Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this romp through the literary/theatrical world of 1960's London. I first became interested in Orton through reading Kenneth Williams' diaries and KW makes a few appearances during the book.

That said, it is not a book for the faint-hearted or easily offended. There are many (sometimes lengthy) descriptions of gay liaisons, particularly in the section based in Tangier.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, but was well aware of its content before I bought it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Highly recommended! Many of the great and well-known post-war diaries (e.g. those of Alan Clark, "Chips" Channon, Harold Nicolson) who written by members of the ruling class. Too many recent diaries by politicians (e.g. Alistair Campbell, Robin Cook etc.) were obviously written with an eye on future publication and have dated very quickly. By contrast, Joe Orton's diaries were written by an exceptionally talented young writer - working class, gay - at the absolute height of his powers. His diary was written in the last eight months (January-August 1967) of his short life and is spontaneous and very funny, and at the same time that he wrote two highly successful plays, as well as revising others. The diary divides into three sections: January-May (London), June-July (Tangier) and July-August (the final days before he was murdered) and even now, more than 40 years later, the observations are still fresh. Of course, the irony is that Orton - highly intelligent and self-aware - did not see that the growing depression of his partner, Kenneth Halliwell, would lead to their deaths.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
As a piece of writing this is pretty fascinating -- the diary of playwright Joe Orton from the six months or so leading up to his murder. It's this diary that apparently goaded Orton's lover Kenneth Halliwell into bashing Orton's head in with a hammer in August, 1967, and as a reader, you see it happening, the diary packed with often amusing descriptions of Halliwell's unfolding nervous breakdown juxtiposed with Orton's growing celebrity, success, sociopathic egotism and wild sexual promiscuity. Pretty horrifying the way Orton and Halliwell behaved with underage boys on vacation in Morocco. I give that ZERO STARS. They were clearly a couple of bastards. But as a document, as a piece of writing, it is unusual, biting, funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
A diary of an interesting character. He lived life to the full and crammed so much enjoyment into a sadly shortened life.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
A candid diary of radical playwright Joe Orton's daily life in swinging 60's London as he pioneered a ground breaking theatrical exposure of Britain's establishment hypocrisy and persecution towards homosexuals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
"It's a disgrace!" That's what Kenneth Williams would often say about his friend Joe Orton's sexual antics in 1960s London. An excellent read. The book arrived in good condition and I was pleased with the service.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Good quality hard back book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Great, many thanks :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
a tad too shocking for me and I am broadminded. I don't want to come out with any spoilers but if there ever was a reason for KH smashing Orton's skull open it was laid out plainly in the diaries. I'd say it was unlikely KH was jealous or resentful of Orton's poaching his ideas enough to do the deed. The ages of Orton's desired prey and the distances he would travel to feed his sickness would more seem like the reason. Orton always wanted to shock but he seemed to sicken more than shock. A sleezy meet in a toilet is one thing but he'd have better to stick to legal aged victims. Personally I'd have knighted KH for hammering the brains out of Orton's skull. A good book to read to get to the real truth as opposed to the bizarre take shown in Prick Up Your Ears.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)