Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 16 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
I found this book on my father's bookshelf, the edition he has was published in 1972 and he had read and enjoyed it at this time, so I decided to see what it was all about. From the very beginning I was gripped by the amusing anecdotes and amazing escape attempts and several times I had to remind myself that these events had actually occurred in a real place to real people.
The ability of a prisoner at this time to recall and record all these happenings was a source of wonder to me and I would recommend this book to any reader of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent story of POWs escape attempts from the horses mouth, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. A. Moore "The Moore Family" (Redditch UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
Major Pat Reid was a prisoner of war sent to Colditz because he had attempted so many escapes and this was the escape proof castle.
However, soon the allied P.O.W's soon planned and made many escape attempts, some successful, some not. This is their story, told from one of the prisoners who was put in charge of processing the escape suggestions and eventually escaping himself.
Stirring stuff that could be straight out of boys own. This is the first of two books, the second being "latter days at colditz" which tells the story after Pat Reid escaped but told by the same author.
Well written and one of those books that are hard to put down. If you like war stories this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense , thrilling and utterly superb!, 22 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
An absoultely brilliant read!The tales of heroism , ingenuity and in some cases a mix of luck and crazyness makes this book a must read for all those interested in the activity of Allied POWs during World War II.I have just about finished the first book culminating in the authors departure and have just purchased the sequel which I hope will be equally as good.If you enjoyed "The Great Escape" by Paul Brickhill or similary enjoyed this book or indeed either of the films you will love the little anecdotes and facts this book contains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and a different perspective on the war, 25 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
This book was captivating from the very beginning. The story of some of the POW's from the second world war gives a different perspective into the war from some of the experiences of a group of men trying to survive and ultimately escape from the clutches of the enemy. This book is filled with many light hearted and amusing tales of escapes gone wrong, the time that the men spent in the camp and of general day to day happenings. I would definitely recommend this book to any war fans, and even those who are just mildly interested!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son finds this book as gripping as I did 20 years ago, 3 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
I read this book years ago and was enthralled then. The fact that the escapes within it's pages actually happened makes it gripping. As a story of courage and persistance in the face of adversity and as a historical record, it makes fascinating reading. I recently introduced my son to this book in a fit of nostalgic memory and he was as taken by it as I was. The stories remain as exciting as they were and it's good to allow a younger generation to realise some of the effects of war on the people involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Colditz Book, 13 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
The first of Reid's 3 books on Colditz this timeless classic covers his period in Laufen and then Colditz and ends following his own successful escape from Colditz. Reid, as well as having been Oflag IVC's Escape Officer until his escape and an expert lock-picker, was also very talented with a pen. At times Reid can be accussed of playing the 'jolly school boy' tune a little too often but what is not in doubt is his ability to take the reader back to a very dark time where the only luminating light of hope was the flicker offered by the irrepresible men of Colditz. This for many is their first Colditz book. It should be. This is a must for anyone interested in Colditz or indeed WW2 POW Camp stories in general. It really is a timeless classic. The hardback versions contain some beautiful drawings by John Watton, a Colditz POW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, easy to read, exciting, addictive !, 2 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
A very good book - easy to read, stories written in depth, covering the time P.R.Reid spent at Colditz and the many attempts to escape by him and others. A fascinating insight into goings on at Colditz, much better than the B&W film, a must read for anyone interested in escapes or WWII in general. I thoroughly recommend this book. To those who have an interest in war books but perhaps are undecided due the book's era or setting or lack of actual battle scenario do not be put off - this is a classic tale of man's spirit to win and be free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Colditz Classic, 23 Feb 2009
By 
A. Byrne "Irish Reviewer" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
Pat Reid's book is the classic true story of life as a prisoner of war at Colditz Castle during World War 2, with intriguing details of escape efforts from the mighty fortress.

Reid's book is not at all dated, despite being written in 1952. The suspense and expectation of escape or capture is tangible from page one right to the end.

Reid was, undoubtedly, a modest, selfless genius, who channelled his inventive energies into helping his fellow prisoners to escape. He spent many months in solitary confinement with no gain for himself, other than the respect of his peers for his part in escape attempts.

Difficult to put down once started ! Top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Fact, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
Have to really enjoy this book, written by an actual escapee from colditz, and really interesting into prison camp life, and the antics of what they do, day to day matters and escape and planning, (even today they are finding hidden passages in colditz castle. No film can match the reality of this book, well worth a read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 April 2013
This review is from: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Paperback)
Totally engrossing! I don't normally read this genre but found it very readable, surprisingly humorous - hilarious in parts! Am now devouring the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks)
The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks) by Pat R. Reid (Paperback - 8 Feb 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews