Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal portraits
Antonia Fraser's 'The Lives of the Kings and Queens of England' has long been one of my favourite books (since my childhood, really), because it has both breadth and brevity simultaneously, a rare feat. Lady Fraser's style is evident here, a non-imposing and non-technical style, that is nonetheless satisfying to all but the most rigourous of academic...
Published on 23 Dec 2005 by Kurt Messick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but wordy
Worthy overview of this tangled topic, although some variation (or even relief) from the narrator's voice, by means of some sort of occasional dialogue or dramatisation, would have been a good idea.
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by M. P. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal portraits, 23 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Antonia Fraser's 'The Lives of the Kings and Queens of England' has long been one of my favourite books (since my childhood, really), because it has both breadth and brevity simultaneously, a rare feat. Lady Fraser's style is evident here, a non-imposing and non-technical style, that is nonetheless satisfying to all but the most rigourous of academic historians.
Fraser's account begins with the Norman invasion; like many books on royal history, scant attention is paid to pre-Norman figures. Fraser groups the monarchs into categories:
Normans
Angevins
Plantagenets
House of Lancaster
House of York
Tudors
Stuarts
House of Hanover
House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha
House of Windsor
Putting together the genealogical tables is a fun exercise--beware here, however, that lesser historical figures are left off the charts (thus, Queen Anne's bevy of children are not represented on the genealogy as none lived to assume the crown or perpetuate the line). Each monarch is given an article about 10-15 pages in length (a good bedtime reading length, I've found). Pictures and paintings help place visually the stories, together with the interspersed essays on coats-of-arms and other topics.
Fraser likes to find the humourous aspects whenever possible. Writing on William IV's distaste for the young Victoria's mother:' 'In 1836 the Duchess of Kent took over a large suite of rooms in Kensington Palace without the King's permission. William was furious. If he died now, Victoria would not be old enough to rule without her mother as Regent. At a public dinner, attended by more than a hundred guests, William said that he hoped his life would be spared long enough to prevent such a calamity.'
His wish was granted.
An ideal gift for anyone, child to adult, who has an interest in the history of the British royals, and a good ready-reference for students, this book is first-rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of a fascinating subject, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I had been looking for a high quality survey of the history and development of the English monarchy - and I found it here. Trying to cover such a complex subject and long period of time within the constraints of a relatively small volume inevitably means that the accounts cannot be too detailed. Nevertheless, the depth of the material covered, both personal and political, is impressive, as is the crisp writing and the obviously thorough research and editing. Whatever you may think of the monarchy and its future (if it has one), this book is informative, entertaining proof that it has one helluva a past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and informative, 13 Feb 2001
A rare achievement to write a history book which could never gather dust in a bookcase. This comprehensive guide of royal lives spanning from thenormans to the present House of Windsor is so well constructed it makes anabsorbing read, as well as a useful reference book. It is beautifullyillustrated encompassing portraits heraldry etc. a postive gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A personal History of all Britains monarchs, 7 April 2007
By 
N. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is great

I have read many books on Kings and Queens but this has to be the best.

Each monarch has about 2 pages dedicated to them. In thses 2 pages you will find out alot about each monarch their goodside and badside. There is also a large selection of pictures. Unlike most others, this book offers personal pictures of each of the monarchs.

This great book is a MUST READ for those interested in Britains royal heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Royal portraits, 23 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Antonia Fraser's 'The Lives of the Kings and Queens of England' has long been one of my favourite books (since my childhood, really), because it has both breadth and brevity simultaneously, a rare feat. Lady Fraser's style is evident here, a non-imposing and non-technical style, that is nonetheless satisfying to all but the most rigourous of academic historians.
Fraser's account begins with the Norman invasion; like many books on royal history, scant attention is paid to pre-Norman figures. Fraser groups the monarchs into categories:
Normans
Angevins
Plantagenets
House of Lancaster
House of York
Tudors
Stuarts
House of Hanover
House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha
House of Windsor
Putting together the genealogical tables is a fun exercise--beware here, however, that lesser historical figures are left off the charts (thus, Queen Anne's bevy of children are not represented on the genealogy as none lived to assume the crown or perpetuate the line). Each monarch is given an article about 10-15 pages in length (a good bedtime reading length, I've found). Pictures and paintings help place visually the stories, together with the interspersed essays on coats-of-arms and other topics.
Fraser likes to find the humourous aspects whenever possible. Writing on William IV's distaste for the young Victoria's mother:' 'In 1836 the Duchess of Kent took over a large suite of rooms in Kensington Palace without the King's permission. William was furious. If he died now, Victoria would not be old enough to rule without her mother as Regent. At a public dinner, attended by more than a hundred guests, William said that he hoped his life would be spared long enough to prevent such a calamity.'
His wish was granted.
An ideal gift for anyone, child to adult, who has an interest in the history of the British royals, and a good ready-reference for students, this book is first-rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 10 Jan 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
a fascinating look at the lives of some of the most bonkers, deluded, pampered and egotistical people ever to have lived. perhaps the best chapter is that on richard iii, which seeks to dispell the myth that he was one of the bad guys. but it's not BY antonia fraser, it's only EDITED by her. i wouldn't've paid what amazon are asking for it though. i got my copy in a charity shop for 1. richly illustrated and told in accessible language. a great read to enjoy for hours or just to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Household Must, 5 July 2011
This wonderful book is a must-have for any family library. Gone are the days when complicated lives in your favorite historical novels get mixed up and how interesting to just go to this book and learn more!
It has been one of my most used reference books and a wonderful way to introduce history to young ones. Glossy and beautifully presented I would recomend it as a gift or just an indulgence for historical novel readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A permanent part of my reference library, 5 Oct 2010
This book has long been a permanent part of my library. I had a very well thumbed pocket-sized edition which I bought 30 years ago and I reluctantly had to replace it when it literally fell to pieces. This new larger illustrated edition is very impressive but it doesn't make for easy reading in bed!
Having hauled the thing in to bed, however, I like the length of each chapter - each is short enough not to get too bogged down and yet informative enough to pique my interest. The stories come alive and many times I have gone on to seek out more detailed biographies of certain favourite monarchs. Indeed, many of these biographies are by Ms Fraser herself. A wonderful resource which is good to have on hand for the curious mind and a good standby when one is between books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lives of the Kings and Queens of England., 20 Oct 2009
This is an excellent consice history of the Kings and Queens of England..an ideal aid to school history lessons. I bought this for my Grand-daughter who saw an earlier copy in my house and this is what she wanted for a birthday present. I have found this book a great sourse of information it is clearly written .it has setteld many a discussion!!!.. easy to read and definately an asset in any book case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, balanced descriptions of British Monarchs, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well-written account of British royalty with what seems to me to be nice balance of their personal lives and public actions. As an American, I found the chronological presentation useful in linking King John of magna marta fame with his son, William, who was featured in the movie Brave Heart and to link Sheakespear's Richard III with the bloody politics during the War of the Roses. The genealogical charts provided helpful detail on the lineage of each monarch but it is necessary to refer to the essays on each monarch to get the actual years of their reign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lives Of The Kings And Queens Of England (Cassell Value Titles)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews