Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different M.A.S.H.
If you have already seen the film or TV series before reading this book, yoiu will find it quite different from the later versions. Many of the characters are quite different, for instance Colonel Blake and Father Mulcahey are both much tougher characters than they were in the later versions, Colonel Blake is quite a military man. Major Houlihan doesn't pay nearly such...
Published on 7 July 2004 by L O'connor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was some what disappointed with the prose of this novel. I expected more; in the seventies I heard about this book from other people who had read it and they sang it's praises but I never got round to reading it for myself then. Latter along came the movie and I really enjoyed that, shortly after followed the TV series, which was initially spoilt by the laughter track...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Robert Towning


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different M.A.S.H., 7 July 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M. A. S. H. (Paperback)
If you have already seen the film or TV series before reading this book, yoiu will find it quite different from the later versions. Many of the characters are quite different, for instance Colonel Blake and Father Mulcahey are both much tougher characters than they were in the later versions, Colonel Blake is quite a military man. Major Houlihan doesn't pay nearly such an important role in the book than she does in the film or TV series. Hawkeye and Trapper are like, and yet not like, their later versions. The book is very funny, though I don't know how Richard Hooker felt about the liberties taken with his characters and story by those who made the movie and TV series. Any fan of the later versions should certainly read this book and see how it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 23 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: M. A. S. H. (Paperback)
This book was unbelievable: satirical and humorous yet showing the horrors of war through the bloody operating room scenes. For example: Trapper John and Hawkeye leave for Tokyo to operate on a Congressman's son and play a little golf in ridiculous costumes; finding out if Hot Lips' hair is naturally blonde; and catching mermaids. There are also briefly shown characters who just add to the melee of escapades: Major Houlihan, Roger the Dodger, and Frank Burns. This book should be read by every person who calls themself a "M*A*S*H" fan. Judy :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever written, 24 Jan. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: M. A. S. H. (Paperback)
This delightful book is just as good, if not better then the TV show which is based on it. A must read for fans of the televison show. Hooker makes you feel as though you are there laughing, and crying rightalong with the unforgetable characters of the 4077th Mobile Army Surgical Hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Towning "2011ratty" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MASH (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
I was some what disappointed with the prose of this novel. I expected more; in the seventies I heard about this book from other people who had read it and they sang it's praises but I never got round to reading it for myself then. Latter along came the movie and I really enjoyed that, shortly after followed the TV series, which was initially spoilt by the laughter track but luckily when shown on the BBC they realised that and they soon removed it, latter American broadcasters followed suit and the TV series when on to be one of the most successful TV shows of all time and one of my favourites. When I rediscovered the TV series on 'True Entertainment' channel and found that the TV version still stood up as good as ever it stimulated me to eventually read the book. But as I say I was some what disappointed. The prose were simple and economical, it read more like a synopsis of the story than a fully fleshed out peace of literature, gone were the complexities of the characters, the humanity of the situation and the humour was some what diminished. There were interesting anecdote that were mildly funny but nothing as moral or as thought provoking as the TV series. This one of the very rare occasions when the film is actually better than the book and the TV series based on the film is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very cool book, 24 Dec. 2005
By 
R. Jeffree "missjeffree" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M. A. S. H. (Paperback)
Not as impressive as Joseph Heller's 'Catch-22', this, but very similar in style and content. Just as intelligent and in many ways a lot more entertaining. Being a British 22 year old and lacking in knowledge of American life, some of the humour was a bit wasted on me, but that's ok. I still loved every page. Lots to learn from all the surgical scenes in there, too. A really great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mash, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book which I read in a couple of sittings; it is the next book up for discussion at our regular and very low key book group. Why only three stars? Well it is, unavoidably, a bit dated and after a few chapters I found the characters a bit black and white. However it was amusing and easy to read. As I doctor myself I found the accounts of war surgery interesting and he was trying to get some serious messages over about the benefits of quick intervention in dirty wounds after rapid correction of shock etc...I am not well up in the history of battle surgery but the Korean war may have been the first time this was done well. I will have to watch the film now...I've never seen it and don't want to be left out of the discussions.
Overall...yes...worth the money...on kindle anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great blend of pathos and dark humour, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: M. A. S. H. (Paperback)
Blending pathos with dark humour, and getting the balance just right, Hooker effectively uses a series of interlinked short stories to unfold the plot. The characterization is superb, as well as the set pieces, and the dialogue is first class. I felt myself smiling often and laughing out loud on a good number of occasions. Unlike the television series, the book lacks an overt political message; it is a book about how people survive and get by in a terrible situation not of their choosing, implicitly an anti-war novel, but not explicitly so. In that sense it lacks the bite of other darkly humorous and satirical books about war such as Joseph Heller's Catch 22 and does little to explore the morality of war or the industries that surround them such as prostitution and black marketeering. Clearly that wasn't Hooker's aim and so the criticism is moot, but for me it would have transformed a very good book into a minor masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must!, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
D. L. George "wilscombe" (Cirencester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MASH (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
I read this years ago and reread it with great pleasure. If you are a MASH fan you wil love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M. A. S. H. (Paperback)
Was good to read the origins of the characters in the film and tv series. Excellent condition, and brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars M.A.S.H. The original, 28 Oct. 2010
This review is from: M. A. S. H. (Paperback)
Mobile.Army.Surgical.Hospital. a just behind the front line romp in Korea. The machinations used the augment the surgical staff and the reasons behind all of this are very funny at times. This book is also a tribute to the dedication of the staff of all front line army hospitals. Although some of the humour may be a little off beat it is a good read to be enjoyed;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MASH (Cassell Military Paperbacks)
MASH (Cassell Military Paperbacks) by Richard Hooker (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews