Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Sleep Till Mexicali
This is Michael Connelly's second book and - like his first - features Harry Bosch as its central character. Little has changed for Bosch in the eighteen months since the events of "The Black Echo". He's still a jazz-loving loner who's happy to bend the rules, while his taste for coffee, beer and cigarettes remains undiminished.
As the book begins, it's Christmas Day...
Published on 7 May 2004 by Craobh Rua

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pacey page turner, with a bent copper twist.....
My second attempt at Mr. Connelley. Not dissapointed at all.

The tale is somewhere in the middle of detective Bosch's career. He is asked to clear up some outstanding cases, to improve the records of the LAPD's homiscide division and to his consternation, he becomes intrigued with the case of a fellow police man's apparent suicide - one he is told to leave well...
Published on 24 Mar 2007 by Mrs. B


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Sleep Till Mexicali, 7 May 2004
This review is from: The Black Ice (Paperback)
This is Michael Connelly's second book and - like his first - features Harry Bosch as its central character. Little has changed for Bosch in the eighteen months since the events of "The Black Echo". He's still a jazz-loving loner who's happy to bend the rules, while his taste for coffee, beer and cigarettes remains undiminished.
As the book begins, it's Christmas Day and our hero is at home, alone and on call. Monitoring police / fire / ambulance radio messages on his scanner, he picks up a message regarding an apparent homicide within Hollywood boundaries that is being dealt with directly by RHD. Despite the fact that it's Christmas, Bosch isn't too happy that he wasn't notified first - as he should've been, according to protocol. Arriving uninvited at the scene of the crime, he tries to edge his way into things. At first glance, it's an apparent suicide involving Cal Moore, another cop working out of the Hollywood Division's narcotics unit. Although they worked in the same department, Bosch didn't know Moore that well. They'd only spoken properly once, about a stalled case Bosch was working : the murder of a drugs runner called Jimmy Kapps. Bosch was hoping Moore could give him a few leads - about the drug he was smuggling in from Hawaii, called Ice, and possible rival gangs who may have been responsible for his death. Bosch was aware, however, he'd had a few problems - including a possible showdown with IAD. Bosch's only involvement in the case, however, is informing Moore's widow.
The following day, Bosch's boss - Harvey '98' Pounds - tells him to stop working the Kapps case and to keep away the Moore case. One of Bosch's fellow homicide detectives, Lou Porter, has decided to retire on stress related grounds - though it has been commonly known for some time that Porter had a drinking problem. Pounds has assigned Porter's cases to Bosch in the hope that Bosch will be able to clear at least one of them by New Year's Eve. Things soon become complicated though - Bosch's investigations constantly bring Cal Moore back into the equation. Of Porter's cases, he settles on the murder of an unidentified Mexican, whose corpse has been found dumped beside the kitchen door of a diner. Although it was Porter's case, Cal Moore had found the corpse. Not long afterwards, Bosch is contacted by Moore's former colleagues - Moore had left a file for Bosch's attention, with some information regarding the Kapps case. The information throws up some interesting coincidences - and Bosch doesn't believe in coincidences. Now believing that Moore case isn't a straightforward suicide, he believes that the cases are so tightly connected that in solving one he'll solve them all.
Like Connolly's first book, I found this a very enjoyable story. Although this is the second book to feature Harry Bosch, it's not entirely necessary to have read the books in order. There's nothing in it that'll have any major impact on this story - but I would recommend reading "The Black Echo" first. It will clarify a couple of minor points and cover some parts of Harry's background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning, excellent read, 1 Aug 2002
By 
This review is from: The Black Ice (Paperback)
The Black Ice has been the fifth book of M.Connelly that I have read. So far, it is his best! The story is gripping, exciting, elaborate, suspensful, and absolutely well thought out.
The tensness is increasing permanently till the end with a finish that is quite surprising. In particular, I liked the way Connelly describes the character of Harry Bosch. You really 'learn' something about him and get some insights into his complex and 'different' personality.
If you like crime novels/police stories than this is for you! Although Connelly's way of writing is different from J.Ellroy or R.Chandler, his novels are absolutely comparable.
My recommendation is, buy the book 'The Harry Bosch Mysteries' where you've got the first three H.Bosch novels in a chronological order (The Black Echo, The Black Ice, The Concrete Blonde). Although it is not essential it is better to start at the beginning due to the fact that some 'small stories' are much easier to understand.
I will continue to read the other books of M.Connelly because he is a great author in a time where you find loads of rubbish in the book shelves. Furthermore, if you are sick of reading the usual 'whodunnit' stuff and prefer stories with twists and tenseness, than BUY IT AND YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pacey page turner, with a bent copper twist....., 24 Mar 2007
By 
Mrs. B "Mrs.B" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Black Ice (Paperback)
My second attempt at Mr. Connelley. Not dissapointed at all.

The tale is somewhere in the middle of detective Bosch's career. He is asked to clear up some outstanding cases, to improve the records of the LAPD's homiscide division and to his consternation, he becomes intrigued with the case of a fellow police man's apparent suicide - one he is told to leave well alone. This seems to be very much connected with a murder he has taken on as an outstanding case and several other murders being covered by his department, so he decides to fly solo.

Drawn in by this 'suicide' and the other cases running parallel, he unleashes a hornet's nest of inter-departmental corruption on his quest to find out the truth. Ther are members of the police department who are prepared to give secrets away and Bosch is not afraid to use the sources to his advantage.

Michael Connelly is a fluid author, well researched and easy to read. His stories are nicely worded and easy to follow. He gives the reader enough mystery to keep them interested without boring them too much.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, I look forward to continuing with Harry Bosch!, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Ice (Paperback)
~Story~

Cal Moore is a Narcotics officer looking at a recent drug killing. However he himself turns into a victim as he is found in a motel room in what looks like a suicide. Rumours start circulating about how Moore had crossed over to the criminal side by selling the latest drug of choice Black Ice.

Harry Bosch doesn't understand it. It may look like a suicide but his instincts are telling him otherwise. His superiors tell him in no uncertain terms to stay away from the case but Harry soon starts his own investigation and is determined to find out the truth. The truth can only be found by Harry visiting Mexico but with it comes the danger of corruption and his own life being on the line.

~Opinion~

I decided a while ago that I wanted to tackle the Harry Bosch series of books by Michael Connelly in order. I read his first novel a long time ago but it had been so long that I figured I should just start again at book 2 and try to read one every few weeks. Michael Connelly is a very successful author like many other crime greats such as Peter James, James Patterson and Lee Child but his writing style is not necessarily the same. Yes there are parallels in the majority of the crime genre books but that is to be expected. The one thing that is instantly noticeable for me is his attention to detail. This may not be favourable for some people but for me it makes a refreshing change. The other advantage to the detail is the advantage of getting to know why characters make the decision they do, especially when you know that this is an ongoing series.

The main character is Hieronymus (Harry) Bosch who is an ex-Vietnam soldier who is now on the force. Harry is a great character who is your typical cop who is strong willed and does things his way. People may complain about stereotypical `cop characters' but lets be fair, who wants to read about a cop who wants to play by the rules? Nothing would ever happen if that were the case.

Harry is quite a loner but he knows what's what and he smells trouble with a capital T when he sees Cal Moore dead in a motel room. The story itself did take a bit of time to gain pace but when I was about halfway through all the threads in the story seemed to come together and I was glad of all the detail.

Michael Connelly excels at describing the scenery and places that Harry visits and I could picture the dusky Mexican city that he ended up in. The great thing about this book was that although it may not have been as fast paced as some others I have read recently there was a great story behind it. The characters were well written and he added in a fantastic twist at the end which I admit I didn't see coming.

I regularly check out review stats on various websites and can see that Michael Connelly's earlier Harry Bosch books were not as popular. All I can say is that if that is the case I can't wait to carry on with the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting better with each book, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Black Ice (Paperback)
Michael Connelly is developing Harry Bosch into a truly great character. He left enough of his past out of the first book to be able to still surprise us in this.
This was a gripping read which kept twisting with each new chapter to become one I didn't want to put down. Most rival authors spend too much time on the main content of their books to think of a realistic and effective ending. Mr Connelly manages the former without sacrificing the latter.
In fact, he manages to keep the tension all the way through and still find space for some more surprises. His books are getting better and better and you always seem to feel involved with the plotlines. An excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Michael Connelly, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bosch is very human - mixed up, flawed, but good at what he does. Complex but believable plot twists. Quite dark in parts, but not unremmittingly so. An excellent read. I will be reading all of his other books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bad proof reading. Annoying..., 14 July 2014
This review is from: The Black Ice (Paperback)
I'm only on chapter 7. It's a bit of a slow read. If you haven't realised that the protagonist is called Harry Bosch, then you'll get confused in every paragraph as it switches from Harry to Bosch. If you're feeling tired, you'll get the impression there are two people instead of the one. Proof reading is dire. Page 50, paragraph 4ish of my 1998 edition should read 'Pounds looked exasperated' rather than 'Porter....' Other places have repeated words and phrases. Editor needs shooting if he's still working!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Dad!, 13 July 2014
By 
D. W. Lees "keep music live" (Bromsgrove UK, Austin TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've come late to the Harry Bosch series. My Dad read them all and recommended them; after reading the first two I might just do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pat, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very enjoyable book - well up to Michael Connelly usual high standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Ice
Black Ice by Michael Connelly (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews