Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest books I have ever read, 9 Jan 2002
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I first read this book about 10 years ago and lost my battered old paperback copy, but never forgetting it. For years I tried to replace it but found that it was out of print and would have cost over £70 to obtain - until now. What a wonderful surprise since it is without doubt one of the most inspiring books I have ever read. In fact so much so that I still regularly draw upon the SOE's talismanic Yeo-Thomas' story to remind myself what real courage,loyalty and friendship means. If you ever face adversity or are feeling hard done by this great man's life will undoubtedly steel you and inspire you. The first part of the book is long on detail and is a little slow but well worth it for the utterly amazing real-life tales of heroism that follow. A book for ourselves and for our children - seminal and life-changing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop adventure of a genuine hero, 7 Nov 2004
By 
Andrew Kerr "Alabony" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
This was the third book I read about F F Yeo-Thomas. He's mentioned a lot in Leo Mark's 'Between Silk & Cyanide', which is another outstanding book. The other book I read was 'The Bravest of the Brave', which added a lot of family background for him, but was written by an academic, I suspect. Much less flowing in its style.
It says in the introduction for The White Rabbit that Bruce Marshall was Yeo-Thomas's choice for writing his story. That made me wonder whether it might be told in a rather sycophantic way.
I needn't have bothered. The story is so incredible anyway (and well-documented in enough other sources for me to know it hasn't been embellished in this book) that there's no need for sycophancy.
It strikes me that it's an ideal book for mid-teenagers, so that they understand the real sacrifices that were made for us during WW II. Don't get me wrong - I wasn't even close to being born then, but I think I do have the beginnings of an appreciation, having read this book and others.
But the reason it'd be good for kids of that age is that they'll be swept along by the story like a cork in a fast stream, and never even think they're being 'taught' anything! The tale of the White Rabbit is absolutely incredible! From one hair-raisingly scary situation to the next, he's never less than dignified and honourable, and always incredibly resourceful - even in the face of terrible adversity.
I recently visited the VC room in the Imperial War Museum, and stood for a good 10-15 minutes at the small cabinet containing F F Y-T's memorabilia. You can't help but almost worship at this 'shrine'. I certainly believe we all owe him (and numerous others like him, of course) a great deal of respect and thanks.
Better than any Famous Five tales, and more exciting than just about any other book you'll find, this is a member of that rare club - a genuinely gripping, exciting AND educational book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling read, 6 Mar 2002
By 
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I've just finished the last page of this book and find it hard to know if I could possibly survive such an ordeal in the same situation; to maintain the courage and determination needed to reach home. It's no wonder Yeo-Thomas struggled to return to normal life after his experiences. I highly recommend this book - if you are thinking about whether to order it or not...do so as you won't regret it. A truely thrilling, exhausting and inspirational read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational piece of writing, 13 April 2009
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
As schools and educators in the UK discuss whether or not history still has a place on the syllabus, this book is a powerful reminder of just how important the subject is. This is history at its best.

The book was utterly gripping from start to finish. It tells the story of a truly inspirational man fighting, not for King and country, but for his own survival. The tension created by the author is all the more real since we know it's based on a true story.

You won't regret buying it. I promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting true story of WW2 exploits; printing is too heavy to be comfortable, 21 Sep 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
The name of Wing Commander Yeo-Thomas had been repeatedly mentioned in several biographies of SOE field operatives during WW2 and others connected with SOE but working at its HQ. Consequently, parts of his story through his connections with SOE agents have been often told. Some of these connections have been mentioned in other reviews,

Originally published in 1952 and with the original long out of print, this and several others of similar age and similar in subject have recently been reprinted. Unfortunately, this time the printing is quite heavy and the characters are actually too dense to read comfortably. Some portions of the book are printed either at a smaller size than the bulk of the book or italicised and they are the least legible. It does not affect the story but the pleasure in reading it.

The book is not a first-hand telling but, as with many others of this nature, told to and written by a another person. Where, in other books, a specific event is related by two different authors they do not always totally concur and the same is true here. It may be that memories were affected by the passage of time as some were not written until quite recently rather than soon after the event(s) or by the experiences of torture and then interment in a concentration camp; Yeo-Thomas had experienced both as had others.

A worthwhile telling and near to first-hand, but the printing spoils it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful portrail of bravery in the face of adversity, 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I received this book as part of a four pack set on the Second World War. It is an incredible story of the bravery of the soldiers captured by the Gestapo during the Second World War. Beautifully written, captivating and even more shocking and powerful as every word is true. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in the War and history. It goes to show that ordinary people can do the most amazing things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the going is getting tough......, 7 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Whenever we are faced with challenges and we need some perspective on life,remember this man's challenges and his inner strength - your issues will quickly fade in comparison.
Compare those footballers paid £50,000 A WEEK with this man and his life or those nonentity "celebrities" preening themselves on TV - what an insult to everything he fought for and suffered.
This is such a memorable story and a great leveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Painful in spots but lots of information., 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
As other reviewers mentioned the writing style of the author is a bit off-putting, but the subject matter is outstanding.

I enjoy heroic stories about British men whether they are explorers or war heroes. This book explains the life of Yeo-Thomas and his story of extreme bravery is very important for our nation. It is not soft on Nazi actions and presents the facts in a direct manner.

The book also talks about other brave soldiers, male and female.
If you want to see the heroic side of war, then read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The White Rabbit book, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Mazza Azzam (Midlands England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Bought this as a present for my mother who thought the book was no longer in circulation. I haven't read it but I was pleased with the honest description given. Very prompt delivery and reasonably priced. Would use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars R. Tomee, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
This book brings home the thrill of the chase from an agent who wants to spend time in France but gets betrayed, captured and tortured. The writing is gaphic enough to make you draw in breath. To know you do not have to go through the beatings or to be looking over your shoulder 24 hours a day while in hostile territory sending back coded messages while the german army searches and tightens its griop to find you. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The White Rabbit: Wing Commander F.F.E.Yeo-Thomas (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS)
£7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews