Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn more about us Maltese: read this book
Monserrat's book is probably the smartest insight into the character of the Maltese people penned by a non-Maltese I've ever read. The author has clearly understood the relevance of the Catholic religion and hierarchy; the sea and draught; but also the hardships of history especially in War time, when one tries to figure out what Malta and the Maltese are all...
Published on 14 Dec 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but over-long and old-fashioned
It's an interesting read and helped my understanding of Malta's history on a recent holiday, but the characters tend to pall after a while. Really it's a very readable history of Malta with a real insight into what it was like to live through the WWII seige with a novel thrown in.
Published 3 months ago by JT


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Read, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book to be a very moving story and can only imagine what the people of Malta went through in those very dark days of the 1940's. I enjoyed this almost as much as the Authors other book The Cruel Sea, which I have read Several times during my life and I think I shall be reading this one again sometime in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read before a visit to malta, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I unfortunately read this after my holiday in valletta. The book has a good mix of history and story telling intertwined to draw you back into another time. When you arrive in valletta you will no doubt feel the essence of the rolling history of malta. This book will only enhance that experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malta's ancient and recent history in an exciting story., 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I you like Malta you must read this book. If you do not like Malta you would probably grow to like it if you read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best books I've read. I've always had a fascination about Malta and this book provides me with a complete history in one volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story beautifully crafted, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Montserrat was a master of his craft. If you want to know about significant happenings in the incredibly rich history of the unique Maltese islands read this story which will tell you all you need to know in an entertaining way without esorting to history books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling insight, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable tale of Maltese life, ordinary people and their history in world war two, lots of threads woven together.
Brings to life how much people of Malta suffered during Second World War
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Although this is a fictional story, it is based on a true one., 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A most interesting story and one that is based on true facts, particularly where my old ship, HMS Illustrious, is mentioned.
Most of the modern generation have no idea of what a REAL war is like; I can assure you that there is little fun about it and not at all like the games most people play on computers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kappillan of Malta (Paperback)
I bought this book after a holiday in Malta and was recommended to me by the local Rep, and he was right and very well written book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of print book., 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I had replaced one that I bought a few years ago.I looked for it after a TV programme
about Malta during the was.
Book arrived very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Jb Edwards (stanwell england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written, and brought back fond memories of malta.and also experienced the war years which were very traumatic,but when one is young very little seems to sink in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS)
The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) by Nicholas Monsarrat (Paperback - 8 Mar 2001)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews