Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, fascinating rock biography from Inside
Bought this last year - read it consistently in the run up to Christmas 2012. Recently got interested again in the music of my past, like the Rolling Stones. [I was a fan, and had some personal experiences of thier ealy performances in my neighbourhood, while still at club level.] Bill Wyman kept a diary and video recordings of everything the Stones did while he was with...
Published 17 months ago by Nota

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull, dull
Unbelievable as it may sound: Bill Wyman manages to mostly reduce all those wild rock 'n roll years to a list of gigs and names plus endless griping about his financial affairs. No doubt the Stones were robbed blind in those early days by unscrupulous agents and record company excecutives, but a single chapter on the subject would have convinced me as well. The book...
Published on 31 Dec 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, fascinating rock biography from Inside, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this last year - read it consistently in the run up to Christmas 2012. Recently got interested again in the music of my past, like the Rolling Stones. [I was a fan, and had some personal experiences of thier ealy performances in my neighbourhood, while still at club level.] Bill Wyman kept a diary and video recordings of everything the Stones did while he was with them [There is a list of all their engagements and a full discography, to the date of publication, at the end of the book]. There's also a fascinating account of Bill's early life as an ordinary kid from South East London [Penge] in the post World War II years. That really rings true - I am a contemporary of the younger Stones members.

Later on Bill joined a local band as a part time bass guitar player, but for many years he had held down a regular job. He got married and had a son, before he joined the Stones' band. The gradual change from semi-professional musician to full-time and then big-time performer is well described.

Then follows the inside account of life within a mega-huge touring rock/pop band, with the mayhem, financial disputes and series of sexual conquests that all in the band [except the faithful Charlie Watts] engaged in. There are useful insights in Bill's account of the decline and mysterious demise of Brian Jones, who was at first the band's leader, major 'babe-magnet' and the most musically talented, though later he was eclipsed by Keith Richards, as his memory faded.

This book is a hefty volume - full of often entertaining true dramas, and with a large number of black and white photos of Bill Wyman's youth, his family, and the youthful and later Rolling Stones at work and play. Well worth seeking this book out - not just for rock, pop or R&B fans, but anyone interested in the culture of the period from 1950s/60s to the 1990s in Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The True Inside Story of The Stones, 16 Oct 2013
By 
N. T. Procter (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want the inside story of the Stones, then you really should read this book, which covers the Jones years, together with Bill's later illustrated history: Rolling with the Stones, which continues the story up to his departure from the group in the nineties.

Bill has a well-deserved reputation for being a precise and meticulous man, so the book is often heavy on detail, some of which is superfluous to the story, which can make it hard going at times, but it is worth persisting with for his insights on the character of the other Stones, the rise and fall of Brian Jones, the ruthless ambition of Andrew Loog Oldham and the relentless greed of the odious Allen Klein.

Personally I found it to be far more revealing than Keith Richard's rambling, self-consciously "cool" memoir and a much more honest account of the rise of the Stones, telling it as it happened.

This is essential reading for any true Stones fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stone Alone, 22 May 2013
By 
Geraldine Hansome "ferret" (peacehaven) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very informative book, ideal for anyone interested in his life and career. Would make a good present. Arrived well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Ev_Kelly (Edinburgh, Scotland. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed it..well worth a read..Although it's seriously written you can tell Bill Wyman is fun and boy..there were a lot of women!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull, dull, 31 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stone Alone: The Story Of A Rock 'n' Roll Band (Paperback)
Unbelievable as it may sound: Bill Wyman manages to mostly reduce all those wild rock 'n roll years to a list of gigs and names plus endless griping about his financial affairs. No doubt the Stones were robbed blind in those early days by unscrupulous agents and record company excecutives, but a single chapter on the subject would have convinced me as well. The book mainly focuses on the early years, but apart from Bill's confession that he was an almost compulsive womanizer in those days you won't find much juicy information on life behind the stage. And on their musical development and influences little is written that wasn't already widely known. Those of you who want to know in a much more pleasant fashion where Bill is at, surf to Amazon's music section and buy his Rhythm King cd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor old Bill, 26 July 2006
By 
Solo Walker "SW" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Disappointing book. Bill is physically a small bloke & seems to have an inferiority complex so he keeps a record of all the girls he has screwed. How sad is that. He admits the Stones only picked him because of his huge speaker encased in concrete, which gave a good reasonance. He aligns himself with Charlie & Brian and seems to resent Mick & Keith, he makes no meaningful comment on his own musical contribution to the band. Yet he is always moaning about not having any money & how the band got ripped off, but nothing about how they coped with their enormous wealth. Bill describes an incident with a female fan where he has trouble removing her underwear, this to me sums up the poverty of this book. Think of all the incidents both humourous, musical, tragedies, pathos, satire etc that could have been told about his life with the Stones. Yet we get an almost bitter, miserish, ungrateful, third rate story of mediocrity. Not a blockbusting, stonker of a book about the greatest rock band of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Inside the Stones, 18 Mar 2008
This review is from: Stone Alone: The Story Of A Rock 'n' Roll Band (Paperback)
Bill Wyman does a great job in this book giving us a behind-the-scenes look at one of the most famous bands in the world. I think the book that compliments this one and gives us even a more insightful look into the world of Brian Jones and the Rolling Stones is Gloria Shepherd's biography titled "Brian Jones Straight from the Heart". Although this book is basically new, I do not see it listed here on Amazon.UK. However, I purchased my book on eBay. For anyone wanting a more complete look at the Stones' history, I recommend taking a look at her work. It is well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stone Alone: The Story Of A Rock 'n' Roll Band
Stone Alone: The Story Of A Rock 'n' Roll Band by Bill Wyman (Paperback - 22 Aug 1997)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews