Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just a reference book
While the title of this book would seem to indicate that it contains only passages or phrases from fables, it offers an awful lot more.
The references inside cover a multitude of different things. There are references to mythology, ancient history, everyday expressions, and new or relatively new words that creep into the language - words like Paparazzi, or Godzilla...
Published on 17 Mar 2002 by John Beith (jaybee@writeme.co.uk)

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not about Beer Brewing...
Felt pretty stupid when it arrived (panic buying for husbands xmas stocking) but it's a fascinating read, have kept it for myself!
Published 18 months ago by CatherineMT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just a reference book, 17 Mar 2002
While the title of this book would seem to indicate that it contains only passages or phrases from fables, it offers an awful lot more.
The references inside cover a multitude of different things. There are references to mythology, ancient history, everyday expressions, and new or relatively new words that creep into the language - words like Paparazzi, or Godzilla. The book is really a mix of language and general knowledge.
There are entries for real people, and also for characters from legends, fairy tales and plays. If you're like me and are full of useless information and trivia, then you'll love this book, because it's full of stuff like that. This is where it differs from an ordinary dictionary, or encyclopaedia. You can pick it up any time and find something of interest. Many of the entries are like very short synopses or stories in their own right. This book is a great tool for anyone needing a prompt, or ideas, to write an essay, or article. Because of it's broad range of subjects and the way they are presented.
Open the book at any page and something will catch your eye. You'll find yourself saying, "I didn't know that" or " Oh that's why we say that"
The book is well laid out and each entry includes the origin of the phrase or word. It's a large book at almost 1300 pages but it does cover an awful lot of different subject areas. While it is basically sold as a reference book it's far more than that, it's also enjoyable and good fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic, Erratic, Eccentric … Essential!, 11 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable 17th Edition: Seventeenth Edition (Hardcover)
Once upon a time, Brewer's used to sit on my bookshelf gathering dust. It was, I felt, the sort of book that, as a lover of reference books, one ought to own … but, I realised, I never actually USED it. Then, one day, I took it down, blew off the dust and looked up something, I think I was truing to glean some additional in formation about heraldry. Four hours later, I came up for air, having spent a blissful afternoon doing the literary equivalent of “surfing” - following one cross reference to another from Greek mythology, through theology, Harry Potter, sporting slang, Tudor eating habits, demonology, pop groups, Somerset folk lore and much more besides.
I then took the book to bed and proceeded to read it cover to cover (not at one sitting I hasten to add). I know of no other reference books with which one could do this without eventually dying of fatigue or terminal boredom. I emerged exalted, educated and converted. There may be little logic or reason behind the eclectic, eccentric, inconsistent criteria for inclusion and exclusion but, once you have grasped the spirit, if not the law, behind them you will fall in love with the book, occasional inaccuracies and all. This explains why it defies the internet, literary competition and remains in print to this day, loved like a faithful if slightly dippy ancient family dog by all those who have taken the time to explore between its idiosyncratic pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and fun, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
This book is essentially a dictionary of all the peculiar words and phrases in the English language which are in common use. One outstanding feature of this book is that it is clear and well laid out. If the item you are looking for is in the book (and it usually is), then you will find it. The descriptions for each entry are clear, giving both the meaning and origin of words and phrases. As a Briton working abroad, this book is invaluable for answering questions on English idioms. The danger with the book is that, once picked up, it's hard to put down and one tends to scan through the pages discovering both new and old phrases alike.
Not a cheap book to buy, but well worth it for those who have any interest or pride in the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A snare for the unwary, 19 Dec 2004
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I would like to thank the previous reviewers whose enthusiastic reviews persuaded me to click the "Add to Shopping Basket" button. I would also like to thank them for their warnings about how you are likely to get caught up in it once you open the book. I must have disappeared into it for a couple of hours the first time I opened it, the day it was delivered, completely mangling my time-table for the rest of that day. A couple of days later, at the weekend, I had a visitor who homed straight in on it almost before getting his coat off and I got nothing but incoherent grunts in reply to offers of cups of tea, cake and biscuits after that. Not normally a rude person. It's definitely a trap for the unsuspecting casual browser. It's impossible (or at least very difficult) to plot a straight course through the book. I've tried and failed. First, you go to look up something specific, then you follow a cross reference to another page, then you get ambushed by something interesting that catches your eye between this page and that and before you know what time it is, people are demanding their dinner and you haven't even peeled the potatoes.
Highly recommended, but beware! Exercise caution. Dip into it when you have plenty of time to spare or be prepared to employ more self-discipline than I've yet managed -- harden your resolve and snap it shut when you've found the information you were seeking (if you're will-power is strong enough).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a few niggles, 15 Feb 2010
By 
A. F. Stillwell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have a copy of this book dating from the `70s which sits on a shelf in the loo, constipation aiding education, but I thought it was time to catch up with life and so purchased the 18th edition. First thought was, where is the preface from the sainted Terry Pratchett? My copy has a foreward by Phillip Pullman. Secondly I was disappointed at the lack of pronunciation for the entries this time round. And it appears that, according to the entry "Hajj", the Kabaa is in Cornwall. Very handy for UK muslims. The phenomenon that is Harry Potter gets far too many entries for my taste but the information will no doubt please others.
Despite these niggles, this is still a magnifcent book, my choice should I ever become famous enough to be stranded on a desert island with a dozen records and Sue Lawley. It is also very up to date, so much so that I could probably now hold an intelligible conversation with a teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure, 10 Mar 2003
By 
Adam "Say something about yourself!" (Dunton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
First, the feel of the book. This is a book that reminds you of the tactile pleasures of reading. Paper, type, fonts and colour have all been well utilised.
Then there's the reassuring wieght of the book. This hefty door-stop belies an incredible weight of publishing history (the book has been developed through successive editions from 1870) and information. And what information. This is a truly unique cultural compendium of events, organisations, names, and characters, all of which cross and re-cross various boundaries, such as the worlds of fact and fiction. The book encourages strangely enriching journeys through its' contents. As you follow up a reference for some phrase or name, you'll get hooked by a cross-reference, or your eye will be caught by something completely unrelated. Either way you'll be spent spinning on various weird and wonderful tangents. Also useful and entertaing are quotations and illustrations which put the information in context.
Its' uses must be diverse. From my own experience as a habitual crossword solver, it's shed light on some clues that, for example pre-suppose a knowledge of 'Giotto's O' (see page 496) and of the nature of a 'Tail-end Charlie' (see page 1150)!
Terry Pratchett in his short foreword gives a witty and illuminating decription of the books' unique character. It is, he says, "'An Education' in the truest sense."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing and enchanting, 3 Jun 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never thought I'd describe a reference book as unputdownable, but once you open this book to look one thing up (say, a peculiar expression that someone has just said, "Now why *do* we say that?" about), you'll find yourself reading all the entries in sight! Very useful for anyone with an interest in literature, history, or language and great fun to use, with a distinctly tongue-in-cheek feel to it (the hilarious section on "Famous Last Words", for instance).
It makes a really lovely present for young and old: it looks suitably impressive, has fairly universal appeal provided they're a fan of the written word, and is far livelier than the standard reference books that get trotted out on Important Occasions. I have given this to my best friend, my step-dad, and a second cousin who has just come of age; the latter (aged 13) hasn't been heard from yet (we calculated that there's a pretty good chance he's going to read it, unlike most of the books he's bound to have received), but the other two have adored it, and friends who have been introduced to my copy usually end up spending a good hour leafing through it. A huge number of phrases, expressions, and characters from myth, history and literature are there, but I still want to know where the word "codswallop" comes from...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A conversation piece., 23 Dec 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The most interesting property of owning this goldmine of a book is that once people know you have it they are forever asking for the answer to the origin of an expression or phrase in common use.

Its a great conversation maker with friends(or strangers)and does often settle an arguement and very often enlightens the group.

As such its become an important reference in my household.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not about Beer Brewing..., 21 Jun 2013
By 
CatherineMT (Twyford, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Felt pretty stupid when it arrived (panic buying for husbands xmas stocking) but it's a fascinating read, have kept it for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, in good condition., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent 'on the shelf' reference book - that you can just sit and read for pleasure too. This was in good condition and will make a really helpful addition to my little library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable 17th Edition: Seventeenth Edition
Used & New from: £9.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews