motta's point of view.Either way, a fabulous read, often shocking, violent, and cruel, but also very funny, humerous in many parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very different to the film, 16 Aug. 2009
By 
Asmodeous (North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
Reading the book is a very different experience to watching the film - similar themes but told very differently. In the book Jake is certainly more likeable though just as self destructive. The film was a composite of the book - taking key themes and moulding them into a cinematic experience (taking certain events out of sequence / ommitting characters and scenes in some instances and inventing/expanding upon scenes and characters in the other)The book is well told and fast paced though at times it is hard to stay sympathetic and keep reading about a character who is so self absorbed and self destructive - in this respect both film and book leave the audience with a similar reaction...fascination, but a feeling of emptiness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raging Bull., 25 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book as much if not more than the film.La Motta was a pretty bad man and even though he threw a fight to get the World Title shot he craved,he wasn't intimidated by the Mafia and wasn't scared of anyone.A good book for anyone to read but a great book for boxing fans and if you are old enough to remember the era,you will enjoy it all the more.As it says at the beginning it is written more like a novel than a book and is all the more enjoyable for it,imo.I agree with one of the other reviewer's who said the La Motta story is a guide on how not to live your life.Great boxer though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this easily the best by far, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
I've read a few boxers biographies,Ali, jack dempsey, benny lynch, I've got to say ,without a doubt, this easily the best by far, and though the film raging bull is amazing,the book is ten times better.I could not put this book down.fantastic read, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great life story about how not to live., 11 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful story of the harsh and sometimes sad life that Jake La Motta lead. It is surprising that such a strong fighter could me such a weak man. Read it and watch the great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book arrived on time and in excellent condition. An interesting and informative read about an ..., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
The book arrived on time and in excellent condition. An interesting and informative read about an era about which I have no personal knowledge. They were tough guys in those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars savage, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Story (Paperback)
a very honest and often brutal account of how life was and what a struggle he had against everyone including his own self esteem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging bull: My story (Hardcover)
100% satisfied will purchase again if BOOK comes up for sale that I want
many thanks
M J AXON Mr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raging Bull: My Story
Raging Bull: My Story by La Motta (Paperback - 1 Aug. 1997)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews