Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2010
Dormer's previous editions of this book were good but this one in cooperation with Klinger is excellent. I would recommend it to any player who has already learned the fundamentals of bridge and is embarking on a serious partnership. Use this book as your manual and together you will soon get good results in your club duplicate and even county tournaments. It provides a very clear description of the modern mainstream English style of bidding (modern Acol) together with invaluable chapters on play.

Once you start to expand your partnership you will find the book an invaluable reference to help you settle the meaning of various bidding sequences and a help in learning some modern methods and conventions.

Very good value for money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I have the original of this book since many years ago. Reading it (many years ago) enabled me to move from beginner to being able to play effectively at club level.
I still refer to it now - especially since I stopped playing for over a decade and had to remind myself of some fairly basic things.

It gives a grounding and more in every aspect of bidding, play and defence so in that sense it does what it says on the tim (i.e. "complete").

For some it may be a tough read from cover to cover, so be warned that it may not be as readable as, say, Bridge in the Menagerie, but it's not intended to be light-hearted. However, it can also be a very useful reference book for those who have covered the basics. In terms of standard, it covers from complete beginner up to somewhere around the early advanced level - although I'm probably well past that point, I'm considering buying the updated version purely as a reference book.

It is definitely the book for those who are serious about improving their game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I have only been playing for a year, so still have a way to go. I have bidding books and am now reasonably confident in straight forward bidding, but I am always amazed by players who know exactly where the cards lay and how to play them. Having dipped in and out, I think this book will not only improve my bidding, but also start to improve my play
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
The complete book of bridge in one form or another has been around for probably half a century. It need s to be updated as fashions in bridge bidding change fairly frequently.

It covers bidding, declarer play and defence pretty thoroughly inasmuch as any one book can and the text is easy to follow

Even beginners can benefit from having a copy handy but for the average club/tournmament player it is probably essential There is always something new to learn from it.

If you are only going to buy one bridgr book this is probably your best bet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
This book is crammed with information about bridge conventions, bidding, playing and defending. It is a bit too advanced for beginners and improves as it assumes a certain level of knowledge, but the guidance is sound and appropriate for reasonable club players. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Very interesting Bridge Book. Ever level of Bridge Player will gain knowledge from this book. Only half way through at the moment but really enjoying it. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Husband loved it the book, as it is perfect for a player with reasonable knowledge of bridge. May not be suitable for a beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Tip top book for teachers and players alike. Definately a MUST for your library. Have no hesitation in recommending it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
This was a gift for someone , They said it was excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
brought 3 y ears ago. A late asssessment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.