Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn more about us Maltese: read this book
Monserrat's book is probably the smartest insight into the character of the Maltese people penned by a non-Maltese I've ever read. The author has clearly understood the relevance of the Catholic religion and hierarchy; the sea and draught; but also the hardships of history especially in War time, when one tries to figure out what Malta and the Maltese are all...
Published on 14 Dec. 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but over-long and old-fashioned
It's an interesting read and helped my understanding of Malta's history on a recent holiday, but the characters tend to pall after a while. Really it's a very readable history of Malta with a real insight into what it was like to live through the WWII seige with a novel thrown in.
Published 12 months ago by JT


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. The characters wonderful and the descriptions of the bombing of Malta during World War II are heart rending. I particularly like the way the author has woven the history of this remarkable island into his story. I would recommend this book to any keen reader and especially those who are travelling to Malta as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, un-putt-downable, unforgettable, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Was I delighted to find a copy of this book, which is the most remarkable account by the amazing Monsarrat, of wartime Malta, and the extraordinary priest who is so vital a part of everyone's lives. Very warmly recommended, for the writing, for the gripping story, and for the marvellous way that Monsarrat brings all these things to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story of an Island, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Monsarrat graphically tells the story of the island's suffering over the years, each chapter depicting a different period of its history. Read this and see the DVD " The Siege of Malta - The George Cross Island ".If you are thinking of visiting the Island you would get a better appreciation of the Island and its people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you are going to Malta - read this., 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a lot of reading on the siege of Malta from 1940 to1942 from the military perspective. This gives it from the perspective of the civil populace by following the life of a Preist as he ministered his parish during those dark days and gives some history of Malta on a series of small 'flashbacks.' Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Born in Malta, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gave me a lively insight into Malta and it's history in a well written and interesting way. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book - very moving, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recommended to read this book and I initially borrowed it from the library when I discovered that I could not put the book down I went and bought it for my Kindle so that i could finish reading it on vacation. A wonderful book showing Malta durign the war adn the people who lived through those times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but over-long and old-fashioned, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an interesting read and helped my understanding of Malta's history on a recent holiday, but the characters tend to pall after a while. Really it's a very readable history of Malta with a real insight into what it was like to live through the WWII seige with a novel thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A history lesson worth taking with every word carefully written and meaningful., 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant story, superbly written, a wonderful insight into the Maltese world of yesteryear. Having read this work some time ago re-reading it the story is just as fresh and enjoyable as the first time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good historical and a nice story, going to malta in holiday and gave a good insight to the history of the island
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read from an unusual view point, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always regarded Monsarrat's The Cruel Sea as one of the great sea stories of the 20th Century. This is also a great story, told from an unusual view point. I first read it when it first came out in the 1970s. I bought in paperback in the 90s, and when that fell to pieces, I bought a second hand hardback copy. When I found a kindle edition, I couldn't resist it; particularly as I was soon to travel to Malta on holiday.

Monsarrat lived and died on Gozo, the smaller, greener companion Island a couple of miles to the North of Malta. This obviously gave him the opportunity to get inside the heads of the Maltese people, a fact acknowledged by the Maltese themselves.

This book is not just a story set in Malta in WW2, it is the history of the Maltese people from caveman to the mid 20th Century. In virtually every other chapter, the main character tells the story of another significant chapter in Maltese history in a very readable form, covering the shipwreck of St Paul, the arrival of the knights of St John and their battle with the Turks, the arrival of Napoleon and the subsequent ejection of the French by the Maltese people supported by Lord Nelson and his favourite Captain, Captain Ball who became the Islands first British Governor.

All this is bound up in the main story of a high born but lowly Catholic Priest supporting his flock through Malta's battle for survival against the Italian and German blitz. This part of the story covers the horrors of continuous bombing, of near starvation, of the failed and successful convoys, of the ariel battles between uneven odds. It always leaves me with sense of being thoroughly entertained and with an admiration for the Maltese people. It also made me want to visit Malta. Something I have now done 3 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS)
The Kappillan of Malta (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) by Nicholas Monsarrat (Paperback - 8 Mar. 2001)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews