Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely full of useful advice, 8 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
This is a really comprehensive book which helped me when I was a fairly new bridge player and which I still find useful many years later. I agree with the "Bridge World" review; it is absolutely packed with information, the equivalent of two or three other books, although in places this makes the style a little dense. There are plenty of good exercises and sample hands (which my bridge teacher used to use at improver level). I've always found the chapters on opening leads particularly useful, making sense of a very difficult and important subject. Highly recommended to players at all levels. The only things that are missing are advice on forming a plan at trick 1, either as declarer or as a defender, and how play strategy might differ between duplicate and rubber/teams bridge, though the last is covered in Klinger's separate book Guide To Better Duplicate Bridge (Master Bridge).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent instruction, 23 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. Sandra Landy "Flat dweller" (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
Ron Klinger is one of the world's top bridge teachers and this book will help all who want to improve their card play at Bridge. It covers all the topics that a winning card player needs to know. I use it with my more advanced students, saving me hours of time inventing hands to play. Unlike many bridge books, this one seems to be error free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is spot on, 28 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. R. A. Hopton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
This is easily one of the best books I own, it covers a huge range of declarer and defensive technique, from the basics to intermediate play, with lots of good quizes and examples. Covers all the basics really well. I have a spare copy I lend to my partners. Definitely one to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best bridge book, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
Great if you are fairly new to bridge or if you want to consolidate your acol conventions with your partner. It helps mostly with bidding but also gives tips on making extra tricks. This book really goes into great detail about each type of hand and I enjoy the many exercises that come with each chapter to help learn what you have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the dedicated, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
I find it quite hard going.
There is good essential stuff like which cards to lead from which suits and so on.
For those who play Acol, I believe Klinger may be essential reading.
I have switched to SAYC and prefer Audrey Grant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As described, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
This is a clearly written and concise book by the best of the card player.............................................Can't say any more just that it is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bridge books, 15 Nov. 2011
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
Excellent book worth investing in it.

Unable to purchase locally as out of stock so Amazon purchase was indispensable. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tip[ top purchase., 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a tip top book for intermediate players who wish to improve their bridge. It is suitable for teachers as well as players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
This book has lots of tips for beginners and helps avoid pitfalls. Starting well at any endeavour saves a lot of unlearning later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Need to know, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) (Paperback)
A tightly written book, full of must-know knowledge if a medium player, like myself, hopes to progress to the next stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE)
A Guide to Better Card Play (MASTER BRIDGE) by Ron Klinger (Paperback - 24 May 2001)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews