Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2000
This book catches your eye from the minute you clock it, I have no doubt that people who own this book still feel inclined to pick it up when passing it on shop shelves.
It is a must have for bookworms and die hard fans alike. It offers a wonderful insight to those who know very little about the Beatles themselves and a riot of media influence to those who are aching for more.....
If you've already got it then you'll understand but if you haven't then what are you waiting for........
Ali Bush
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
I bought this book as a throwaway idea when it was recommended it by Amazon. On receipt, I realised it is a very big coffee table book, glimpsed through it, and put it to one side

Over Christmas, I took the time to actually read it, and it is great. Someone spent a lot of time clipping together snippets of hundreds of interviews to make it into a narrative - I really enjoyed it, and I am not truly all that interested in the Beatles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am not going into an orgy of superlatives as they have all been said about the Beatles. I will simply say that this is a comprehensive history of the boys throughout their time together which follows them from their beginnings in Liverpool to the transformation into the best band who ever trod on this planet. They will never be bettered and their music will continue to inspire old fans and new forever!
This is a tremendous book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2000
This is the type of book you can open at random and read, then flip to somewhere else and read, then get outside a lager because it's bloody hard work reading really heavy books! There's so much information in here it's not funny. It's a tome to reread often. Any criticism that there is nothing new in it must come from people who have already read everything there is about the Beatles. Stunning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
This book is *the* book all Beatles fans have been waiting for. I shelled out for the hardback and i'm not at all regretful. The book is large with high quality glossy paper. The book is comprised of statements by The Beatles themselves in chronological order from their high school days to Hamburg and beyond with all the wit and insight you would expect. Excellent photos too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2003
The Beatles were the best ever. To have a volume containing a lot of their personal memories and momentoes is of great cultural significance. So why only a miserable 3 stars? The book is a total mess. They should have engaged a professional historian to assemble and present all the information. You can browse it but to use it for reference? Forget it. One day it will be re-written properly.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I don't like the Beatles, but this book even compelled me to flick through and read it! It's a present, and I know that the recipient is going to love it. Beautifully presented, great information, and a decent price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2001
if you have seen the video beatles anthology this is very similar, but if you are a devoted beatles fan as myself even after over 35 years i still can not get enough about them, definately a book for all beatles fans .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2010
If you love the Beatles this is a good buy, but don't get it if you have a vague interest. It's much better to get the DVD of the same name if you do have a vague interest. It's much better to enjoy that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
It was a birthday present for a member of staff and she loved it, she's a massive Beatles fan and said it was one of her best presents ever ;o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)